1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 8 Out for Consumers in October, Enterprises and Partners in August

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 11, 2012.

  1. FYFI13

    FYFI13

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    64 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    There won't be any problems with my laptop and netbook as i'm not gaming on these anyways and on desktop i can keep Windows 7 as secondary OS until Windows 9 (or whatever it's called) will be released. If Windows 9 <= Windows 8, then well... I'll make a baby :laugh:
  2. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,139 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,646
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    "Upset" and "Defensive" are two different things buddy. ;) I said you were being defensive because I said "Most Window Users"... Not you being upset.. and by the way I'm not either. You misunderstood me and that's fine. :p Let's get back on topic. :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,780 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    So when is Tech Subs getting it ,August with OME RTM or October ?

    PS don`t forget Office 2012 is out in October too.......
  4. cedrac18

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    99 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Anyone try Win 8 on an eyefinity setup? i am guessing it will look retarded on my 3x1 portrait mode full screening every single applications and wasting my screen real estate.
    hellrazor says thanks.
  5. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Not on my desktop. I've had it on my main rig for a few weeks now trying to get used to it. It just plain takes longer to get to the things I want to do. If there is not a an option to disable Metro, it won't see this machine.

    Now, if on a tablet or some other touch screen device, I would use it, but I'm not gigving up my monitor for touch capability. Now, if somebody came up with a 24" 16:10 multi-point capacitive overlay add-on for existing monitors (that works properly), I would put 8 on my main rig.

    And just because it has been mentioned, I use Windows, Linux (although not currently. Needed the partition back for testing) and OS X, and like them all for different reasons.
  6. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Install ClassicShell, boot straight to the standard desktop with a start menu... problem solved. Next OS....
  7. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,384 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,086
    The culprit here is flash, which is kinda sucky, and Firefox, which is not as good as it used to be. Try other browsers and see if they work. If they are working perfectly, then you have your answer right there.

    (More tech support flashbacks:
    CUstomer: My computer doesn't work!!!!1!1!!
    Uninstall Norton, does it work now?
    CUstomer: Yes, but ..
    Call Norton tech support then.)
  8. Totally

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    80 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Right where I want to be
    Yeah, flash constantly crashes even taking Firefox with it sometimes. Would migrate but too lazy to transfer favorites/history and lose my cookies.
  9. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,680 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    You obviously haven't used it on an appropriate system. The problems with ME are similar to the ones people had with Vista initially. MS didn't give OEMs enough time to adapt to the new OS, so they just dumped it on PCs designed for 98, without 100% stable drivers. If you run it on something like a Pentium III or 4 with a good amount of RAM and don't fuck around with it, it runs flawlessly. And I'm talking from experience.
  10. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,888 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Clearly, someone has never had to deal with using Optimus on *nix.


    It doesn't take someone with a CS degree to figure out Linux, and honestly when it works right, it works out of the box. Ubuntu has always installed nicely for me even with proprietary drivers. If it doesn't install right, you're already doing something weird that should require you to have a better idea about the OS you're using. Like Fake RAID, Ubuntu doesn't like to install on it, but you better know how dmraid handles this if you expect it to work and you expect to be able to recover from any issues you may run into (such as a degraded raid with a new disk and how it will behave while rebuilding.) Stuff like that, but honestly, any normal person should be able to plop the latest version of Ubuntu and install and use it. Just don't mess with stuff when you don't know what it will do, which is a very good reason why "sudo" comes with a "with great power comes great responsibility," statement.

    They're just two different OSs with different things in mind, not just ideas about the OS but how the software is deployed and distributed as well.

    Windows might be easy, but they also make it easy to not recover from ruining stuff. I find that Linux is a little more forgiving if you know what you're doing. I've never lost a linux install to mucking something up where Windows has in many cases in the past become a lost cause.
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2012
  11. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,568 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Why the fuck are you using optimus?
  12. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,888 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I am not, but others tend to like improved battery life instead of letting nVidia suck your battery dry when you're laptop is idling.
    [​IMG]
  13. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,568 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    So your worried about someone else not being able to play games on a laptop running linux because you're worried that your battery will die since you're forced to use the actual gaming video card?

    [​IMG]
  14. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,888 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    No, I'm worried that when someone who does play video games and isn't (you know, when the machine is idle or when you're doing 2D,) is going to chew through his or her battery twice as fast when doing nothing. A lot of people like dual booting to do both, but just because they're in Linux doesn't mean it should eat their battery as if they were playing a video game. :banghead:
  15. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,199 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    Anyone who has tried to get a non HP printer scanner working, or just a normal scanner, or [insert device here] - including any kind of power or otherwise hardware management knows how screwed they are. Just reading Aquinus' post made me remember how shitty hardware drivers can be in linux and all the crap I take for granted these days.

    Unless you are running a web server or a DB server (or whatever server), or you're a developer and/or hacker, linux is primarily for screwing around in.
  16. SIGSEGV

    SIGSEGV

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    504 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    107
    have you tried installing linux in your pc recently?
    did you know slackware linux? i had never experienced with hardware drivers problems or any kind of shit regarding drivers issue in both my PC and Laptop machines, oh i almost forget something, i currently using an epson printer and scanner. :)

    sorry, for my oot post.. :(
  17. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,568 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    I've yet to have a problem with my Canon.
  18. Captain.Abrecan

    Captain.Abrecan New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    175 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    MA
    Start screen has giant tiles on it, which run the same apps in exactly the same way. You click the firefox tile, just like you clicked the firefox icon.

    Haters need to give it another chance ;)
  19. Syborfical New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    86 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    ME may have worked but it was slower than win98.
    And vista was a steaming pile.

    As for win 8 the Gui sucks.
    I windows vista / 7 the first thing I do is turn of Aero i have never liked it.

    I run a minimalist shell in linux LXDE...

    Unless windows 8 brings something to the table.
    Vista was 64 bit support and DX 10.

    Windows 7 is awesome it works very well.

    Windows 8 just looks like crap.
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    I don't want to run a third party shell.

    I gave it a month. I hate the UI. It adds time to finding programs and settings and such. The start menu works infinitely better for my working style.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page