1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows update killed Vista I'm pissed

Discussion in 'General Software' started by DaMulta, Dec 21, 2008.

  1. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I don't even have it on auto install. I heard that I'm not the only one that hit this today....

    Machine boots says installed part 3 then reboots. Can't go in to safe mode, command prompt anything....I lost my vista CD so I'm Fed I'm pissed.

    I hate forced updates. I BOUGHT MY FING COPY MS!!!!!!1


    Now it's just bluescreening because I tried and tried to boot in 50 times today and it fed it up. I'm soooo Fing pissed right now........really I'm at loss of words.

    I think MS should pay be 180USD for my copy of Vista for breaking it with a forced update. I really do. It's their damn fault and I think it will take over 2 hours to fix AT LEAST.

    After backing everything up. At 50 dollars an hour THEY OWE ME.
  2. LiNKiN

    LiNKiN Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    298
    which update was it?
    DaMulta says thanks.
  3. Dark_Webster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    393 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Portugal
    ^ -Yeah, what was it?

    I haven't got problems with my updates on Vista... neither I got a BSOD...
    DaMulta says thanks.
  4. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I don't know it's a update of 3

    it went one two and the 3ed it hits 0% install then reboots.


    This is the first BAD update I have had from them. Remember when I said I never turn off my computer. it's because of shit like this that happens to me. I turned it off last night being Green. That's what the world gives me in return for being green.....

    -----------

    If you never have had a blue screen of death in vista you have never pushed your system to the breaking point yet LOL.....
  5. Lillebror New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    720 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Denmark
    What does your bsod say? if you get one
    DaMulta says thanks.
  6. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Hell I don't know it shows up for 2secs then goes away. I am also on stock settings.

    I have swapped video cards and ram just to make sure.

    It's MS bad update. PALiT_Guy told me on the phone about it this morning. That's the only reason I knew that they had sent out a bad update locking peoples machines up.
  7. Dark_Webster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    393 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Portugal
    That kind of 3's updates are probably kernel/system updates...

    If at least you had a DVD of Vista, you could probably recover the system.
    DaMulta says thanks.
  8. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    Hnm... I guess you have the "auto-download, but notify to install" option?
    DaMulta says thanks.
  9. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Yea I have notify. I did not click install I KNOW I DIDN'T

    Still some updates you get no matter what. Unless you go kill off the background.....I do like to keep windows updated because I don't run a virus destroyer and that stops most viruses by getting the updates.
  10. Lillebror New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    720 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Denmark
    Did you have sp2 beta on? or sp1? or none of em?
    DaMulta says thanks.
  11. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Just SP1

    I have no beta on that machine.
  12. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    Vista is tricky, if you have that option, and if you shutdown your computer (not restart), it will auto-install the updates before it's shutting down.
    DaMulta says thanks.
  13. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I lost the CD I think I sent it out with a customer on accident:banghead:

    I have looked EVERYWHERE for it. I think I used it to format someones computer and forgot it in their drive......
  14. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Look I just flip the breaker when I turn off my machine. Vista always updates when I start the computer.

    I never do the safe shut down there is no point in doing that. I don't care if it saves my last settings from my last boot:roll:
  15. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    And, I forgot to say this, If you want to shutdown without installing updates, there will be a lil arrow point down next to the shutdown button, that will give you an option to shutdown without installing updates.

    EDIT:

    Well... I'm usually doing things the normal way, so it would be easier for me to find the problem later...

    Flip the break? Hit the power off button?
    DaMulta says thanks.
  16. Lillebror New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    720 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Denmark
    Thats a stupid way to shut down, dude ;) You have a high change of corupting windows files that way! get on another pc, download a new vista image, burn it and try to repair it that way ;)
    DaMulta says thanks.
  17. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I know LOL

    I didn't tell it to update that's the whole deal.

    PLUS I was told I'm not the only person this happened too.
  18. Dark_Webster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    393 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Portugal
    Wasn't Microsoft also forcing Windows to do the WGA update? So that they could put all that nagging warnings on people's machines.

    And, you can perfectly download a Vista DVD. You have a legit key...
    DaMulta says thanks.
  19. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,561 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,915
    A couple of questions maybe I can help:

    - is vista x64 or x86?
    - do you have Office 2007?

    I had the 3-part update yesterday... I'll take a screenshot of my update history so maybe you or other members can check...

    Edit: okay here's the shot -

    [​IMG]

    Edit again -- And yes this particular 3-part update gives you a warning not to power off the pc... It does part 1 and part 2 while powering off (safely) and then this morning when I powered on the pc it started doing part 3.
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2008
    MKmods and DaMulta say thanks.
  20. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    WHY is it?

    In the old days when you had to manually park your heads on a hard drive before you turned it off yes. Now they do that by them selfs.

    Dude I have shut machines down like this for YEARS. My boss used to flip out on me for doing it on all the severs until he revised that noting was going to happen.


    I install pci cards DVD players IDE dives you name it when machines are ON. I do this on working severs too!!!
  21. proletariandan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    475 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Chicago
    I hope this is a joke...
    DaMulta says thanks.
  22. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    It was the 64bit I wonder which one it was.

    No I have open office installed I like it better.
  23. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    No I have been messing with machines for 25 years.........
  24. Lillebror New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    720 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Denmark
    Just cause it hasent killed any of your stuff YET, dosent mean its good for it.
    DaMulta says thanks.
  25. Dark_Webster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    393 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Portugal
    One time I killed a hard drive flipping the switch... when I started the computer the disk was on fire :laugh::laugh:.
    DaMulta says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page