1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows Defender is out

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Alec§taar, Oct 24, 2006.

  1. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    See my subject-line/title above, & this URL:

    http://www.microsoft.com/athome/security/spyware/software/default.mspx

    :)

    * Seems decent enough, trying it now myself...

    APK

    P.S.=> To get it, you'll have to have a VALID copy of your OS first of all (or run the latest GeniuneCheck.exe standalone file for a code for download of it), & secondly (& this messed me up a bit)?

    You'll NEED to have "Automatic Updates" live & running in services.msc, & ALSO in Control Panel-> System Icon...

    Otherwise, lol, it WON'T download updates! And, you will need to update it... it is set w/ definitions only as recent as 01/25/2006 is why... apk
     
  2. Canuto

    Canuto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,157 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Portugal
    Is it good?
     
  3. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    So far? Oh, I suppose so... it's not "fighting" w/ Norton-Symantec Corporate AntiVirus, OR w/ Ad-Aware's tray icon program, so this is GOOD NEWS so far @ least!

    It's very simple to use also...

    :)

    * That's about ALL I can say about it @ this point though... lol, hope I never have to find out if it is REALLY "good" or not though, via spyware/malware/trojan etc. infestations though!

    APK

    P.S.=> The ONLY problem I had was updating it, so I had to look around @ some troubleshooting info. on it & since I do my "Windows Updates" manually from this website @ MS:

    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...tartDate=3/6/2006&period=30&sortCriteria=date

    ?

    I do that manually, so I have copies of the files locally, just in case.

    Anyhow - I often leave the "Automatic Updates" service & Control Panel settings to "OFF/INACTIVE" because I haul updates down manually for LOCAL storage...

    I found out, as I noted above?? You can't do that w/ this program... saving you guys time & trouble IF you try it! apk
     
  4. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,281 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    717
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    I was working on a computer infested with adware, spyware, and whateverthehellware a while ago. The beta version of Windows Defender found a few things that AVG, Adaware, and Spybot missed.
     
  5. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Ah, sounds GOOD so far, from someone w/ direct "hands-on" experience using it, in an older/earlier model no less:

    Cool, & You do as I do: I keep multiple rootkit, malware/spyware/trojan, & yes AntiVirus (but only keep Norton Resident) detector programs around here online...

    ("2nd doctor's opinions" & such!)

    :)

    * Layered security, never hurts...

    APK
     
  6. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Hmmm I would agree with that statement somewhat. Sometimes layered security does hurt lol. My example is just as of late with my new rig (rig #2 in sig.). The new Abit board came with a built in firewall and even on the LOW setting it blocked everything. I couldnt even download 3DMark03. So I had to turn it off and open a few UDP Ports for a few games before I could get things to work correctly. As I say sometimes, be careful wut u wish for.
     
  7. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    It also "hurts" in that you are passing your packets thru more "filters" (especially if you do what I do, which is use a LinkSys/Cisco technology "NAT Firewalling" router, + ports filtrations, & lastly a software firewall)... slowing you up some in effect (@ least, this is how I understand it).

    BUT, it helps, because if one gets "knocked down" & you CAN knock-down a hardware router, & UpNp service (TURN IT OFF!!!) can make that happen, believe it or not, along w/ some settings routers have (remote mgt. ones)?

    Other things "get in the way" of potential 'interlopers/invaders'... knock one down? Another is in the way!

    APK

    P.S.=> Yes, there is exceptions w/ various apps... games can be another! Ports needed & such... apk
     
  8. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    somebody acctualy still uses norton.........scarry..........

    i laugh at all you who use firewall+firewall+xxx+xxx+xxx, since i got cable i stoped running a firewall, keep my nod32 updated and guess what, i havent had a singel virus since, anybody whos so board as to want to try and hax into my computer to see what i have really needs to get a life, is primarly a gaming rig, anything important i keep backed up on dvd and/or external hdd's that i dont keep pluged in(they get to warm, and my room already is to warm due to computers, can heat the whole house with them from my room.....rofl)

    oh and spyware/addware, just dont dowload/install crap that comes with it and dont use IE as your main browser and BAM no more problem(i havent had spyware/addware in over 2 years :) )
     
  9. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    "?"

