1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows doesn't see my DVD ROM

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Frazwk, Jan 17, 2007.

  1. Frazwk

    Frazwk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I just added a DVD burner and now it doesn't see my DVD ROM.
    I set the ROM to master and the burner to slave. Did i miss something in the BIOS?
    In the boot sequence it sees both drives, but in hardware manager it only sees the burner.
    I'm stumped.
  2. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,232 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,151
    Is it listed in Computer Management, under Administrative tools? Look at disk management too see if it is listed.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  3. Frazwk

    Frazwk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I didn't think of that. Good tip.
    I'm at work now, but I'll check that out when i get home.
  4. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Selecting CS on the jumper can sometimes help I think - it has done for me in the past. You could also try clearing the CMOS, and if things still aren't looking good search any forums on the manufacturer's site for any similar problems.
  5. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Maybe the IDE cable is messed up.
    But I agree, you dont even have to do master and slave anymore.
    The CS jumper takes card of that usually.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page