1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows loading time

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by spixel, Aug 16, 2007.

  1. spixel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    299 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Slow loading into windows

    Okie my pc is as in my spec thingy :) it takes at about 10 seconds to get past the windows loading screen and sometimes when i open firefox or someting similar it takes a second or so for the page to open . what could the problem be ? my old pc ( amd x2 4600+ loaded almost twice as fast :x )
     
  2. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Could be a heap of different things.
    It all depends on the number of services, processes etc you are running on startup.
    Use start>run>msconfig to play around. Also use start>run>services.msc to define what services should be running all the time, manually (user started) or totally disabled.
    That may help you speed it up a bit.

    Regarding firefox, im not too sure, but try these:
    http://www.tweakguides.com/Firefox_1.html
    http://www.webkeydesign.com/38/firefox-config-hacks/
     
  3. spixel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    299 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    on startup in msconfig

    RTHDCPL
    nwiz
    nvmctray
    Skytel
    KHALMNPR
    ctfmon
    ALCMTR

    what are they :s , any i could disable ? also i disabled all the services cept for ones with security in them and essential :)
     
  4. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    lol...with services you shouldnt be touching anything if you dont know what they do.
    Disabling the wrong services will make your computer useless until you reapply them, and generally its not worth disabling everything because it restricts your use of the computer.

    Eg - Telephony. The computer doesnt need it to run, but without it, other services cannot start themselves up meaning that you wont be able to use the internet etc.

    I have no idea what most of these are, though a quick google should show them.
    Eg RTHDCPL turns up in google as:
    "Process Name: Realtek HD Audio Sound Effect Manager"

    nwiz - network wizzard (just throwing out guesses here)
    nvmctray - something in your system tray, antivirus perhaps?
    Skytel - voip?
    KHALMNPR - no idea
    ctfmon - this one belongs to windows - but it isnt a necessary process.
    ALCMTR - monitoring tool of some kind based on: "mtr"
     
  5. spixel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    299 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    go me >_>

    now i get asked to re-activate windows but it wont reactivate lool
     
  6. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
    i always google services that seem foreign to me, heres what i got for you

    nwiz - NVIDIA nView Wizard , i think you need this service to manage multi display or tv-out setups etc

    nvmctray - NVIDIA Media Center Library , Loads your default video profile upon exec and remains doing nothing

    skytel - is a Realtek Voice Manager to do with voip

    khalmnpr - is a process installed alongside Logitech mice

    ctfmon - to do with ms office (personally i hate this one cos you cant get rid bloody ms)

    alcmtr - is a process installed alongside Realtek AC97 audio hardware and provides a monitoring service. This program is a non-essential process


    oh and if you dont know what it is or are uncomfortable messing around with servies etc. dont touch it! i got 10 times as many services running but it doesnt affect me so i dont think its got anything to do with that (if this is all you have running)
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2007
  7. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    :slap:

    Reenable all your services...
    Look for the Windows XP Optimisation guide on this site. Should be under the articles section.
     
  8. spixel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    299 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    How long does it take you to get past windows loading time , it takes me around 10 seconds , i think it might be my mobo. http://www.microsoft.com/library/me...g/setup/support/68224windows-logo-loading.gif

    does 10 seconds sound a bit long for my spec and could it be a bad windows install or someting :S im confused as my old pc which was an amd x2 loaded up in about 4 , every few times also i load someting up ( like starting a programme or pressing the windows start menu ) pc stops responding for a split second.

    oh yea and my pc acts reallly slow under alot of load :<
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2007
  9. spixel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    299 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    anyone ? D:

    im ordering a water cooling kit soon need to know if i should get a new mobo with it :'(
     
  10. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    It really doesn't have much to do with your spec. More to do with what you have loading up at bootup. If you have a lot starting up with Windows, it doesn't matter what spec your PC is, it will be slow.
     
  11. spixel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    299 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    i dont have much starting up except rivatuner S: and what could be causing the random slowness and under load everything goes really slow like the pc is crashing
     
  12. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    When did you last format?
     
  13. spixel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    299 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    my pc is pretty empty , only a month old , its been slow like this since i first installed windows :mad:
     
  14. zCexVe

    zCexVe

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    417 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Los Angeles,CA
    Jus dont mind that.Windows is the greatest virus to the IBM PCs.LOL.Sometimes I do 10 secs with mine,30 secs sometimes.Jus defrag your registry,remove unnecessary values,,make things load by registry keys,lower the amount of fonts,Some defrags into the HDD things like that.Will make it fast 4 sure.Thats how I'm doin 10secs.
     
  15. spixel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    299 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    i defrag very often and use ccleaner to clean registry , its still very slow - how was my old fragmented 2 year old pc faster >_> could it be a motherboard problem or someting like that
     
  16. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    This thread is the dumbest one I've seen in a while! 10 seconds is too long for you to wait then just leave your PC on! mine takes ~40 seconds (cause I have too much crap on startup) and I leave mine on.

    as for the: "oh yea and my pc acts reallly slow under alot of load :<"
    simple. under a load, your processor is used, and thus slows down the pc!

    two words: BE PATIENT!
     
  17. spixel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    299 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    i dont care how slow it is m8 , im trying to see if theres someting wrong

    it acts like its crashing , not just slow
     
  18. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
  19. spixel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    299 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    yes but it didnt get very far , my pc cost alot and im trying to see why its loading slow ( if my load time is normal for my spec on a pc with only 2 or 3 games on it or is there someting wrong ) , if ur not going to say anything to help then dont post :)
     
  20. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,939 (5.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,068
    Location:
    Ohio
    From off to ready to use... about 40 seconds. Thing is I have this annoying issue where Windblows thinks there is some hardware somewhere without dirvers, however it works just fine.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. zCexVe

    zCexVe

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    417 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Los Angeles,CA
    Usually newer VGAs need time to load.So dont compare with it.
     
  22. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    you're not allowed to make multiple threads. DanTheBanjoman locks them.

    also there is no help needed! Be patient and wait 10 seconds! It's simple!
    :slap::slap::slap:
     
  23. spixel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    299 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    as i said before its not the wait , im just WONDERING if this is a normal load up time for the windows screen ... k
     
  24. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    but yea it's normal.
     
  25. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    There is no "normal" load up time.

    I get in to Windows in about 20 seconds normally...but sometimes (Depending on what happened before I shutdown - ie did it crash) it can take up to a minute.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page