1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 8, full or upgrade required?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by cleverest, Nov 28, 2012.

  1. cleverest New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dayton, OH

    I'm in the same boat, at least as far as the touch screen goes, or lack thereof, but I will be building a brand new top-of-the-line computer with that though, so I'm excited about that. And I plan on eventually buying a laptop with a touchscreen (probably a lenovo twist) with Windows 8 if it's really that great. I know a lot of people hate it, but I'm quite the power user and I need to learn the features touch and not touch in order better to support my clients...
     
  2. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    It's not legal (as in, EULA says you shouldn't), but you can actually upgrade Windows from itself, because the upgrade program sees its own license key as a valid key to upgrade from.

    Do a clean install, boot it, then install again from it.

    This loophole has been around for a while now, and reported still working for Windows 8.
     
  3. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    I would hate to use any of these shady upgrades to free install and later find out that an update wipes me out, or some other surprise in the future.
     
  4. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    I would hate to pay more than I need to pay for a product :)

    The loophole has been around for years, and is intended to make life easy for PC-builders. With Microsofts recent step to make licensing easier for PC builders, I don't see how they would close that hole.
     
  5. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,140 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,669


    You don't even need to do all that. You can do a clean install with an upgrade disk. Ive done it a few times on a freshly formatted HD. After the second or third time it will not auto activate keep in mind. Then you just use the automated service on the phone at that point. There is NO NEED to install an OS prior to the upgrade OR do any registry edits.
     
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Nope wrong MM, With the new windows 8 upgrades it KNOWS that it was installed clean and will throw an activation error of 0xC004F061 I have already had it throw it even on the first install saying it could not activate due to it being an "Upgrade" version on a clean install.

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-8/why-activate-windows

     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,140 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,669
    Thats because you didnt format the MBR in the custom install. You have to have a non-allocated HD. Brandon Ive done this 4 times already.
     
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    You have the FULL version key, we have an UPGRADE key!

    THIS is why we got it for 15$ its can be activated for UPGRADE only.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,140 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,669
    Mine is a upgrade key bra.
     
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I have seen you mentioned before that you were "Cautious" and bought the full version of windows 8 and would not trust the 15$ upgrade. You even said this on TS.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,140 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,669
    I bought the upgrade bra. No full version key here.
     
  12. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Then you must be the lucky one cause most others that had bought the upgrade version were met with the "Error" within the first week of install. Doing the regedit makes windows think that it was not installed via BOOT disc but via old OS.


    Also it seems like the offer is still going for 14.99$ windows 8 pro upgrade

    https://www.windowsupgradeoffer.com/en-US
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,140 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,669
    Because they are not doing the format and install correctly.
     
  14. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,117 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,094
    Location:
    Oregon
    I did the clean install with the upgrade. No issue here. Its been three weeks

    This is all I did
    1. Launch the command prompt as an administrator
    6. Type slmgr /rearm and restart when prompted.

    The first part of the fix was already ok
    "MediaBootInstall and set the status to 0" < this was already set like that
     
  15. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Please MM give us proper procedures on how it install windows oh virus lord..
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. cleverest New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    I just went ahead and purchased the $99 standard Windows system builder version. I would rather have the peace of mind of avoiding problems in the future... That being said, I would like it to be the pro version, is that 14.99 applicable to upgrade my version of win8 to the pro version, Are am I stuck paying 39.99 for that?
     
  17. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    The 15$ version is a Windows 8 Pro Upgrade key. It can be used for clean installs (With reg hack or whatever mailman says to do) or as others said, Install over a clean install.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. DanTheMan

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    210 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Houston,TX
    For Windows 7 I had the family pack which is the upgrade disk with 3 installs. I would do a quick format on a new hard drive and install Windows without the internet cable connected. Let it do a full install without activating. Then reinstall Windows over itself (it sees your 1st install as your old OS). After installing I reconnected the cable and activated. I've had zero problems from all three installs. I'm not sure if the same applies to Windows 8 but it sounds like it.

    Good Luck
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page