1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 8 Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by Dos101, Aug 17, 2012.

  1. Dos101

    Dos101

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    564 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Just added a link to they keys in the OP, though I may just copy and paste the info from your posts and add them to the OP so people don't have to do as much clicking.
  2. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,658 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,767
    Location:
    Chicago
    At first I'm all oh snap! and then I'm all "you need to increase your allocation, bro." :laugh:
    stinger608 says thanks.
  3. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,915 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,196
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    New Start Screen. Thanks too Pin More.

    Wish it was possible to pin custom .exe's with the app. So I can pin like Battlefield 3 and 4, origin and Steam, and what not without having to had BF3 and 4 as non steam games.
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2013
    random says thanks.
  4. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,042 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    howd you do it?!
  5. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,915 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,196
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Buy Pin More app $1.49. Figure out how it works, then go to town. I wont use Start screen to start games, but it just looks cool :)
  6. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,131 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    LOL, he's the one that posted the app. I think your wording in the previous post is incorrect (maybe you meant wish, not which?).
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,915 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,196
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Hahah!

    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
  8. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,936 (7.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,509
    I figured out what was causing the security audit errors in the event viewer. When you clear out the cache, history and temp files in IE11 it throws three security audit errors. Dunno why but I don't think its anything to worry about.
  9. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,124 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    H82LUZ73 and stinger608 say thanks.
  10. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,089 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    This is how Microsoft tries to compete with google lol.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  11. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,936 (7.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,509
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,597 (13.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,986
    Why not?
  13. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,765 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,609
  14. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,783 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    Wow lucky me I had my 8 key written down and saved the piece of paper under my keyboard :D Thank You downloading the ISO file now. :toast:

    OH you guys with the search function Need to know in 8 Internet Explorer needs to be the main default Web browser for it to work,Also try to add the add ins when it pops up.
  15. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,915 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,196
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Its definitely not working fine now. Earlier today Google was fine. Now not so much. :laugh:
  16. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Just proof i am in fact using win 8.1

    [​IMG]

    Tbh i am kinda impressed, I tried it a while ago and hated it but now I think it's not too bad.
  17. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,936 (7.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,509
    Welcome man. I have a feeling youll love it within a week!

    Yeah MS "Patched it". Dunno what they did.

    In young shavers defense it was running ok for me also. MS did something to "improve" it. ALSO IE 11 run defaulted in "Protected Mode". It will not display anything without valid credentials. By that I mean sites have to be validated by the week I believe for them to display properly. This is why Google is all screwed up I think. Its also why Battlelog won't run the plugin. You can mess with the settings in the security tab........I'm just to chicken to try :laugh:.
    tigger says thanks.
  18. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,586 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,287
    Anyone get Schannel or DCOM errors? It's quite annoying
  19. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,056 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,433
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Well I had to change my damn laptop from Windows 8 Enterprise to Windows 8 Pro in order to get the 8.1 update. :banghead:

    And Windows 8.1 is still a frigging girly looking os. :roll:
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,915 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,196
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Google is working for me now after I get an IE 11 Security update in Windows Update this morning.
  21. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,776 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,235
    Always see the DCOM errors at work, some here at home. Usually you can just ignore them or delete the registry (or go through the time to set the correct permissions for most of them)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,586 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,287
    Yup I try to ignore however it's strange because the system was clean and new. I found some solutions I will try them and see if they help.
  23. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,915 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,196
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    My google now.
    [​IMG]
  24. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,936 (7.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,509
    I fixed Google!

    All you have to do is turn off "Compatibility View setting" and "Use Microsoft Compatibility List".
  25. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Weird, my chrome works fine.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page