1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows update failing

Discussion in 'General Software' started by kalstrand, Feb 20, 2014.

  1. kalstrand

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    46 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    I just finished building a pc and installed win7 pro 64bit. Most of my updates downloaded and installed but I have 2 important and 1 optional that will download partially then fail.

    I am getting error 80072EE2. I have tried everything I could find on google and the Microsoft help links that windows update provides with the error code but haven't been able to fix the issue. Anybody here have any ideas?
     
  2. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,797 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    New York
    what are the updates that are failing?
     
  3. kalstrand

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    46 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    The updates that are failing are

    KB2862152 and KB2545698 for the important updates and KB2830477 for the optional update.

    If I try to do them all at once they are 10.5 MB and they will get to 77% downloaded then fail.
     
  4. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,476 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    562
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Have you tried going to MS website and downloading each one separately? You can look them up by their corresponding KB number. Many times that' all that's necessary. Over the last couple years, MS has gotten worse about checking the boxes on all the updates, regardless if one is a prerequisite for another.
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  5. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,573 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,149
    Location:
    Mexico
    Did you restart? It might be that they need a previous update to finish installation and some do so after a restart (the "Preparing to Configure Windows. Please do not turn off computer." message at startup.
     
    95Viper says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. FX-GMC

    FX-GMC

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    855 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    326
    Location:
    Cumberland Plateau
    You could try the Windows Update troubleshooter. http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows7/open-the-windows-update-troubleshooter

    If that doesn't work then do this:

     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2014
    rtwjunkie says thanks.
  7. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,797 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    New York
    95Viper and rtwjunkie say thanks.
  8. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,421 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,617
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Are you, also, trying the optional KB2830477, if so, check that you have the required KBs before and after.
    Seems MS requires these to be done in order.
    Could be hanging up looking for the other KBs.

    Quote from the instructions section of the KB2830477 page:
    Try it by checking/downloading/installing one KB at a time.
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2014
  9. FX-GMC

    FX-GMC

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    855 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    326
    Location:
    Cumberland Plateau
    It's much less time consuming to delete the Windows update cache and then let the updates run normally.
     
  10. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,421 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,617
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Yes, you stated that option...:shadedshu: And, if that did not work I gave another option... Which deleting the cache might not fix.
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2014
  11. FX-GMC

    FX-GMC

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    855 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    326
    Location:
    Cumberland Plateau
    Yes, but manually installing updates doesn't fix the underlying issue. If there is a hole in the boat, better to fix the hull than use duct tape.

    Oh and smh right back at ya.
     
  12. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,421 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,617
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα

    Yes it might fix the underlying issue; if, the underlying issue is caused by one of the KB updates and you figure out which one it is! :shadedshu:
     
  13. shovenose

    shovenose

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    797 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    did you clone the drive from another? that will cause weird update problems.
    If not, disregard this post :D
     
  14. FX-GMC

    FX-GMC

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    855 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    326
    Location:
    Cumberland Plateau
    Which would be cause one of them is corrupt in the Windows Update cache!

    Also, I'm not gonna stoop to your rude level anymore, so you get a :D
     
  15. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,421 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,617
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    I am not being rude. You are not grasping that deleting the cache may have nothing to do with installing a KB that requires other KBs or files be loaded before it will install.

    For all I know it could be his connection to the server at MS; as, it does not complete the download.

    You are trying to impose your solution on the one I gave... which is not the point I was giving to the OP.

    Your solution works, I have used it before.
    Mine works; as, I have used before, too.
    You seem not to like others giving their solutions... only yours.

    Yeah, have a nice day.:D
     
  16. FX-GMC

    FX-GMC

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    855 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    326
    Location:
    Cumberland Plateau
    You're right and thanks. You too.

    EDIT: Well let me clarify. It's not that I don't like others giving solutions (I couldn't do my job if I didn't). I think I was just in a weird mood today.
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  17. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,421 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,617
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Me, three.
    Me, Myself and I
    :)
     
  18. kalstrand

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    46 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Thanks for the help everyone. It worked to manually download and install the updates that were failing.
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  19. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,148 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,525
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    :roll::respect:

    Well done folks!
     
    FX-GMC and 95Viper say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,476 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    562
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Good To hear! It USUALLY works. Sometimes you need more heavy methods to deal with it if it doesn't.
     
  21. Carlos José Conceição New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I found the same error "80072EE2" - I found that it is no use just close antivirus, enable windows update in firewal.É necessary to go into property Computer, Manage, Security Firewall, Add Windows Update there with rules Input and Output .Here I decided so.
     
  22. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,807 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    Old thread, but the Fix It tool thing has worked very well in the past for me, for many problems.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page