1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows Vista Install

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Castiel, Mar 5, 2009.

  1. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,319 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    I still have the copy for Windows Vista that I used to install my current system with. I am thinking about reformatting my computer. Now I used the CD key to install and register it the first time. I was wondering can I format and Install again and still use the CD Key, and it still working? With the same hardware.
  2. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    Yes, it can be done rather effortlessly. Follow the directions on the link below to a "T". :)

    <Vista Info>
    Castiel says thanks.
  3. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,319 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    What about activating? And I have already registered my product key?
  4. lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,234 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    youll be fine, ive done it plenty of times.

    worst case you call microsoft and tell them you reformatted and thell reactivate the cd code
    Castiel says thanks.
  5. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    If you use Winkeyfinder it should back-up and restore your activation files automatically.

    <See Here>
    Castiel says thanks.
  6. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,319 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    I'm wondering is the illegal? Because I don't want to get in trouble here.
  7. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    As long as you have a valid key already installed that is legal, and you're reinstalling it on the same machine you're fine. ;)

    (Someone please correct me if I'm wrong, but that is my understanding.)
  8. lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,234 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    youll be fine, trust me

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page