1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 8 Consumer preview up for grabs

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Mathragh, Feb 29, 2012.

  1. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    The Nvidia drivers work, I installed it using the Windows 7 Nvidia drivers and works like a charm
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,954 (12.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,382
    No, same drivers. I had to basically go into the device manager, tell it to install HD7000 series engineering sample (closest thing that was listed), then direct it to the driver itself. To get it to do that, you need to extract the AMD driver files to the C: folder like you normally would during a regular install. Then you cancel the install itself... You do this before forcing the driver. :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2012
  3. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,931 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,528
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    How to install Windows 8 from a USB drive

    HEXUS has an updated article on how to install Windows 8 from a USB drive, which will come in very handy for those who want to install the latest public preview version.
     
  4. Ferrum Master

    Ferrum Master

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    745 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    175
    Location:
    Rīga
    Can someone also measure DPC latency.... it is horrid... ~0.1ms:confused:
     
  5. Dbiggs9

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    369 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    how do i get the Start bar?
     
  6. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,782 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    298
    So far, it appears to be gone.

    There are several threads about it on Microsoft Answers.
     
  7. Dbiggs9

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    369 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    imo no start is fail and will cost a lot of sales......
     
  8. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,782 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    298
    I imagine the OS itself is quite good, it is that repulsive Metro UI that I dislike.
     
  9. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,087 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    are there any compatibility issues with any software?
     
  10. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,210 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,383
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    No start? There is start button it just goes into a screen of the metro UI, instead of the normal box thing.
     
  11. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    889 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    Hy guys, have a quick question. I just installed this preview on my comp(system Specs), on a seperate drive. But now, i dont have a dual-boot for booting my normal win 7 install, it automatically goes into win 8. Is there a quick way to fix this? Thanks
     
  12. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Can this be install to a tablet?
     
  13. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,774 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,071
    go to msconfig and there you can choose boot priorities.
     
  14. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
  15. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,110 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    If the tablet has a x86 processor, like an AMD brazos(AMD C or E series) or an Intel Atom processor, you can:)

    Afaik the ARM version isnt open to the public yet.
     
  16. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    889 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    In msconfig, boot, there is only "Windows 8 consumer preview (C:\Windows) : Current OS ; Default OS"

    Any ideas how i can get back to my win 7 install, without manually removing the drive with windows 8 install?
     
  17. insane 360

    insane 360

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    173 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    you can hit f8 before anything boots just like before, then you are greeted with a new gui interface to choose your OS and to select your default from there, also set timers for booting into said default
     
  18. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,774 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,071
    You must have done something wrong like installing over your win7 OS. Try and take out the spare drive.
     
  19. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,414 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    imho microsoft need to understand from a productivity point ,their start button was far more effective

    if i want an OC session i need to start 3-10 different bits of software ,and the start menu is where its at, i could make shortcuts if i wanted and i could if i wanted make them shorcuts big ,but i dont because im a meter at most away from a massive screen and i dont use them frequently, same with games , a place microsoft might have focused a bit more on in my oppinion the games folder has been totally useless for years ,it requires a lot of effort that steam and origin do not require ,but again ,i dont want a shorcut or anything similar for every game i have,

    its nice to come across something you havent used/ seen for a while but with this crappy made for idiots metro nonesense software is going to genuinely get forgotten about in the bowls of many a pc

    oh and i dont want soddin facebook updates and appointments and bullshit all over my desk space, I want a nice serene view ,minimally ruined by shortcuts ,wherein i can get on with something without difficulty
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  20. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,931 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,528
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Ah, there speaketh the clued up. Unfortunately, the clueless outnumber us 100 to 1 or maybe 1000 to 1, so MS is gonna pander to them, not us. I remember when I first saw the iPad and wasn't impressed and neither were the reviewers. However, that didn't stop it selling in the zillions and scaring the shit out of Microsoft. So, what do we have now? iPad clones! :banghead: That's what Metro is all about. A dumbed down, vendor locked in interface that those fucking dumbasses love and is being foisted on us. :mad: So, how long until the old desktop is banished forever and we're left with this braindead interface only? Damn, I can't rant enough about this.
     
  21. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,782 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    298
  22. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,915 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,434
    So the reason the iPad gets great reviews is because everyone but you is clueless? Good god. How is Metro dumbed down and vendor locked? WTF does that even mean here?

    I think I'll like the start page. Kinda like widgets but the entire screen. And I don't use the start meny anyway other than the search function and I can do that with the start screen too.
     
  23. insane 360

    insane 360

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    173 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    i have to say, i'm loving the new win8. i can get to things much faster, will probably even make it my main OS at work. if you don't want facebook sync, then don't do it! you have less steps to not have it then to have it...if you don't like metro, turn it off...if you don't want win8 then don't get it...

    i swear some people can be given free cash and they would complain it was too dirty or it won't all fit in their pocket...(not comparing win8 to free cash)
     
    Frick says thanks.
  24. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,782 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    298
    I cannot be turned off, yet.

    Now there is an idea.
     
  25. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,782 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    298
    Help me out here, Metro is is short for metrosexual, correct?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page