1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows Vista SP2 not really installed?.....

Discussion in 'General Software' started by ArmoredCavalry, Oct 30, 2009.

  1. ArmoredCavalry

    ArmoredCavalry New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    617 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Ohio
    So, I saw DX11 is out for Vista sp2. I checked for available updates, and nothing there. I refreshed the available updates, and still nothing there.

    So I went to make sure that I had the full version of sp2 installed, and found out I still have the RC version. v.286

    Is there an easy way to upgrade to the final sp2? I have a feeling the RC version is the reason I can't upgrade to DX11.
     
  2. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,772 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,944
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
  3. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    You have to uninstall the RC before you can install the final release, IIRC.
    Also, I think the DX11 update for Vista isn't in final release yet, so I don't think it will show up as an Automatic Update yet.
     
  4. ArmoredCavalry

    ArmoredCavalry New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    617 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Ohio
    It was just released as optional update today. (called platform update).
     
    pbmaster says thanks.
  5. ArmoredCavalry

    ArmoredCavalry New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    617 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Ohio
    Update:
    I have tried uninstalling the service pack twice, and both times got the following error:

    [​IMG]


    I have also tried method 3 here, with no apparent effect:
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/948537

    FINAL UPDATE:
    So, I decided to try this again now that Dirt2 is close to release. I went to uninstall the Service Pack, and go figure, it works now. Then I just installed SP2 Final, and now I am grabbing the DX11 update as I'm typing this.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2009

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page