1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 8 Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by Dos101, Aug 17, 2012.

  1. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,404 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,485
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yes. Well, not physically, but it does seem to have introduced some BIOS corruption. However, that's not the VGA itself.. it's the driver crashing that does it. The how or why, I am not sure, and will have to get ASUS to look into this.

    However, the driver crashing on the good card, when pushed too far, will do the same thing, although this one crash messed things up in BIOS far worse than I have experienced before.

    For example:


    Now, I can reset BIOS. CPU voltage does not get reset. Multiplier does not get reset. I can change options in BIOS, they will save, and when I enter the BIOS, they will appear to have taken, but go back into Windows, and no settings have changed.


    What is going foul here, I have no idea. Other boards will have the BIOS reset form time to time, but nothing like what's going on on this MVF.
  2. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    Interesting. Keep us posted. Ive never heard of a OS messing up a bios like that via drivers. Learned something new indeed. Its kinda cool to know.......not cool for you.
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,404 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,485
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    The real issue, is that to get this sorted, I'll have to deal with both ASUS and AMD, and I'm sure they'll each end up blaming the other, when really, I think it's both. ASUS new BIOSes have support for setting changes form within Windows, this gets mucked with by the driver crashing. Why that driver does that, and why the BIOS lets it... I dunno. I have a sneaking felling this may be around for a while.



    Then again, you know, I do tend to be pushing things to the limit lately a lot, so maybe it's just me pushing too far. I am not sure.. I don't really think it's my doing, but I cannot ignore that possibility, too. Driver failures should not cause BSOD's or system freezes, and BIOS should not have issues with saves in such instances, either. I gotta try to fix the board, and then force it to happen again. But first, the board BIOS needs fixing.


    Like I don't have enough issues to deal with right now...:shadedshu
  4. skylamer

    skylamer

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    205 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Windows 8 EE trial right now
  5. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    But its that "Gotta know WHY?!" feeling that will take you over. Belive me I KNOW! :laugh:

    Keep us updated. This isnt your run of the mill issue and it would be good to track.
  6. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,081 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    Hey guys, this must be tipically something of Asus Z77 series... Apart from having video cards weirdness *exactlly* as Cadaveca tells it, right now I went into the BIOS to lower the core CPU volt a little, and back in Windows I noticed my soundcard is gone. The other day I had trouble getting TV card and X-Fi recognized. These Maximus V boards like to fool with the user!

    EDIT: Are we hyjacking this thread? :)
  7. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    No this is windows 8 related I think.
  8. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,357 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,077
    Location:
    Hell


    Haha that's the most original IE ad I've ever seen!
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
    H82LUZ73 says thanks.
  9. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    That was a good commercial period! :laugh:

    Thats going to be reposted SO MANY TIMES ON TPU.
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
  10. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    I uninstalled my NVidia drivers the other day, why are they there again :wtf:
  11. razaron

    razaron

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    london
    Is anyone who did a non-clean upgrade having problems with Firefall and Planetside 2, namely crashing?
  12. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,138 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,719
    Location:
    Mexico
    Disable automatic driver lookup.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Where would I go to do this?
  14. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,771 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    Under your pc settings (click it under the settings menu bar,right under the power down button) ,Advance start up options(under general),let it reboot then select advance options under driver look up click the tab so it shows no dot.
  15. os2wiz

    os2wiz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    384 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    I have 3 ssd drives. I have windows 7 ultimate on the 2 120GB drives and just installed Windows 8 on the newest 500 GB Samsung ssd drive. I anticipated problems and paid for Stardock's Start 8 application, so at least I have thew start button. I see no compelling reason for windows 8. Certainly the user interface has no advantage for most people. I have a 23" screen why would I need a windows tablet design. I do not own or intend to own a windows phone or a windows tablet. It is a poorly conceived operating system . I see no performance improvements in the windows scheduler that were promised in windows 8 for people with 8 core cpus like the AMD FX-8350 which I own. I prefer windows 7 Ultimate and . I can tolerate windows 8 with the modified interface I have now. This was a bogus upgrade as their is no compelling improvements in its design. I' am glad I only paid for 1 license , I have no intention of "upgrading" my notebook, or second pc.
  16. Dos101

    Dos101

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    549 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
  17. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,209 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,129
    i seemed to have lost my windows 8 x64 pro DVD!!! i have the license key still. i know that downloading the ISO is not illegal it is using a cracked key/etc that is illegal. anyone have an iso for me?
  18. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    I can give you an iso but are they tied to the number? I don't want to do anything illegal.
  19. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,209 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,129
    you purchase a key not an iso or a disc so it is not illegal. do you have an ftp client? if so you can upload it to me.
  20. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,138 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,719
    Location:
    Mexico
    The key isn't tied to the discs. I used the same ISO I downloaded the first time on all my W8 installs.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,209 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,129
    what sucks is i downloaded it from dreamspark when it came out but my account expired since i graduated. i need somebody to hook me up. i bet mailman is trolling.
  22. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    No I got it man. Just not sure how to get it to you. I can try Skydrive.
  23. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,209 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,129
    ftp client like filezilla is free and a minimal install. i can give you my ftp url to upload it directly to me. no cloud nonsense.
  24. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    I can upload it to Skydrive and share it with you.

    I'm not installing anything.
  25. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,209 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,129
    alright. i have never used skydrive so you will have to let me know how. also, don't be scared of installing things. not everything has a virus like dayz :roll:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page