1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows Firewall wont work anymore = no online gaming

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Irish_PXzyan, Nov 1, 2007.

  1. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,433 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Hey guys.

    ive noticed that my Windows Firewall has not been working for a while now..I did not take to much notice of it...nore did I care..I just downloaded ZoneAlarm firewall instead. But...for some reason..I cannot play ANY new games online anymore...what I mean is..I could play any game when windows firewall was working...it always gave me a pop up asking do you wish to block or unblock.

    Now tho...I dont get that..iam trying to play 2 games I got this week..but I cannot..Zone Alarm does not give me a pop up even tho it should! I manualy allowed them internet access in the program control panel. That still done nothing for me.

    ive searhed the web for answers and yet....nothing will work still.....

    So I come here...where all PC experts come! Guys.....can any one of you help me!

    Here is the error message I get:

    Windows Cannot start the Windows Firewall/InternetConnection Sharing(ICS) Service.

    Thanks anyone!
     
  2. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Check and make sure the service isn't disabled...

    It will need to be manual or automatic.
     
  3. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,433 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    the thing is...I dont know where to go to enable or disable? I thought its control panal...and just double click security center or windows firewall. But there is nothing to do with enable or disable there.

    When I double click windows firewall...its just gives me that error.
     
  4. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    go to run and type services.msc, that will bring up a list of your services and you can get to them to enable or disable them.
     
  5. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,359 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    go to your control panel and check out your internet options or network connections if your using xp
    and if you have a third party anti-virus protection program like norton, go into the settings and see what options are not supposed to be check off
     
  6. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,359 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    or maybe u need to reset ur router. call your isp and theyll help u out with that
     
  7. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Not related to this issue...

    The issue is the service is not starting, most likely it is not starting because it is disabled for one reason or another in the system services list.

    Windows and other Firewall software, runs independently from your internet options or network connections. Norton itself will look to see if you have a firewall installed or setup, if you don't it will try to sell your its own. :)
     
  8. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Also "NOT" related at all....

    Please try to avoid from posting help about things you are not knowledgeable with.
     
  9. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,433 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Niko084: I done what you said and I went down to Windows Firewall and clicked start....it then gives me this error:

    Could not start the windows firewall/internet connection sharing(ICS) service on local computer.
    Error 1075 The dependency service does not exist or has been marked for deletion.

    Iam no expert...but that sounds horribly wrong...marked for deletion??? lol
     
  10. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Don't attempt to start it directly, just set it to automatic and restart your computer.
     
  11. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,359 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    I am trying to provide him with "possible" solutions to the problem he's facing. Try to worry about the problem at hand and stop worrying about whether or not you think my suggestions are not going to help at all.
     
  12. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,433 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    it is already set to Automatic.
     
  13. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Possible solutions need to be tied to his issue in some way....
    Once again..
     
  14. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Now to get back to the issue your problem lies a bit deeper..

    Instead of typing this all out for you piece by piece, follow this guide it should help you get it running.
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/892199
     
  15. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,433 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    omg....again....nothing...jeezz.
     
  16. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans

    open control panel and open windows firewall, then go to advanced and select to restore defaults.

    if that doesnt fix it reinstall sp2 and it should fix it, i believe something has either changed or disabled your settings
     
  17. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,433 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    heh already tryed to reinstall SP2 :p but it would not allow me...
     
  18. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,171 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,657
    make sure network connections and windows management instrumentation are set to automatic,and check to make sure remote procedure call is also automatic..anything that windows firewall/internet connection sharing depends on must be started for it to turn on
     
  19. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,433 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    I coudl not find management instrumentation. Where would I find that?

    Everything else you mentioned is set to automatic.

    Gosh...I just uninstalled NOD32 and decided to install my old Zone Alarm Pro 2007. The good news is I can play one of the games online now :D The pop ups come up now which is a relief to see!!! but...for my other game " PES2008 " it does give 2 pop ups...but I still cant connect to the network to play online??? what the heck!

    Thanks for everyone giving me advice! hmm..maybe I have something wrong somewhere...a virus??? a missing file..an old HDD??...hmm...I dont know :(
     
  20. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    did you go to add/remove programs and uninstall it first then reboot?

    if its already there you cant reinstall it, i guess it doesnt have a repair feature.
     
  21. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,433 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    no I did not uninstall SP2!....I guess I should give it a go :p could not be arsed now...been trying different things all god damn day long...I need some gaming now :p thanks for the help!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page