1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows Vista final prices released, Customer Preview Program to restart.

Discussion in 'News' started by zekrahminator, Sep 5, 2006.

  1. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    A few weeks ago, a Canadien website leaked the prices for Windows Vista. Now, Microsoft has released the official prices for Windows Vista.
    Microsoft also plans to release the beta code of RC1 to anyone who previously registered for the Windows Vista Beta 2, essentially restarting the Customer Preview Program. They will also allow new people to register for the release candidate of Windows Vista.

    Source: Cnet
     
  2. Seany1212

    Seany1212

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    669 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    England, UK
    whats the difference between home basic and ultimate? And which one should i choose? full or upgrade?
     
  3. oldschool New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    104 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ya just gotta laugh... The "ultimate" bendover from MICROSUCKS.
     
  4. Darksaber

    Darksaber W1zzard's Sidekick Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,640 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    807
    Location:
    Gmunden, Austria
    well upgrade would be prudent if you own a valid copy of Xp ATM. Considering that XP Home does not cost more than 100 bucks, it is cheaper to buy XP and then the upgrade.

    cheers
    DS
     
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,048 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,110
    Home Basic=XP Home(Basic OS)
    Home Premium=XP Media Center Edition(Basic OS+Media Center)
    Business=XP Pro(Basic OS+Multi Processor support+Ability to join domains, No Media Center)
    Ultimate=Business+Home Premium(All the features of Business+Media Center)

    Most people will probably be using Home Basic as it will probably do everything they need. If you currently have MCE and actually use the Media Center functions then you probably will want to go with Home Premium.

    As for if you want the full or upgrade, that depends. I would say go with the upgrade version, assuming you have a copy of XP or 2000. However, whatever you do, do a clean install(you have to most of the time anyway).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  6. Darksaber

    Darksaber W1zzard's Sidekick Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,640 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    807
    Location:
    Gmunden, Austria
    well I think that the upgrade variant will not let you do a clean direct install of Vista..but needs to be installed on top of a XP version?

    The serials will probaly be different as well...so an upgrade serial will not work on a retail version and the other way around.

    cheers
    DS
     
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,048 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,110
    Just like XP, Vista will allow clean installs using the upgrade version, in fact there are only a few instances where you can do an upgrade. If you have 2000 or XP x64, for example, you HAVE to do a clean install no matter what.

    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsvista/getready/upgradeinfo.mspx

    You can reference that page for what can be upgraded to what without a clean install, and what requires a clean install.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  8. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    just think.. if M$ charged $30 a copy, who would bother pirating it? I know I'd own 3-4 licenses instead of....... probably not even one...
     
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    i think if they didnt charge so much i would owna legit copy vs the uhhh one i got from work ;)
     
  10. spectre440 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    948 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Israel
    agreed.

    300 US$ for a bloody OS is WAAAAAAAAY too much.
     
  11. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,048 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,110
    I always laugh when people bitch about the price of OSes. They will pay hundreds of dollars on processors and video cards just for them to become obsolete in less then a year without batting an eye. However, when they have to pay $300 for an OS that will last them 5 times longer they bitch. And the $300 version isn't even really required, they could do just fine with the $99 version.

    It is like people bitching about paying $40 for an air filter on their car, which will last 6 months to a year, then driving down the road and paying $50 for a tank of gas which might last a week if they are lucky and not saying a word.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  12. KAJG New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    if you got windows xp u can upgrade to Windows Vista Home Basic for $99 nice!:)
     
  13. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    True, but Vista Home Basic doesn't come with Aero, a "must have" :p.
     
  14. KAJG New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    TRUE!
     
  15. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    What version of Vista comes with Areo?
     
  16. KAJG New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    What is aero?
     
  17. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    yeah but still i have pro (corp. edition) and it was free think they will make the same setup for vista
     
  18. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
  19. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    well well well if i had a card that had pixelshader 2 (a requirment for vista) maybe i would give a dam but for now xp pro is a
    ok im thinking of swapping out to server 2k3 just to get away from all the holes windows has in it now what makes you think
    i want a big bunch of new holes to replace the old ones ohh i know why b.c windows mimicked OS X and screwed up like
    they always do but wait its got nice graphic menus that take up how much ram?????????? 512mb by themselves wat a waste
     
  20. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I'm probably getting a new DX10 video card and an X2 3800+ before I get Vista. Then keep the system for 2 years, then a new one, probably quad core.
     
  21. KAJG New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    wow u dont get aero with Vista Home Basic:( that is what makes vista
     
  22. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    it is still M$ what you expect good stuff in the low end product you crazy thats waste of money
     
  23. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    What's the cheapest Vista that comes w/ Aero?
     
  24. KAJG New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    but do u get dx10 with Windows Vista Home Basic?
     
  25. evil bill New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    370 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Scotland
    yes
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page