1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows Vista upgrades confirmed for March

Discussion in 'News' started by Darksaber, Feb 26, 2007.

  1. Darksaber

    Darksaber W1zzard's Sidekick Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,651 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    819
    Location:
    Gmunden, Austria
    Many users have bought Windows XP based notebooks during the Christmas season and have applied for the Windows Vista upgrade. While the retail version has now been available for almost a month, those who took advantage of the upgrade offer will have to sit tight some more. Most upgrades should be shipped out in March. While some orders have been shipped already, most will receive the new Windows OS in that month. I for one do not mind sitting tight for a few more weeks.

    Source: TG Daily
     
  2. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Nor do I.

    I'll nab it eventually, because I tried it on a notebook, & an HP touchscreen PC (was neat), & surprisingly, I like it a lot.

    Funniest part is, I never once ran into a UAC "warning", which was cool... Everyone seems to be 'yelling' about it, but I did not hit it once.

    :)

    (& I messed about w/ it pretty well going thru most of the control panel & console commands as well (& I like the transparency effects ontop of the fact it does have some good stuff "under-the-skin" that you don't see, like Address Space Randomization)).

    I did the 3dText screensaver, just for SOMEKIND of test of 3d under it, & it appeared to run pretty quickly (quickly enough, considering these machines didn't have 'super high-end' graphics boards) as there were no games loaded on either machine I tried of 2 to try.

    APK

    P.S.=> For folks that wait, they MIGHT get a hotfix or two possibly as well being applied over those copies folks have received already, but who knows on that account... apk
     
  3. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Never ran into a UAC warning? Are you sure it was turned on?

    I've disabled UAC because it was poping up all over the place - all you could do was log in and load some applications before a warning, and even that sometimes seemed to want one! If you use an app that in any way interacts with Windows settings it pops up, if you install something it will popup a few times, if you load the control panel it pops up, if you click anything in the control panel it pops up... if you try to apply anything in the control panel it pops up!!! It drove me crazy, I do so much changing on my PC that I just got rid of it in the end.

    Hell, you even have to let task manager show all running programs using UAC!
     
  4. Scavar

    Scavar New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    573 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale, FL
    Personally I would say thats a good thing. By march I am sure some updates will be released. Driver support is already getting better. Waiting a little bit for a slightly better product that you are getting at a technically cheaper price, is a good deal in my book.

    It's a plus I think.
     
  5. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    well i just received and installed windows vista home premium today and i can say it seems quite stable so far, x1950pro graphics installed no problems, seems fast enough in general use and the flip 3d mode of aero is pretty cool (quite pointless tho as it takes less time to click on the task bar, but cool none the less)

    have only tried super pi mod 1.5 in regards to any benches and i did score 1sec less (28.5 secs) than i did in xp, that doesnt really bother me tbh, im in the middle of d'l 3dmark05 and plan to give that a go as soon as its done (1 thing that would of been nice is a download manager ext for ie, as its the same old download dialogue box, just add a pause/resume button MS cant be that hard) and then the ultimate test :p some games, probably cod2 and f.e.a.r to start.

    i havent actually had that much of a play around as of yet and plan to see if i can tweak it a bit to get my mem usage down some (currently sits at 60% when pc isnt in use) and speed it up, but to me it seems faster and more responsive than xp as of yet :D
     
  6. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Yea, lol, I'm sure... I didn't get to spend LOADS of time on either unit @ BEST BUY, but enough to get a GOOD feel of VISTA.

    Now, THAT? I did do... no UAC warning!

    :)

    * Perhaps the lads @ BEST BUY turned it off (UAC) on the machines I tested VISTA on? Only thing I can think of, because taskmgr.exe was one of the FIRST tools I took a peek @, to see if it had been improved in any way (because it is SUCH a valuable tool, imo @ least).

    APK
     
  7. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    apk do you have any tips from what youve learned playing with vista, such as what services are safe to disable, boot faster and use less ram ?
     
  8. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Jimmy2004 started such a thread, for VISTA specific stuff... & as far as saving RAM & such?

