1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows Vista Ultimate x64 problem

Discussion in 'General Software' started by J-Man, Jun 28, 2007.

  1. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Ok so I have Windows Vista Ultimate x64 and it looked like it all installed but then before it actually gets onto Windows, I see the little underscore flashing then it should boot on but a black page comes up saying something about go to a previous version of Windows which will be XP Pro or Roll Back or some sort and at the bottom it says something about a diagnosis memory test which I don't need to look at. I don't get why it can't get on. Look at my specifications.
     
  2. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Boom? :p
     
  3. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,051 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    u broked your new toy ... ... ... (soz i cant be any help)
     
  4. von kain New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    782 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    athens/greece
    it is a pirated edition right?
     
  5. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Yes. Comments said it works fine though when I got it.
     
  6. GJSNeptune

    GJSNeptune New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,571 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Ohio
    ....
     
  7. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,117 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Its probably broken.


    READ: Piracy will not be helped here. ;)

    All TPU pirates are responsible for their own ships.

    xD

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2007
  8. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    [​IMG]

    TPU does not advocate piracy. Go to the local Best Buy, and buy yourself a legitimate version of Windows Vista Ultimate x64. If you're cheap, get the OEM copy off of TigerDirect.com or Newegg.com .

    Otherwise, you're screwed :).
     
  9. GJSNeptune

    GJSNeptune New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,571 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Ohio
    Just don't pirate. Especially an OS. Microsoft actually has the money and fervor to take action. ;)
     
  10. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Damnz. lol
     
  11. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Will buying the x32 or x64 be ok? Home Premium or Ultimate?

    Are x32 and x64 basically the same?
     
  12. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    I'd go with x32 Home Premium, as it will be the most compatible with...everything. It should cost you $240 at Best Buy, and $120 at Newegg/Tiger Direct.

    And when you do get Vista...don't forget to turn off U.A.C. (or else you'll be wishing you hadn't paid for Vista ;)).
     
  13. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,117 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    You'll need Business or greater to run it in a virtual machine (if thats your thing :p )
     
  14. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    The user controls?

    I don't mean to download it, just did though to test it but obviously don't work. I might buy Home Premium. Definitely not Basic.
     
  15. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,117 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    User access control.
     
  16. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
  17. GJSNeptune

    GJSNeptune New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,571 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Ohio
    Retail = Microsoft support, license not bound to hardware
    OEM = Cheaper with no Microsoft support, license bound to hardware
     
  18. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Speaking from experience? :roll:
     
  19. Ehstii New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    607 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    The Shore, New Jersey
    people lie.

    PM me?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page