    Norton, year-in & year-out, is always usually ON TOP of the charts for most virus threats found... using anything ELSE is scary imo @ least, given those statistics in AntiVirus comparison tests typically!

    :)

    * It does the job, but I also don't use what MOST folks use (version) I use the Corporate Client & it does the job... it's a LOT "lighter" than current Norton/Symantec stuff, less 'bloat' (interface is much like norton was around the year 2000/2001).

    APK
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2006
  10. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    most found........most missed till after they dissable norton that is.

    and i reccomend you take a look at vb100% ratings, they do a far more complete test of virus scanners then ur common reviewers.

    nod32 has the most 100% raitings ever, its not typicaly known to laypeople its more a corp level product, not heavy on resorces(unlike norton) dosnt have alot of faulse positives, dosnt mess with netconnection, dosnt slow the system down, allaround better then norton, oh yeah and no viruses dissable it unlike norton(after norton corp/symantic got knocked out on me the 3rd time dispite being fully updated i went back to f-prot, then found nod32, both are better then norton.)

    for server/enterprise solutions Trend is higher rated then norton or mcafee, nod32 isnt as well known as i said but its quite good.

    for low resorce av with great protection and great licencing policy f-prot cant be beat, 29bucks us for 5 home systems/comps, that includes ANY version of windows, if you havent tryed it, and have only stuck to the "top names" well then your missing out on a far better product, maby not as pretty but a better product none the less.

    http://www.eset.com/
    ^^nod32^^

    looks like norton looses compared to nod32 to me.....
    nortons heuristics are horrid, if its not in the known list, forget it........

    nod32 also updates virus sigs hourly if needed and the update files are normaly very small 80-160k range :)


    award links
    http://www.eset.com/company/awards.php

    and for my other favorite av app
    http://www.f-prot.com/
    f-prot has been around since the dos days, the dos version is and alwase has been free, uses same sig files as the windows version(great for recovery of hard to find/remove viruses using recovery consol)
    the new f-prot 6 beta is free for like 90days per insall(you can reinstall if you need more time :) )
     
  11. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    i use blackice for my firewall,avg for antivirus and advanced windows care for spyware etc.

    any comments on how good/bad these are would be appriciated.
     
  12. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Most found = MOST EFFECTIVE... don't you think, as far as AntiVirus programs go?

    OH, I see... so, virus' ONLY disable Norton AntiVirus?

    :)

    * Norton (@ least in the version I use) has something called "Anti-Tamper" in its settings... you turn that on?

    Well, try to 'disable norton', then.

    Those "common reviewers" are probably JUST as qualified as any, & year in/year out? Norton seems to come out on top!

    I use the corporate edition, you seem to have overlooked that though I stated it earlier - it's VERY 'light'!

    In fact? It is like Norton USED to be around 2000-2001 in fact for Windows 2000...

    Heh, first off: NEVER say never... & try the version I use, Corporate Edition Norton/Symantec Client, with "AntiTamper" engines @ work... Heck, I can't KILL IT MYSELF & HAVE TRIED!

    Trend? Boy, I have a story about that one, from my work THIS YEAR NO LESS (& I told this story here before in fact, here is the 'short version'):

    Trend was installed & was not even UPDATING its virus sigs properly across our LAN/WAN on the job... & I had to PROVE to my CIO that he was WRONG choosing it, & that it failed on us.

    He told us the SAME thing in meetings (TREND #1 etc.) & I was like "can you show me documented proof of this" & he could not... however, I could about Norton vs. many others (even AVG & AntiVir).

    He promptly switched us over to AVG @ work in fact, because of my discovery of this failure in Trend!

    Well, that's not how 'heuristic methods' work (via 'known offender' mugshots/signature, but rather by "it smells like chicken, tastes like chicken, looks like a chicken: MUST BE A CHICKEN" type of 'best guess' engines), but you are using 1 test only!

    I am using several years of Norton consistently beating others out. Heck, nearly a decade really.

    APK

    P.S.=> NOD32 is probably very good, I have not used it is all... I only stayed w/ Norton because of YEARS of great reviews & it coming out ontop of even AVG & AntiVir (excellent products I have used before)... consistently so, & I use its MOST 'efficient/lightweight' model there is afaik: Symantec Corporate AntiVirus Client...

    Want to hear a theory? Well, you will anyhow, like it or not, lol!

