1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 8 Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by Dos101, Aug 17, 2012.

  1. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,388 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,714
    Gotta Love MS, breaking compatibility.
     
  2. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,116 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,314
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Dioes anyone have a RTM build image of Win 8? Id like to install it to my laptop when I get an SSD.
     
  3. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,015 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    677
    Sorry I only have Windows Server 2012
     
  4. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,015 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    677
    is the WNA3100 better then the WNA1100 so far as range?
     
  5. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,885 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,395
    Nooooo. :(

    I'd say it's up to the developers to make working drivers. But that might just be me.
     
    remixedcat says thanks.
  6. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,828 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,583
    You can't even rename them. But there's a workaround, you'll need to jump through some hoops though.

    This article explains how to do that. You'll need to create a needed shortcut manually in C:\Users\your username\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs folder. Or you can create a shortcut on the desktop and use Pin To Start option.

    Another interesting articles I found:

    This article explains how to change the number of app tile rows in start screen.

    Here you can find how to disable mouse over corner interfaces.

    This one shows how to change desktop icon spacing.


    __________________________________________________

    And this one is my favourite: Guide to Chkdsk in Windows 8.

     
  7. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,828 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,583
    I doublepost but I'd rather put it separately:

    I found Start Screen in Windows 8. Lol, it's located in

    C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs folder

    All installed apps that go there appear in the Metro screen. Microsoft removed Start Menu from Windows 8 but they didn't rename/remove its structure so it's the same start menu folder, what an eyeroller.

    This article explains how to create your own ... some kind of Start Menu without third party software.


    __________________________


    Another useful(less) crapola:

    How to add shutdown/reboot/sleep to Start Screen


    _________________________________


    And another useless/ful tip:
    If you want to boot to explorer/libraries and skip start screen try this:

    win + r -> regedit ->
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\Current Version\Winlogon ->
    rightclick on Shell key and type explorer.exe /select,explorer.exe (by default it was just explorer.exe).
     
    erixx, H82LUZ73 and remixedcat say thanks.
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,388 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,714
    Close but not exactly the same. I remember having to do that to quick launch when I accidently deselected or deleted it.

    Windows 7 Will be ran till MS gets their heads out of their butts on machines here

     
    H82LUZ73 says thanks.
  9. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,961 (8.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,790
    A little bit better but for what I use it for it doesn't really matter. I would have preferred to use the WNA1100 for the rig.

    Going to have to spend some time going through the tips that have been posted- they look very helpful :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    edit: nm
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2012
  11. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,892 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,242
    Location:
    Rochester area
  12. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,787 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    LOL I have to wonder if all they want is Win7 then keep using it for the Start menu....would make sense right.:D:roll::roll::roll:

    Microsoft Ok Windows 8 is more secure and we have explorer.exe at.92000 version.With metro UI.Touchscreen Bugs in Win7 are gone.

    Customers
    We want START MENU NOW.:cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry:

    Coders
    Lets put windows7 explorer.exe in Windows8......

    Guys who adopted to Metro.....
    Well have fun with that . unsecured Win7 exe that has two Hot fixes out next Tuesday......Yet my Windows8 does not.......:twitch::confused::eek:
     
  13. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,892 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,242
    Location:
    Rochester area
    You sir know not of what you speak .... explorer hasn't had a(security) hotfix since sp1 ...
    also file version != security id wager metro has more security holes then a XP system(because Obviously explosing parts of the OS-core to things like javascript and html is a good idea) : please refrain from commenting when you don't know what you are talking about
     
  14. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,787 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    Wow get up on the wrong side of the H8 WIN8 bed this morning.I was poking fun of how those guys are using files from WIn7 t o get their beloved START Menu back.Why use Win8 then.

    Also what java-script security holes in Metro? I have not had a MS hotfix on WIn8 since August And that was for Office,Yet in the other post about MS Hotfix Tuesday All the patches are WinXP-7 GO figure it out Win8 is better then 7 and stop coming here to a clubhouse of users that Actually use it.Not get us to go back to using 7

    Here is proof........I guess I do know something EH!! H8ter.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 5, 2012
  15. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,828 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,583
    More news.

