1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows Security

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Bow, Aug 24, 2008.

  1. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,372 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    950
    Location:
    Way Upstate New York
    Is Windows Security, Fire Wall and Defender enough to protect a system? All I use it for is games, email, and some surfin the net.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. thraxed Guest

    Is there a hidden camera somewhere?
  3. Firedomain

    Firedomain New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    361 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA, Aussie!
    i would say, deffinately not!

    if you want the best security there is, get kaspersky internet security 2009.
    There is a 30 day trial from there site & after that you can buy a liscence from ebay for 1 year for under $15!

    hunt around virus protection roundups & u'll see that 99% of the time KIS is #1
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2008
  4. pagalms

    pagalms New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    783 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Latvia
    I'm running x64 Vista without any additional AV software and never had anything more than just few tracking cookies un IE temp folder.
    Bow says thanks.
  5. Firedomain

    Firedomain New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    361 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA, Aussie!
  6. drdaver

    drdaver New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    i have used clamwin antivirus for two years now and in that time i have had no problems. i do lots of internet, email, and downloading. just gotta be smart about what you click on and what you download and such!!
    dawgnbirfar says thanks.
  7. pagalms

    pagalms New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    783 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Latvia
    Scanned only C: drive, because D is empty and E is only pagefile. It found nothing. :)
    [​IMG]
  8. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Depends how much you use it and what you look at really. i use Kaspersky IS. but for people I make PC's for who dont want to buy extra stuff. I just allow windows own security to do its job, then put avast on there to cover the Anti-virus.
    Bow says thanks.
  9. Firedomain

    Firedomain New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    361 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA, Aussie!
    yer, thats good 2 know. its just that 90% of the time i'll get a pc with no additional virus protection & i usually find hundreds of infections.
  10. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Yep i use Kaspersky too excellent stuff #7 that is ive heard about 09 is it much different from 7 fd?
  11. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    that free online scanner got a false positive on me
  12. Firedomain

    Firedomain New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    361 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA, Aussie!
    it differs a little. the GUI is slightly different & it has a new automated system that eliminates the majority of user input.
    is quite good actually.

    & i highly doubt it was a false positive. was it by any chance a keygen or something?
    Triprift says thanks.
  13. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    In Windows Vista, Defender itself is not an anti-virus, rather, It's anti-malware.

    Like many others said, I'm also using KIS (Kaspersky) on x64 Vista.
    dawgnbirfar and Firedomain say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page