1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 7 = Vista SP2?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by MidnightWatcher, May 3, 2009.

  1. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    If you don't have a 64MB video card you miss out on the new start bar....that's one thing.
  2. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,451 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Something new I guess then. I like it better than having a quick launch bar.
  3. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638


    It looks nice. That's the main thing I like about it. I generally like vista more still, but I'm continuing to use it expecting that will change upon completion (I used vista since beta and loved it then, I'm less enthusiastic about 7). Other than a few other small things about the appearance and layout there's nothing particularly exciting about 7. It has a few less services running, that's nice I suppose. 7's main advantage from a general consumer point of view is that it isn't called vista. They tweaked enough to release the OS under another name, and quell all those who still refuse to use vista b/c, well, it's vista.

    After dx11 gets moving (if it does that is), multi-core support and SSDs become more prevalent, my guess is 7 will be a worthy upgrade.
  4. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,199 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    I love to bitch, but I really think that win 7 is gonna be awesome... I havent installed it tho - only played with it on a friend's rig. It looks so much better. I cant wait to upgrade from vista x64 and use win 7 as an excuse for some SSD Raid 0 action.
  5. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    You can add the quick launch bar too it it's not very hard to do.


    I'm still using Alfa beta 6850 build that still has the quick launch in it....
  6. thraxed Guest

    I mean vista new start menu a good idea but its annoying at the same time. If you get right down to it basically all they was combine the taskbar and quick launch bar. Guess it keeps ya from opening up multiple copies of firefox, though having to right click then left click on pinned items to open up multiple copies is annoying. Though I think the multiple group preview hover rocks. If they make a theme that does that for vista, there really be no reason for me to upgrade from what I've tinkered with.
  7. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    You do know you can shift click and also believe ctrl + f keys to open new copies of a program?

    Edit: Or center click the icon as well.
  8. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Agree. Performance aside, Windows 7 is just plain sexy. I've used Vista Ultimate 64 and I like Windows 7 much more. Just plain sexy and sooo functional.

    [​IMG]
  9. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    532
    Location:
    California
    Core i7 Hyper Threading works perfectly under Windows 7, but not on Vista.
    I'm sure that when Windows 7 is out, it will boost Core i7 performance across all games and benchmarks. Especially in games and application that aren't multi-threaded.
  10. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    From what I understand things have to be set up for hyper threading now just to be multi threaded. As a non physical core I believe it works different, maybe I misunderstood when I read about Hyper threading on the p4's.
  11. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    I would switch to Win7 if it wasn't still in Beta:(
    cos
    * Better UAC options
    * Looks Better
    * Faster than Vista
    * New Task bar
    * New Sidebar
  12. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Tomorrow is the RC release day (build 7100).
    h3llb3nd4 says thanks.
  13. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    There is a problem:(
    I cant download it with 1gb cap:cry:
    gonna ask a friend:)
    thanx for updating tho
  14. kyle2020 Guest

    Im 79% through downloading 7100. Hope to have it installed by the end of the day.
  15. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    You grabbing it from torrents or from technet? I'm looking to grab the official release. I'm having issues with the one I downloaded on my laptop, the display will freak out sometimes.
  16. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Got the official release off of Technet. I have to admit..It is AWESOME. 100x better than the Beta 7000
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
  17. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    Did you get a new key or did you use your previous beta key?
  18. kyle2020 Guest

    Yeah torrent wise. Got a few notepad files full of official keys from the official Microsoft release, just use those.
  19. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Previous Beta Key worked fine. If you need one I can get you one. I have access to a shit ton of key's.
  20. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Microsoft should be releasing this to the general public like build 7000 on their website tomorrow if you can wait a day.
  21. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    I have 4 different keys, I was just checking if they were having you get new keys for the RC
  22. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Tomorrow's release probably will.
  23. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    Microsoft servers are going to be completely bombarded just like last time. Oh well I'll get in on it tomorrow and continue to set up a dual boot for my system between vista and 7.
  24. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,864 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,411
    My big question is why does M$ start over with each new OS in regards to drivers? M$ is big enough that they should be able to have support for everything that ran under the previous OS. And, along those lines, why don't they have information about programs, that is, what settings are needed to get some of the older programs to run. Old programs are not being make anymore, so do I feel like the first person to try XYZ program? XP was done right. It was Win2000 with the hardware support of Win98SE. M$ rushed Vista out and it bit them. I'm still using XP and I even have a copy of Vista here that came with my MCE as an upgrade, but I think I'll skip Vista and wait for the first SP for Win7.
  25. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    Because it's not microsofts job to get other company's programs to work under the new operating system. And no XP was the same as vista when it was first released, buggy and hardware retarded as it was called somewhere else. Also 7 uses vista drivers.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page