    I think that AntiVirus companies' own coders put out virus & OS vulnerability attacks...

    Think about it: They disassemble virus all day long, learn more about them & ALL KINDS OF THEM, & what is stopping them from applying that to keeping themselves working via creation of more?

    They work for companies that are in essence, doing what insurance companies do & use:

    It's called "selling you fear"...

    Heck, so why stop @ disassembling virii to understand them: Hack into the OS the same way, & really LEARN where it's 'weak', & THEN write a virus/malware/trojan/spyware etc. you name it yourself, keeping yourself @ work & paid, & one that REALLY 'wreaks havoc'... lol! It's NOT outside the realm of possibility... crazy, but might be happening!

    That said? Were I such a guy?? I'd make my AntiVirus #1 in ANY test... lol!

    It'd find more than ANY others out there, simply because I am writing the files it's trying to find, & inserting sigs NO OTHERS COULD HAVE BY THAT TIME W/ THAT VIRUS, during any tests! apk
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2006
  13. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    I found 1 thing SO FAR that I do NOT like about "Windows Defender":

    When it's done updating is 'spyware signatures' (calling them that for lack of a better term)?

    Well, if you DON'T reboot right off? It will nag you till "doomsday" for the next whatever, every 3 minutes it seems!

    * Other than that though, so far @ least? Smooth enough sailing, and it's FREE!

    APK
     
  14. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    norton can be FULLY dissabled by sevral viruses, the service files can be replaced/modifyed b4 the service loads on ur next restart, i have seen this on the version for enterprise server 2003, took me using my system and 2 other av apps(nod and f-prot) to get all the crap that got in whal norton was down.

    as to trend, alot of that in my exp has been due to the program not being setup correctly and/or the network not being setup correctly, im not blaming you or the admin/tech who set it up, really they should make it fool/ideot proof even for server use, trend when setup and working properly works great.

    and norton server/symantic corpret is still heavyer then nod32 or f-prot/f-secure its not as bad as mcafee or kasper but its still heavyer on the system then nod32/f-prot.

    setup a system or virtual machien for testing try nod32 and f-prot against norton sever, think u will be suprised.

    and read the vb100% reviews, they cover 1998-current, fully disscribe testing methods, and all that, the accounts free just sign up and browse :)
    http://www.virusbtn.com/vb100/index
    get a free account and compair them yourself :)
     
  15. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Do you really think those methods are local to NAV in any form, only? Please, before you reply: Do think about this... targetted attacks? Can happen to any program.

    Still, I have tried to "knock out" AntiTamper, while in Windows? Can't shut off NAV... they have it solid in there.

    This IS the MOST current version of it mind you that I am using.

    I didn't set it up, the network @ my place of employ & in the past several years (I am solely a software engineer now - the "FINAL EVOLUTION" imo, of the software person) though I had found SEVERAL shortcomings in the network @ work which have been either corrected, or noted (such as service hardening, the topic of the "Sticky Post" I authored in the software section).

    Trend, assuming the network engineers 'screwed up' setting it up (meaning my CIO)? It sounds like it needs work on "ease-of-use" & this MATTERS large... I design this stuff, & one button push for ANYTHING should be the goal of any software developer... EASE OF USE!

    As well as ease of setup, installation, update & tuning (in other words, YOU NAME IT)

    I'd like to compare statistics on memory usage, CPU cycles used, & such from taskmgr.exe (good source of such info. in fact) w/ perhaps, screenshots from myself running NAV corp client current model, & yourself running the ones you mention's services & clients of the antivir you mention, under NATIVE environs (no VMware etc.)...

    Couldn't hurt!

    I have NO idea what NOD32 is about, but I do know the others... currently? I am using the one that finds the MOST detected virii year in & year out... w/ good reason - & that reason? Well, see this paragraph! Over time? Norton's a proven winner in tests worldwide for decades now!

    Well, that's under artificial environs... I don't generally use VMWare (the best of them) or MS Virtual PC either... no need. Not really, not as a single platform developer (Win32/.NET, it is where the monies are).

