1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows Vista RC1 has been released and is on schedule.

Discussion in 'News' started by zekrahminator, Sep 5, 2006.

  1. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Windows Vista RC1 has been released to business customers today, and will be released to MSDN and TechNet subscribers next week. If the Vista release schedule is anything like the release schedule for XP, it is possible that a final version of Windows Vista will be available to business consumers in early November. This means that system OEM's can have adequete time to test Vista in their new machines, and possibly have Vista PC's ready before Christmas. It is alot more likely that system OEMS will have Vista PC's ready in early January. In a letter to TechBeta, Jim Allchin, Microsoft co-president of the Platforms and Services Group, thanked TechBeta for their continuing enthusiasm and support. He mentioned most of the improvements of Windows Vista RC1 in his letter, such as GUI enhancements, program compatibility, as well as fit and finish. Allchin advises that RC1 is alot like the Vista Beta 2, and is meant for developers to ensure program compatibility.

    Source: Techworld
     
  2. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    The pre-RC1 release was much better than the beta 2 that I had originally, used far less RAM and after turning off a few rubbish services I think it was running almost as well as XP itself, so that looks good. If RC1 is better I'm happy, almost considering purchasing it... but don't think I will. I'll be trying my hardest to get a legal copy for free. :D
     
  3. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,281 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    718
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    I was still having a lot of hardware compatability problems in pre-RC1 mostly with my X-Fi, X800, and video capture card. When sending a couple error message off I got a response saying the problem will be fixed in RC1 hopefully they have done so.
     
  4. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    To be honest I haven't actually got orund to experimenting properly with drivers yet and I'm not sure about it's gaming performance compared to XP, but it seemed much more friendly than the beta 2 I tried, but that might have been because that was 64bit.
     
  5. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
  6. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,432 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,253
    I have BDD business desktop deployment at home, packaged with alot of goodies, and the ability to build my own OS with software and drivers for deployment. Windows PE and OOBE (out of box experiance). I downloaded it a few nights ago.


    I have as of yet to make my machine a test subject.

    Mebey if i find a good compatable set of drivers for my Silicone 3114 and X1800 i will build tonight.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  7. charlespayne New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    14 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi i just recently installed vista rc1 but just woundering how do i get hardware drivers as i checked the internet and i cant find updates so just woundering does vista do a auto searth of the net even thore i done a fresh install that removed my xp.
     
  8. charlespayne New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    14 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    for people without a cd key

    ok people if you downloaded the new vista RC1 and dont have a cd key here is a simple way of getting one 1st of all install your copy of vista you dont need a cd key to install it only to activate it once installed goto control panal and then click system then click the time left to activate you can eather put in a cd key or you can activate useing the phone as the phone is much easyer to use as thay give you a code to activate your windows :).
     
  9. dpilon New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sound card Issues?

    Hey, I just got a direct link e-mail fro microsoft to download the dvd .iso of RC1.. well i have an onlder version of vista on here. Whichever one was the first public beta release. I was havin sound card issues, "RealTek AC'97" i guess wasnt supported. The BETA drivers for it wouldn't work for me either. Just wondering if anyone got it to work on the RC1 release.

    Thanks,

    Don
     
  10. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Might get more luck if you post a new question in the "General Software" forums for that, not many people read old news!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page