1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows doesn't see it, Mint does

Discussion in 'Storage' started by hellrazor, May 15, 2013.

  1. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,562 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    311
    I got a new WD RED 1TB, formatted it with a 100GB ext4 partition (for Mint) and the rest as an NTFS partition (for general crap, I already have Windows on another drive). Linux sees everything fine, but Windows pretty much refuses to see it at all (it doesn't show up in diskpart, disk management, or the device manager).

    How do I determine if it's a configuration issue, a compatibility issue, or defective?
  2. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,274 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,193
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    try to reformat it, if everything is ok and you hdd run normal (no overheat, no strange sound or like that) that means you hdd is ok
    how about you format it with linux and set it ext4 and leave the rest, then format the rest by using windows
  3. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,562 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    311
    How am I supposed to use Windows to create a partition on a disk that Windows doesn't recognize?
  4. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,274 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,193
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    i mean you erase your hdd first, create partition then you set up ntfs from windows and ext4 from linux
  5. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    961 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Location:
    GMT +2
    erase all partitions. then run windows. in disk managment you should see disk as unpartisioned drive. create partition under size add total size for drive-size you want for ext4. keep in mind that your dirive physicaly has one 1tb= 1000gb but for OS 1tb is 1024gb so OS will see your drive as 976GB and you have to exclude 100gb for ext4 from 976GB not from 1TB. after you have created partition format ntfs.
    when finsihed with ntfs part boot mint and create ext4 partition at unussed space.
  6. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,560 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    So the device is missing in general. If you open up diskmgmt.msc, the drive is completely missing?

    Do you have SATA drivers installed and is the BIOS set to RAID mode on SATA? dmraid might detect fakeraid out of the box but Windows 7 might not. I would make sure that SATA is running in AHCI mode. This has nothing to do with how the drive is partitioned. Windows would carp if it had trouble with that. Your problem is exactly as you describe it, the drive doesn't show up at all, as in you can't even see drivers loaded up for it.

    Are you using the red SATA port or the blue ones? If you're using one of the blue ones, then you're using SATA1 (1.5Gbps) and you might have trouble getting it to initialize being a SATA3 drive. Clearly it will work because it worked in Linux but you may need to put a jumper on the hard drive to force SATA2 PHY. If that doesn't work, try moving the hard drive over to the red sata port. That is SATA2 and is on a different controller that runs over PCI-E. I would give that a try.
    hellrazor says thanks.
  7. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    12,971 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,084
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Geekoid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Messages:
    77 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    UK
  9. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,562 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    311
    I turned the computer on this morning, went to take a piss and when I came back it said that there wasn't anything there to boot with. After messing around with BIOS for a while and getting nowhere, I decided to move it from my one SATA 3Gb/s slot to one of my two SATA 1.5Gb/s slots, messed with BIOS to enable them, and voila everything's working fine.

    Long story short, either my SATA 3Gb/s slot is crapping out or Windows doesn't like it.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page