1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows Internet Explorer 8 Beta 2 Released

Discussion in 'News' started by alexp999, Aug 28, 2008.

  1. kodlan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    You haven't had any problems with because you haven't actually developed for different browsers. And IE 6/7 is a nightmare for a developer :banghead:
     
    mdm-adph says thanks.
  2. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,432 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,243
    whether it is or it isn't doesnt matter to me. i have never had problems browsing with IE.
     
  3. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    So how come in my experience sites display better on IE :confused:
    there are some sites, which dont work at all of Firefox!

    Tis the only reason i switched back.
     
  4. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Usually,there are always some problems with third party apps for windows,be it xp or vista.I will stick to ie it browses the net which is all it has to do,i dont need it to check my mail or anything else.
     
  5. kodlan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Well it is not true. They don't work in FF mainly because you have to invent stupid workarounds just to make things work in IE. M$ is alweys making their own "standarts" even when they already exist and are widely spread...
     
  6. Dark_Webster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    393 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Portugal
    I will only download the final version when it proves that it's better than IE7. For now, IE7 suits my needs.
     
  7. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    IE Tab to the rescue, so you can switch back to firefox again :D
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/1419

    IE works fine too. I was late to jump on FF bandwagon, used IE 5&6 for a long time. Now I just prefer FF and don't have tons of add-ons, just necessity. Adblock, BlockSite and ha-extra (for hockeyarena). Yet to put IE Tab back, as I haven't come across a site that hasn't worked with firefox, if I still do it's couple clicks away.

    Yes it uses a lot of mem, but got plenty of that to spare and no my Vista doesn't crash with firefox, or anything else.
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2008
  8. kodlan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I would not be using IE8 for my personal use, only at work if I would have to test something on it. And for all other people that do not do this kind of stuff at work I would recomend to have a look here:
    http://www.stopie.com/
    http://www.savethedevelopers.org/index.php
    :rockout:
     
  9. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Out of sight, out of mind, eh? :laugh: Ignorance is bliss.

    That's because those sites are made specifically not to work in Firefox, through the use of Microsoft-only technologies such as ActiveX and VBScript. It's not a problem with Firefox. Most of the times sites like these are designed in "partnership" with Microsoft (kinda like the way that Crysis was designed in "partnership" with Nvidia).
     
  10. Hitsugaya_Toushirou New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    75 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    hmm... I haven't made a comment in a while but IE's layout engine, trident, has to be the worst engine ever. M$ never follows standards properly so a site, which could be made for any standard compliant browser in a short period of time will take like extra few hundreds of lines of code and hours of headaches/debugging just to get it to work on IE... especially when it comes to css, html dom and javascript... Also, IE's incapability of processing min and max widths and heights of elements has to be the lamest thing ever so I always have to keep a workaround template for this.
    I wish M$ just stopped working on their browser and let organisations, which specialise in the web browser development to deal with the production of web browsers... or they should at least follow standards.
    Until then, I'm for the standard compliant layout engines (which is basically all but IE's Trident):
    Gecko (Firefox's engine)
    Presto (Opera's engine)
    Webkit (Safari's engine)
    KHTML (Konqueror's engine)
     
  11. kodlan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    2 mdm-adph, Hitsugaya_Toushirou: Totally agreed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  12. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,432 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,243
    i am not a developer so why would i care. i want a browser that works with every site i go on. IE does that.
     
    alexp999 says thanks.
  13. kodlan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Some small cars, lets say Ford Fiesta goes on the road the same way as Jaguar XF. But I don't think you feel the same in them...
     
  14. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,432 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,243
    very true. but given your analogy im guessing the fiesta is IE and the juguar is firefox. sure they both drive on the road and the jaguar drives better, but atleast the fiesta doesnt break down on some roads. it always gets there no matter what.
     
  15. kodlan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Okay, if both cost 0$ which would you choose? Fiesta or Jag? :slap:
     
  16. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    My analogy would be,ie as the fiesta and firefox as a van full of stuff with a massive engine.Sure the van is faster but its full of crap.

    We are all individuals and all pick which one we like,whats the point arguing the toss over that really.
     
  17. kodlan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Well you can install only the crap you need :laugh:.
    There are other alternatives Opera, Safari. Have you tryied them?
     
  18. Whilhelm

    Whilhelm New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    844 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Location:
    Barrie, Canada.
    Just for the hell of it I opened IE8 and FF3 with six tabs on each. When I looked in the task manager It shows five instances of IE running and only a single Firefox. All the IEs use almost 200megs of memory where FF only uses 120MB

    [​IMG]

    There you have it, isn't the whole point of tabbed browsing to not have to open multible instances of the browser. God job Microsoft :shadedshu
     

    Attached Files:

    blueskynis says thanks.
  19. blueskynis

    blueskynis New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Serbia, Nis
    Xaxa this is good! :) Even FF3 visually integrates better than their own software...

    Want to see more of Microsoft's good job? Look here. :rolleyes:
     
  20. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Well here is me running 7 tabs, something funny is going on with your PC. I still only have one instance of IE running and its only using 80mb.

    [​IMG]
     
  21. Whilhelm

    Whilhelm New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    844 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Location:
    Barrie, Canada.
    I would blame Internet Explorer for running multiple instances. All I did was install it and try it and that is what happened. My firefox works fine and so does my computer.
     
  22. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,432 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,243
    well, considering your analogy i would say the fiesta because i KNOW it will get me from point A to point B. with the jag, i may be styling on my way, but i will most likely break down before i get there. :nutkick:
     
  23. xfire

    xfire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    The privateon feature already exists on Safari Browser.
     
  24. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Im with Rhino ie werks fine for me with all my browsing thats all that matters to me.
     
  25. kodlan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Well I ask my self, why I should convince so unsophisticated people that can't see what crap they are using and what other better posibilities exist?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page