    Whatever you saved in RAM before, will probably tend to get thrown into VISTA's "SuperFetch" etc. because the 'trend' in today's OS design tends to operate a lot like UNIX folks feel it should (all extra RAM to the caching subsystems, working in conjunction w/ memmgt subsystems (very closesly here)).

    Do I agree w/ this? Yes, & No... for some apps? Caching can HARM their performance... & diskcaches, as good as they are & the sciences surrounding them for optimizing OR tuning them?? Will NEVER be 110% perfect or solid, for all apps & use-case scenarios.

    STILL, they're good to have around (especially imo, for delayed writes, IF power is secured via a UPS especially) for better performance generally.

    BUT, you do save CPU cycles, say, if you disable services you don't use, &/or excessive trayicon backgrounded applications, etc. et al.

    :)

    * If you take a peek @ the STICKY THREADS regarding VISTA in the "General Software Section", you'll see that folks there ARE noting just this very thing...

    APK

    P.S.=> Plus, many of the ideas/concepts, AND actual tweaks from 2000/XP/Server 2003 (especially the last one, it IS the foundation of VISTA @ its init. design core largely in many subsystems & code itself) will still work, so the "System Optimization" sticky thread concepts will work also... along w/ many other sticky threads there's concepts/ideas/tricks-tips-techniques... after all: It's STILL largely "Windows NT-based"... even w/ the new stuff in it! apk
     
  9. Scavar

    Scavar New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    573 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale, FL
    Im not apk, but you might want to check out this thread

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=24912
     
  10. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    To be fair to Vista, there is less to be gained from the tweaks that have been uncovered so far than was to be gained in XP, but there's still no point having something that you don't use enabled and using up even a couple of MB of RAM, it all adds up. Superfetching seems to work very nicely from when I've used Vista so far - at the moment I'm still mainly using XP though because I can't find a decent free firewall, and the built in one isn't too great... better than XP, but it still isn't nice to use.
     
  11. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Yes, & especially moreso, in terms of CPU cycles you save, turning off stuff you just plain do NOT use, or benefit from.

    The WHOLE IDEA behind 'tweaking/tuning' is VERY old, & imo, comes from genre like hotrodding cars: taking something you have, & making it ALL THAT MUCH BETTER, w/ out spending if you can avoid it.

    Good news that... I am sure they've done their homework @ MS on THAT front especially, since it is a new feature & all that!

    Here's one for your tweaks section in the VISTA thread Jim:

    Ever consider port filtering in the mean time?

    I mention it in a few threads here, & there is GOOD REASON I DO (for cases like this one especially, you w/ no firewall in place, or what you feel is a DECENT one).

    I.E. -> It works!

    (& is a 'basic firewall' of sorts AND, it works WITH software & hardware firewalls too, & works WELL (layered security in effect)).

    It's in the Tcp/IP properties ADVANCED section in 2000/XP/Server 2003!

    It allows you to access things just fine outside of your system, via ports you let in/out of it, as you see fit... & is often called "the poor man's firewall"!

    Simply because it DOES work as one (albeit primitive, & little control as compared to firewalls that allow on an application level, in/out access, for example).

    APK

    P.S.=> Take a peek @ your Network Connection in VISTA & see its Tcp/IP networking properties there...

    Largely depending if you are on a LAN @ home or work?

    WELL, you can turn off things like File & Print sharing (if you're not allowing others to use it, odds are your're not most likely especially if you have a standalone system not on a LAN/WAN) & also dispense w/ using the "Client for Microsoft Networks" as well, if the machine you use is a 'stand-alone' online... & not on a HOME lan for instance.

    BOTTOM-LINE/HOW TO DO IT, when & IF you do try it?

    Allow in what you feel ports wise on Tcp part (I let in 80/8080 & that's it, sometimes 443) & on the UDP part I usually do ALLOW ALL, but @ times not... & on the IP section, use 16 & 7 (one is the UDP & the other is the TCP portion of Tcp/IP)... apk
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2007
  12. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    wow, and how long after this was promised did they deliver?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page