1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows bit the dust

Discussion in 'General Software' started by hellrazor, Oct 12, 2012.

  1. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,579 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    319
    Windows bit the dust, after some troubleshooting (recovery console thing) the closest thing I could find out is that it has a bad driver (doesn't say which). It crashes (bluescreen, can't tell what it says) maybe 2 or 3 seconds into the boot process.

    Is there a fix or should I reinstall?
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,810 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,191
    When was the last time you reinstalled?
     
  3. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,461 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,264
    most likely your pc is loaded up with too much porn. format and proceed with caution.
     
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,048 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,109
    Before windows boots press f8, it will give you a list of options. One will be to disable automatic restart on error, select that and when it blue screens it wont instantly reboot and them you can tell us the error it is giving you.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  5. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,419 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,616
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    If you have system restore on, try going to some restore point in the past.

    Or, do you have a backup, try it.
     
  6. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,579 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    319
    Maybe a year ago (shouldn't be longer than that).

    I will be severely disappointed if my porn stash (8 files, 1.3 MB) is what goofed Windows.

    I think I tried that and I couldn't get to it. I'll try again.

    Nope, the hard drive is too small and I seem to be chewing through them like candy as of late.
     
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,048 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,109
    You might have to just keep tapping f8 constantly during boot to get it to come up.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  8. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,579 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    319
    I got it, the error is 0x0000007B (0xFFFFF88000919928, 0xFFFFFFFFc0000034, 0x0...0, 0x0...0).
     
  9. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,244 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,688
    Location:
    Wyoming
    I am to assume your running Windows XP? Sounds like a boot sector virus.

    I would download and run Avast anti-virus as it has a boot sector virus scan. Most likely formatting and reinstall will result in the dame stop error.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,048 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,109
    Inaccessable Boot Device: you've likely got a hard drive problem. The driver for your SATA controller might be corrupt, or this could be caused by changing the SATA controller mode in the BIOS(IDE to ACHI or RAID or vice versa). However, in my experience this is usually caused by a hard drive failure, especially if it happened out of the blue without you changing anything.

    If it is a hard drive failure you can use your Windows CD/DVD to boot, then get to the command prompted(method varies based on what version of Windows you are using), then run a chkdsk /r and hope it repairs the bad sectors on the drive enough that you can boot into windows.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  11. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,969 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,783
    0x7B usually means: switch between IDE <-> AHCI <-> RAID
     
  12. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,579 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    319
    Yeah I read the SATA thing somewhere, so I tried it to no avail. I also checked the cables, etc.

    However I did notice when I was trying to get to the command line that it crashed after (or during?) loading CI.dll.
     
  13. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,048 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,109
    There is a small chance it is a Master Boot Record virus.

    In that case you need to remove the hard drive from the computer and attach it to another computer.

    Then run Kaspersky's TDSSKiller program. You can get it here: http://support.kaspersky.com/viruses/solutions?qid=208280684
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  14. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,579 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    319
    I'll see what I can do.

    Is there some chance I could get it to run under WINE?
     
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,048 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,109
    I doubt it, but I think you can get it to run under MiniXP using Hiren's boot CD(you might not even have to take the drive out of the machine if you do it this way).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  16. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,141 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,669
    You can also use the Kaspersky Recovery CD. Its free and IMO better then the TDSSkiller alone as it boots from a linux based OS CD/USB and scans all volumes without booting into them. The TDSSKiller is also built into that scan.

    Heres the link....

    http://support.kaspersky.com/faq/?qid=208282173

    Its really simple to use. Hell I figured it out. That should count for something lol.
     
  17. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,048 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,109
    Good call, I'm just so used to having Hiren's around I forget about the Kaspersky Recover CD.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  18. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,579 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    319
    I tried them both and it still doesn't boot.
     
  19. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,419 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,616
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    You may just have to re-install; sad, however a real possibility.

    It may be a virus/malware or just a file that got corrupted. has a bad signature, or has not been signed.
    The CI.dll file is not necessarily the cause of the problem; but, it is the cause of the STOP code by finding a file or files it deems unworthy.

    Quote from TN Magazine:

    *It says Windows Vista, however, it works the same for Windows 7.

    If you can get to safe mode... You can try un-installing any recent programs, updates, drivers, etc. you have done recently.
    Run the "SFC /scannow" command from an administrative prompt.
    Run the "msconfig.exe" and reboot with all startup programs disabled.

    Then, when you do get back into your normal windows, you will need to do some detective work to find the offender.

    Honestly, unless you like doing the detective work, which may take a while, I, personally would just re-install from scratch.
    This way you are sure to rid yourself of the problem, whether, a virus/malware or other.
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2012
  20. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,579 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    319
    I'll see what I can do, but I'm gonna be gone today so it might have to wait until tonight.
     
  21. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,579 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    319
    I run it and it tells me that there is a system repair pending that needs a reboot to complete.

    Which is fucking stupid.
     
  22. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,419 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,616
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    If you are speaking when you use the recovery console's repair, yep, it is a possibility it may need a reboot to replace files or such.
    Said files could be locked and windows needs access to them.

    Same for the system file scanner.

    However, there is another thing it could be... you boot info has been corrupted.
    I had the same message when I messed up mine and had to use a boot cd of paragon disk manager to rebuild it; because, for some odd reason Windows boot recovery would not fix it, even though, it said it did.

    Easiest thing, imo, backup your data and reinstall.
    Just a suggestion.
     
  23. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,579 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    319
    Yeah, I was thinking I would need to reinstall it.... fucking Windows.
     
  24. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    run CHKDSK or use repair with your windows disk.
     
  25. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,579 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    319
    The Windows disk can't repair because the installation is SP1 and the disc isn't.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page