1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows Vista: The Facts

Discussion in 'General Software' started by sladesurfer, Jan 21, 2008.

  1. sladesurfer

    sladesurfer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    472 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    http://neowin.net/news/main/08/01/20/windows-vista-the-facts

  2. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    Finally! A member that doesn't attack Vista, and can PROVE it's a good OS! :toast:
  3. wolfblitz1979

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    15 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Yeah, had hardy no crashes on Vista compared to XP....great info!
  4. Rob!

    Rob! New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    157 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    East Taunton, MA, USA
    Maybe it's the wording (or my unfamiliarity with that website) but it sounds like an ad.
  5. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    I enjoy it tremendously. When connected to the internet, it went and updated during install.
    Plus all the re-skinned games are cool, found myself playing chess again :roll:

    All my hardware works (X-Fi was a sonofa). It only crashes when my OC isn't stable or it overheats.
    It plays games great.

    I have the option everytime I turn my PC on to go to vista or XP...the XP partition is using ~3gb because I've got nothing on it :p Not even '05 or '06 :wtf::roll:

    :toast:
  6. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    7 points why Vista is "good".. I can list about 1000 reasons why its not :rolleyes: I have to say the boot time point is invalid though, my XP system boots in about 20 seconds and thats not even on a clean install.
    phanbuey says thanks.
  7. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I can too :shadedshu I even tried the lower version, Basic and it was bad
  8. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    *shudders* I tried Vista ultimate (even tweaked the crap out of it and made a custom install disc that cuts out all the bloat) and it was still crap. Benchmarks were way down vs. XP too. I'll post a link tomorrow if I dont forget that goes into great detail about Vista, link is on my backup puter.
  9. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Most of my games didnt even work or crashed alot
  10. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    IMHO, it's better than XP, and it's faster. Starts up quicker too. Yeah, I can admit there are a few bugs with it. And some annoyances. But, XP was the same when it first came out. When SP1 comes out, alot of the bugs will be fixed, and it'll be [even] more stable.
  11. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    Ever tried downloading patches? Compatibility mode? They worked for BF2, and a few other games of mine.
  12. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Its not the boot time or bugs that made me unistall it its the game performance and constant crashing, some of my games just launched and crashed not even 2 seconds in everytime(like BF2 and FEAR)

    yes everything was patched
  13. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    SP1 is crap, I got my hands on a very late beta SP1 (almost final) and Vista still sucked.
    phanbuey says thanks.
  14. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    Funny. Patching, and using compatibility mode caused BF2 to run without a problem.

    Wait till it's released, it'll be better than the beta version.

    Oh, btw, you can't judge an OS by a beta release. I hated Vista when it was in beta, and I said it was the crappiest OS. Now that its been released, it's better than XP, and I'll NEVER go back to XP.
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2008
  15. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Still even if it did only a few of my games ran good. I got 20-34fps on WoW ffs :shadedshu
  16. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods

    Just like you put in bold beta SP1, I can do likewise and highlight the very following 2 words :p almost final I doubt a lot will change between the SP1 I have and the final.
  17. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    1.32GHz, that could be why. it's too slow for [let alone] Vista to run smooth. Also, having generic ValueRAM can bog down ur performance.
  18. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I have a AMD x2 4200+ right now, the thing in my specs says 1.32THZ its a joke I dont even have the E2200 yet :roll::roll:
  19. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    1.32GHz should be plenty eitherway, official recommended specs are something like 800MHz. ValueRAM also makes little difference, as long as theres 1GB or more Vista is supposed to run smooth, which of course, it wont.
  20. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    Actully, 800MHz is minimum. Your RAM makes a huge difference. ValueRAM = GENERIC, therefore, it'll cause your system to slow down. The last statement is funny. My system runs smooth with just 1GB.
  21. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    rofl. Theres nothing wrong with valueRAM. I have 1GB of Kingston DDR2 533MHz in another system and that stuff goes up to 800MHz with nothing more than a divider change and its performance is equally as good as my XP2-8000 or PDP 6400 kits at the same frequencies. THeres also a significant difference betwen a system running, and running smoothly. Even on a clean Vista install, with 2GB memory it was eating something like 40-50%. Only after I tweaked the shit out of vista did it come down to an acceptable level, which was something like 25%.
  22. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    i understand you all want to have a flame war over what os is better but unless your going to linux tomorrow you're sol. vista is the next os like all of the ms windows before it, it will cut support and cease to be an opperating system that you'll be here on the forums asking where in the abandonware sites you can find a driver that will get your old rig to run it. vista is the new os, why don't you all stop complaining about it and just get used to it. ms is not going to give dx10 to xp, nor readyboost, or support for anything as time goes on. most of the bugs windows has is fixed by users reporting it, but all you guys ever do is bash and and say "i'll wait until service pack 1 comes out" " or i'll wait till the bugs are gone" sounds like you're all f'king lazy. for a tech support forum you guys do a lot of bitching about what's inevitible instead of doing what this site was set up for which is fix computer problems and help the nubs like me get used to it. for those of you who complain about the benchmarks, run an xp install on a small partition and just bench with it, i bet it'll work just fine, even then people are gonna be scoffing at your "insane bench scores" in another year and saying, why don't you show me a high score in vista, then what.... nothing i thought so
    3991vhtes says thanks.
  23. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I dont care about DX10 and I've never had to call MS about suport for XP for 5 years.
    phanbuey says thanks.
  24. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    oh and on a smaller note eventually your going to be running sweet hardware on an outdated os, i thought most of us like to have sick fast rigs and mod them out and have "the latest and the greatest" i believe that includes os's as well... just my humble opinion
    3991vhtes says thanks.
  25. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    My system runs smooth with 1GB. No crashes, no hangs. Guess you can't get that thru ur head.

    I have more important things to do, than argue with some random dude who only wants to trash Vista.

    Now, if you'll excuse me, I have to write a 1 page paper on Latin words, and find 200 english words derived from latin. :(

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page