    APK
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2006
  16. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    would you please tell liunx devs this, it would make my life easyer :p


    as to testing, vmware is good for testing out virus ISO images(can be found on some security sites) load the image with vmware and see how many viri the av finds compared to how many there are.

    fully loaded nods currently using 21,232k ram, and 00 cpu cycles, im gonna put f-prot on my other box soon, will post stats then, oh and nod can be made lighter or heavyer by enabling/dissableing modules such as outlook protection and active internet scanner i only keep the mem resdent scanner filesystem scaner going, no need for the others, nod tells me if something nasty trys to get on my system :)
     
  17. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    LOL! It's NOT so bad... it's better (especially since KDE 2.3 imo) by far than say, when I ran it 14 years ago in Slackware, stuck in console mode because my vidcard wasn't regonized.

    And, sometimes, admittedly? ONE-CLICK is not always possible. BUT, this is what you have setup options for... lol, set your user in PRESETS as much as you can.

    Hard to explain but think about wares you use.

    Ah, man... it's NOT real, it's emulated... there are HUGE differences!

    So, lol, you have "Cheat methods" eh? lol... disabling certain functions, lol... good job! Anyhow... we should do screenshots, those are "live proof" so we can both SEE them, like I said above.

    I won't cheat ("WORD" as young folks today say), I'll run NAV corp. client FULL OUT, just as I run it too... & we'll see what is what.

    Anyhow? It is nearing midnite & that's when I 'cut out' & sleep... later, I will see you whenever Manan (sp?) as the latin folk say.

    APK
     
  18. randomperson21

    randomperson21 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,535 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    tell me alec, does it actually tell you what spyware/malware it found? i'm running the last beta version, and the thing that really got on my nerves is that i could never figure out what it found. maybe i'm just missing something.

    oh yeah, just downloaded ff2 from your link, and firefox SPELLCHECKS! i'm scared (and i just realized how bad my spelling is...)
     
  19. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    its not cheating, on install in advanced mode it asks what you want to run and dont want to run, after insall at any time you can choose to enable the extra modules, but why would i run outlook protection when i removed outlook?, why would i run active internet protection when i dont need it?

    cheating would mean i had to do something sneeky or underhanded to dissable the modules i dont need/want, i didnt its PART OF THE PROGRAM

    ok i got Amon running, thats the active file system monotori dont use the Dmon thats made for MS document monotoring, as i dont use ms office
    I dont use Emon because as i said i dont use outlook(remove it fully from any system i setup)

    theres ur screenshot, now can i have some respect? you imply im lieing and cheating when im not, i find it offencive to be called a cheat and have people imply im lieing. 21,224k ram in use by nod32 (the same or close to the same as i said b4)
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Ah, I should have quoted the word "cheating" to imply sarcasm (edit part: Wait a second, I read it above, & I did use quotes noting sarcasm)...

    It was only 'kidding around', that's all - you just took it the wrong way!

    :)

    * Part of what I dislike about the written word - there is no REAL way to convey 'tone'...

    APK

    P.S.=> I'll do a screenshot of my NAV & it's services later... this NOD32 screenshot: Does it have services associated w/ it as well, OR other components other than what I see clearly labelled as its filename in memory from your taskmgr.exe screenshot? apk
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2006
  21. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    It always good to see Alec stir someone up lol.
    Anyways this looks like it deserves a try.
    Why not after it is does have everyones favorite word. FREE
     
  22. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    ah forgot the nod32kui.exe uses 1,988k, AFIK these are run as services since you cant kill them from within windows(keeps them from being stoped/replaced with fakes like symantic may have finnly done with its av)

    yes the writen word is hard thats why if i have worrie about any dought of scarcasim being used i use /scarcasim after what i say (as if it was a tag)
    same when i realise i have gone off on a rant /rant :p
     
  23. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    That's not my intention here... not @ all.

    It's pretty good I suppose... can't hurt to have yet another "Dr.'s 2nd opinion" ontop of numerous other antivirus/antirootkit/antispyware programs here.

    Yes, it's a "PLUS POINT" for it...

    :)

    APK
     
  24. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    'first where those screen shots you have had days :)

    im imune to those, god i love my windows 2003 :D
     
  25. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    humm well with this thing installed it randomly revs up my cpu to 50%, my cpu fan started reving up so I checked task thing and found msmpeng.exe at 50% cpu usage, terminated it and defentender says it was terminated. Anyone notice this? I hate my cpu fan :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page