    So final version will have all these apps updated OOB. But RTM users who already installed W8 will be able to update directly from the store as the new versions land.

    http://www.techradar.com/news/compu...ans-to-update-built-in-windows-8-apps-1102094

    Nice to see that the final build will be updated.
    I'm gonna reformat and install the final version because I'm on eval trial version of RTM anyway.
     
  16. tacosRcool

    tacosRcool

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    860 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    I can't wait for this to release!
     
  17. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,461 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    493
    MS says Media Center will be an optin for W 8 PRO!!!

    So if Î want it I need Pro? Well,.....
     
  18. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,828 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,583
    Patch Tuesday here with 3 updates:

    Microsoft Camera Codec Pack

    Hm that's strange not everyone needs this but MS marked this update as recommended.

    IE Flash Player

    Finally they updated flash player. 16MB in size.

    And finally this ....

    KB2756872

    :eek: Holy shit what is this? It's 163MB!!!! Is it some kind of micro service pack? Its description says:


    /ramble

    It took ages to download and install it. But I'm really glad that this update improves performance and reliability. :cool:

    p.s. It's also strange that update files for W8 are called Windows8-RT-KB2xxxxxx-x64.msu

    Why they have RT in the filename? And what does RT stand for anyway? :confused:
     
  19. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,015 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    677
    Running Start8 to get start menu back.... not free though :-(
    I also tried the old version of stardock fences and it works.... stardock is now charging 10 bucks for it so please back up those old exe files!!! I backed em up in 4 places even dropbox LOL.
    [​IMG]
     
  20. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,388 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,714
    they should call this windows 3.5
     
  21. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,787 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    That big update does this.
    Update information
    Improvements
    This cumulative update includes the following performance and reliability improvements:

    Increased power efficiency to extend battery life
    Performance improvements in Windows 8 applications and Start screen
    Improved audio and video playback in many scenarios
    Improved application and driver compatibility with Windows 8

    Known issues
    The following known issues may occur after you apply this update:

    When you turn a Windows feature on or off, the computer may require a restart. For example, this action may be necessary when you turn Remote Access on or off.

    How to obtain this update
    Install this update from Windows Update.

    Open the Charms bar by swiping in from the right edge of a touch screen. Or, if you use a mouse, move the mouse to the upper- or lower-right corner of the display.
    Tap or click Search.
    In the search box, type Windows Update.
    Tap or click Settings.
    Tap or click Install optional updates.
    Click the nn important updates are available link, where n is the number of important updates available.
    Click to select theupdate_name check box, where update_name is the name of the update that you want to install.
    Click Install.


    Strange thing is last week it was never said about what updates you get.Only Windows7 and office ones.have you guys noticed the Start Screen loads quicker o load up with log in/ password?Also seems more faster loading up apps in general.

    Originally Posted by Drone View Post
    More news.



    So final version will have all these apps updated OOB. But RTM users who already installed W8 will be able to update directly from the store as the new versions land.

    http://www.techradar.com/news/comput...8-apps-1102094

    Nice to see that the final build will be updated.
    I'm gonna reformat and install the final version because I'm on eval trial version of RTM anyway.



    You get the updates for Bing,Photo and stuff.I had 11 of them to install,Now my machine just flies.When is media centre coming ? Any word on release date?

    Would have had 2 posts just merged them together.
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2012
    Drone says thanks.
  22. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,828 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,583
    H82LUZ73 says thanks.
  23. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    i was mildly excited for win 8, until saw how many tacked on fees there are, $10 for stardock start menu if u dont like the reg layout, xbox integration /puke, media center extra fee... heh piss on it, I am happy with win 7
     
  24. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,787 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
  25. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,828 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,583
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
    H82LUZ73 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page