1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 8 Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by Dos101, Aug 17, 2012.

  1. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,787 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    I`m seeing on my desktop Win8-7 are either 1-5 fps apart,Imagine what a Win8 cat driver by December could do.
     
  2. Dos101

    Dos101

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    569 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Pretty much what I'm seeing so far. Would love to see other comparisons, but when November rolls around expect to see official drivers and better results.
     
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  3. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,175 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,706
    Since you guys are running clean installs of windows 8 where did you get your drivers? All the drivers for my mobo are in beta. Are you using Windows 7 drivers?
     
  4. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,116 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,314
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    most likely, but I don't think you will have issues running Beta drivers. Im running Beta USB 3.0 drivers for my board and win 7 and its fine. But I know your the stability nazi so.
     
  5. Dos101

    Dos101

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    569 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Ya Windows 7 drivers (Apple's BootCamp drivers) but nVidia's Windows 8 beta driver. Didn't have to install much though, Windows 8 did that for me hehe.
     
  6. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Add me in, Windows 8 Release Preview, build 8400.
     
  7. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,828 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,583
    Anyone who purchased a PC with Windows 7 between June 2nd, 2012 and January 31st, 2013 would be able to upgrade to Windows 8 Pro for a mere $14.99. Today, Microsoft opened the registration for the $14.99 upgrade promotion. You'll need to enter your 25-digit Windows 7 product key. Promo codes will be sent out starting October 26th via email and can be applied in checkout within the Windows 8 Upgrade Assistant.

    https://windowsupgradeoffer.com/
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  8. NHKS

    NHKS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    596 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
  9. Dos101

    Dos101

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    569 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Thanks, added. :toast:

    Thanks again Drone, I've added a link to the OP.

    Welcome to the club man! How are you liking it so far?


    Added another link to the OP as well. this gives you back the Start menu in Windows 8 http://www.stardock.com/products/start8/


    So, I took the plunge and ordered an Acer Iconia W500 off ebay

    http://www.acer.ca/ac/en/CA/content/series/iconia-tab-w

    http://support.acer.com/acerpanam/tablets/2011/Acer/ICONIATab/ICONIATabW500/ICONIATabW500sp2.shtml

    I'm hoping to do a short review of Windows 8 on a tablet when it arrives.
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  10. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    It's not on my main rig, but I like it do far now that I've gotten my way around a lot better. Learning the shortcuts and stuff.
     
  11. Dos101

    Dos101

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    569 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Ya after the learning curve it gets better. I do find that I'm using shortcuts more with Windows 8 and than 7. I've been reluctant to learn shortcuts with 7 but with 8 I made a point of it, and I'm a little more productive because of it.
     
  12. Perra New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    147 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Örebro, Sweden
    Add me in, running Win8 Pro x64 RTM (getting my key in 4 days from dreamspark premium)

    Oh and whats this about needing hotmail/outlook email for getting office 2013 key? It is rather incorrect. You do know you can use any email when signing up for a Microsoft account right? :)
     
    Dos101 says thanks.
  13. Dos101

    Dos101

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    569 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Welcome Perra!

    Touche, that's actually true. I'll amend the OP. :toast:
     
  14. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Yeah definitely. But overall I love it so far. Can't wait to actually install it on my main PC. :toast:
     
  15. temp02 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    493 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    suraswami says thanks.
  16. kg4icg

    kg4icg

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    103 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Herndon,Va
    Installed and running Win 8 Pro RTM and all is running good including my games. Nice having a TechNet Professional subscription. Did win 7 upgrade option while installing instead of a clean install. By the way because I'm a Win Phone 7 user in which I got mine last year. I have a 25gb storage on my Skydrive.
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2012
  17. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,828 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,583
  18. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,787 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    So anyone try the windows to go yet,Does it just make a USB setup for Windows8 r does it do something else?I see in Pro to make boot able cd but has the option for USB.
     
  19. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,175 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,706
    I have a question about the upgrade. Can you do a clean install of Windows 8 over an exisint Windows 7 install? For example if I have Win7 installed and I go to install Win8 does it give the option to do a clean install of it? Or will it leave a "windows.old" file on the HD like Win7 did to Vista.
     
  20. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,737 (9.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,209
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Most likely it will do a quick format of the main partition then do a clean install, thats what windows 7 installer does.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,175 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,706
    Windows 7 doesnt do a quick format unless you ask it too. It just dumps the old OS into a windows.old file and leaves it in the HD. You have to delete it manually.

    Ive never liked this. If you got a nasty its still would be in there.
     
  22. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,737 (9.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,209
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    A clean install would be using the quick format option. If the windows 8 RTM installer is just like the consumer preview than this option is available.

    They do the windows.old folder so you have a chance to move any files you wish to keep but also give you the option of quick format to do a "Clean" Install.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,175 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,706
    Sweet. Thats what I like to hear. So in the future if I need to do another windows install I wont have to install windows 7 THEN windows 8. See thats how Vista was. You had to install OS's twice with and upgrade disk. It was a pain in the ass.
     
  24. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,737 (9.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,209
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Windows 7 was able to do it as well but you had to do something special to the ISO to make it ask during install. It has been so long ago I forgot but I have a ISO that I had modded to ask which version and if I wanted a clean install.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,175 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,706
    See I dont wanna mod the ISO. So this is good news its in the windows 8 upgrade by default.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page