1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 8 Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by Dos101, Aug 17, 2012.

  1. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,192 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    418
    1st of all my OS language is Spanish (Spain) and "Win+R" goes elswhere (Run), and "Recent" gives nothing.
    I have already a "Recent places" which is close but different.
    Anyway I understand the idea behind your tip, thanks. I will find some way to add "REcently changed files" to Favorites.

    PD: wait a sec!! For all Spanish operating out there: we have to type "Reciente" (not "Recientes").
    This Search gives you "Recently changed files and folders" mixed. Not exactly the same, but.... and indeed as Dos10'1 said you can add it to Fav's.
  2. Raw

    Raw

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    450 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    I shouldn't have raged in this Clubhouse area

    Yea...badass...that's it. Haha. I do situps and pushups while running my big mouth about Win_Bama.
    It's a thing I have. Seems it releases pent up frustration over that operating system that MS wants to force me to use their way.

    I guess I am not yet over a bad experience I had with 8 a few months ago and I could find no work-a-round to get out of that jam. None, zero, no way.
    Even with help from some very knowledgable members here.

    I went back to good old 7 by re-formatting and I'm glad I did.

    I shouldn't have raged in this Clubhouse area, I suppose. There are more appropriate areas. I apologize for this.
    Maybe a good mod can move it???

    Cheers :toast:
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2013
  3. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,855 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,413
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,418 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. I just installed windows 8 again on my desktop about a month back and did not have to do the trick but my first two installed required the trick to work.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,855 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,413
    I know one "trick" that works great. Use a MS account like Outlook, Hotmail or Live as an admin. Once its registered to a MS email you can just "reset" the OS at anytime and it will never ask to activate again. Reset is basically a reimage to factory defaults so unless you have a real nasty root kit in the MBR then a reset is all you will need.
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,418 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yea I have my hotmail account linked to my windows 8
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,855 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,413
    Then just do a factory reset next time.
  8. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,192 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    418
  9. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,572 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,030
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Just upgraded to Windows 8 permanently after upgrading to Haswell. I don't understand the fuss about it. Im really starting to like it. Got start screen how I want it. Works great.

    My Start screen. Everyone else post yours! Gonna be nice when 8.1 is released officially to be able to categorize things.

    [​IMG]
    Kursah says thanks.
  10. Dos101

    Dos101

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    558 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    People don't want to spend the time to customize it, becaus with the Start Menu everything was just "there". The Start screen is extremely productive since you can put only what you use on it, then if you need an application that isn't on there you just simply go to the All Apps page. People will adopt it sooner or later.

    Here's the Start Screen I have on my Surface RT. The Start Screens on my desktop and laptop are pretty empty, with the exception of the few metro apps pinned to it and a few desktop apps.


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,938 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,359
    see that doesnt work for me, since i'm currently running about 15 programs and at least 100 tabs between three browsers.


    8 is a step backwards for multitaskers.
  12. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,855 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,413
    Not really. You just don't know how to use it yet.
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,938 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,359
    i've tried. i install my media player/codec pack and 50 million icons appear and take up 5 pages of icons and it murders my eyes
  14. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    You can unpin them.
  15. Dos101

    Dos101

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    558 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    In 8.1 when you install an application it doesn't automatically get added to the Start Screen anymore, so if you upgrade to 8.1 that might make things easier for you.
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,938 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,359
    now thats what i wanted to hear.


    one day i'll have to get a second SSD and install 8.1 onto it.
  17. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    HEy does anyone know how to play those games which are not supported by windows 8 , e.g brian lara cricket 07
  18. Black.Raven

    Black.Raven

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    195 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    What do you mean, normal games? that you played on windows 8 or just android games :confused:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Dos101

    Dos101

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    558 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    If you can install it in Windows 7 you can install it in Windows 8. Is there a specific reason you believe it is unsupported?
  20. Dos101

    Dos101

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    558 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
  21. Black.Raven

    Black.Raven

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    195 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Count me in for Windows 8.1 Pro Preview :toast:
    Got it from dreamspark. I actually like it even more now,
    the arrow down on the metro menu is really handy.
    And little icons are also really nice, it doesnt take a half page for one shortcut anymore :rolleyes::rockout:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,780 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    Is 8.1 still a free upgrade ? Technet subs i think get it when oem`s do ,Shame i let mine run out i should renew it soon. So it seems some of you are using the preview and love it good i will be updating this 8 install to it when 1 i renew my Technet sub or 2 in Oct when its released.
  23. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,572 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,030
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Yes, 8.1 is simply a service pack that you will update too in Windows Updates.
  24. Dos101

    Dos101

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    558 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Yes it will be free, you will be prompted to download it from the Windows Store when it is available. I really hope technet gets it when OEM's do, otherwise what are people paying for? You have until August 31 I believe to renew your technet subscription.
  25. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,099 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    562
    You know why I love 8? Two reasons:

    1) I don't get that stupid poor performance pop up when in the middle of playing BF3 (no I don't want to turn Aero off and on just because of 1 game).

    2) When my games do crash, they have never taken down the OS. Even with W7 I had issues where games would crash and take the OS down too.

    Yea the new start is hard to get used too (along with everything else that got moved out of there) and they even threw you in to the deep end without swimming lessons, but after using it since launch, I much prefer it over W7.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page