1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows crashes when I access WD10EZEX

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Sir B. Fannybottom, Dec 14, 2012.

  1. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,947 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,219
    I just got my hard drive back from WD's RMA service and It's giving the same problems It had before it left. Whenever I access the hard drive explorer.exe crashes, and when I try to transfer files to it nothing actually gets moved but every few seconds I hear that BSOD sound. Anyone here had similar problems?
     
  2. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,018 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,047
    do you have power save enabled ?

    [​IMG]
     
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
  3. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Your OC causing problems?
     
  4. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,947 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,219
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2012
  5. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,018 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,047
    Looking at your mobo on newegg , try switching between sata 3/6
     
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
  6. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,947 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,219
    How exactly would I know which ones those are?
     
  7. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,018 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,047
    [​IMG]
     
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
  8. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,947 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,219
  9. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,018 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,047
    Test the drive in another system. If it works on there maybe you need a clean windows install on your system. If same issue occurs then drive is also defective which sucks.

    That's all I can think of now.
     
  10. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,947 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,219
    I think there was something wrong with the steam folder I was transfering. I went into safe mode and formatted the drive and now I can transfer files.
     
    natr0n says thanks.
  11. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,018 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,047
    lol nice , knock on wood somewhere
     
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,493 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,773
    i was going to ask if there was an autorun.inf as a hidden file on the drive, i've had viruses try and mess with those before, only to screw up and make the drive glitchy.
     
  13. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,947 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,219
    Well I left the drive to transfer files for an hour and I come back to and inaccessible drive error and the drive not showing up anywhere.
     
  14. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,018 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,047
    That sucks dude. rma I guess
     
  15. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,194 (7.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,712
    Its not an HD issue if its crashing in the same spot. Taco, take the drive, format it and write zeros.
     
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
  16. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,947 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,219
    Just got it back from RMA
    I've tried quick formats and it does the same thing, I'm going to do a full one and try again.
     
  17. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,194 (7.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,712
    A quick format is not writing zeros champ. Also I think you have a software issue. When explorer.exe quits what is the faulting module in the event viewer?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page