1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows Vista ready computer will cost 20% more then a Windows XP ready computer

Discussion in 'News' started by zekrahminator, Dec 9, 2006.

  1. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Market research firm iSupply did their homework, and found some very interesting numbers. Hardware wise, a new computer designed for Windows XP will cost no less then $500 to build. However, to make a computer ready for Windows Vista, there are several changes necessary. A gigabyte of memory will be just short of required, and supporting the Aero interface will also be a challenge. This can make a computer ready for Windows Vista cost no less then $600. That figure is for hardware alone, and so OEM's will likely charge significantly more than that.

    Source: The Inquirer
  2. mout12

    mout12 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Messages:
    114 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reno
    The only people who buy $500 PC's are grandmas who want to learn how to send e-mail to the family. They don't need windows Vista. All they need is a web browser and AOL.
  3. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    7,989 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,084
    Ewww.



    AOL.





    I just got and staged a lappie that was windows Vista ready. 5 hours to get it idiot proof for remote access and all the other stuff and a hour to explain to the idiot how to not forget his own password and name. Or how to swipe his finger over a print sensor.


    Build a better machine.........
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  4. AMDCam New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado, United States
    Uhh don't know if you realize but DirectX 10 is a technology for Vista too, so to support ALL vista features you're gonna need at least a slightly more expensive graphics card since you can't use last-gen stuff with DirectX 9. But hey, I fixed all those little problems with my system, my $4500 8800GTX (x2) in (1.5gb RAM altogether!) SLI, Aegia 128mb Physx card, Athlon FX-74 (quad-core) 64-bit (obviously), Soundblaster X-Fi Platinum, Liquid cooled, 2gb XMS2 Xtreme RAM, 640gb RAID 0 BACKUP drives (yeah, backup), Nforce 570 SLI motherboard, and yes....yes..... the hardware to end all hardware, the beast that'll increase the whole system's speed I'd say at LEAST 5x and take away all bottlenecks in the system.......... my 8gb PCI SSD (Solid State Drive). And the monitors I already have, 2x 19" widescreen AGM monitors. Yeah. Yeah.

    By the way, the only reason I can afford this is cause I'm a new Marine and you may or may not know, until you have a high enough rank the military pays for EVERYTHING so all my paychecks go to fun stuff, like my computer and when I get this, everything goes to my car.

    Anyway, building a better system IS right, just get past that price bump for future-ready hardware and there you go. I say to be truly Vista ready you need:

    multi-core processor
    64-bit processor (I really don't see any advantage to 64-bit but hey, just for compatibility)
    DirectX 10 graphics card (yeah right now it's just the 8800 series so that sucks for budget buyers)
    2gb RAM (at least)
  5. mout12

    mout12 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Messages:
    114 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reno
    You and I want and need DX10... My point is this: Grandmas don't need it! They need a shatty, bloody cheap computer so they can log onto aol and send e-mail... If you're only going to spend 5-600 dollars on a PC, that's all you're going to get. Hell, my Graphics card costs that much.
  6. Alcpone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Now that sounds like a beast of a rig and it sounds very much like you deserve it! Fair play to anyone who puts their life on the line for others!

    Enjoy it!

    ;)
  7. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    One thing that strikes me as strange- Why are you trying to shove a Quad FX processor into a motherboard that only has one CPU slot? :).
  8. Alcpone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Cant knock the zek, he does his homework! ;)
  9. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I think he meant the 680i or whichever the new 6XX Nvidia came out for with the Quad FX
  10. Alcpone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Im only jealous lol

    That baby will cook your tea and give you a bloody good blow job aswel! :laugh:
  11. AMDCam New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado, United States
    lol thanks for the kind words alcpone, I'm not sure exactly which mobo though cause ....sadly.... I'm not building this one, for the first time in 7 years I'm BUYING a desktop, but I got no time to build it cause I get stationed January 2nd and it's gonna be pretty hectic for a while. So I'm buying an ibuypower 4x4 that comes with the FX-74, but it just said Nvidia SLI mobo and the latest I've heard (I'm like a month out-of-date here) was the 5x0 mcp mobo's, but I didn't know the quad-core had a whole new socket. So whatever motherboard it is, it's an Nvidia MCP with SLI, so if it's a 6 series even sweeter!
  12. Alcpone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    You wont have the pleasure of putting it all together, but thats not the end of the world I suppose, if you've got the cash you should spend it!

    That will be a sweet system, either built by you or a firm!

    Make sure you post some bench's so we can look in amasement!

    ;)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page