1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows Vista32 bit or 64!!!

Discussion in 'General Software' started by shk021051, Apr 29, 2009.

  1. shk021051

    shk021051

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    249 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Wasteland
    I have question
    what windows is good for my hardware
    Windows Vista32 bit or 64???
     
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I have Vista64 on a much weaker rig than yours on my friends rig, he's got a 3800+ and a HD3450 and it runs really good. Definitely grab 64bit.
     
  3. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Either, you only benefit from going 64-bit with 4GB of RAM or more.

    But I have put x64 on my laptop cus I plan on going 4gb soon, that and it means I only need to keep one set of drivers for printers, etc.
     
  4. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    Go for broke and get 64 bit
     
  5. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    Get 64 bit incase you get another 2 GB of RAM (which is dirt cheap now anyway)
     
  6. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    If you go 64bit then you wont need to reformat if you go over 4gb again. Save's you time and there is pretty much no difference.
     
  7. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Yeah, go 64. Its a reasonable option. 64 is also the same price as the 32 variant, so why not get 64 straight ahead.
     
  8. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,225 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    since you decided to go with vista, I think 64 is the way to follow!

    I have found vista 64 to have better and faster responce to applications and games.
    plus the benefit of using more than 3 gb ram...
     
  9. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Definitly go 64 bit even on my lappy it runs great and thats with 2 gig of ram.
     
  10. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,819 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Location:
    South Carolina
    64 Bit FTW!!
     
  11. richjordan255

    richjordan255 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    378 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    its not just the performance on 32 bit ultimate i had loads of errors and blue screens, but since going to 64 bit they stopped completely no word of a lie, plus its quicker :p
     
  12. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    why not wait for windows 7 x64?
     
  13. HeadlessChicken New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    62 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    untrue, an example of something that can gain drastickly from being compiled in native64 bit is Lame, when compiled in 64bit its around 25% faster then 32bit compile of the same code!!!
     
  14. D4S4

    D4S4

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    697 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    I'm runnning Vista 64 but i regret not sticking to XP 64 and waiting for 7...
     
  15. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I meant 99.9% of the time you get no benefit.

    My point was that, if they are already on Vista 32-bit there is no point changing to 64-bit just for the sake of it, as they would have to go through all the hassle of reinstall with no gain in most tasks
     
  16. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    PRO:
    4+ GB ram
    Greater protection vs viruses and malware

    CONS:
    Compatibility
    no real speed increase

    But short answer? don't do it, wait for 7.
     
  17. richjordan255

    richjordan255 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    378 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    see i disagree with the compatability statement, i had a ridiculous number of driver issues with 32 bit, but almost none with 64 bit
     
    HeadlessChicken says thanks.
  18. HeadlessChicken New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    62 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Win7 has lost my intrest, the locking in of MS only codecs in WMP/WMC for known formats(like avi), the removal or QuickLaunch(u can hack it back in) and classic start menu(you cant hack it back in because the code for its been removed) as well as other services/programs/bloat you CANT dissable......no thanks, i will stick with an OS i know i can Tweak the living crap out of to suit MY NEEDS.

    if you have vista32, just get hold of a 64bit install disk and your current key WILL WORK.

    http://www.mydigitallife.info/2009/...streamedintegrated-dvd-iso-image-bt-download/
    Leeked RTM updated vista sp2 images(no keys so this isnt illegal) just grab your updated disk image and have at it :)
     
  19. shk021051

    shk021051

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    249 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Wasteland
    i have 2GB ram
    is this good for 64bit
     
  20. HeadlessChicken New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    62 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    its fine, and with 64bit your ready for as much more ram as you wana toss into the system(unlike 32bit, where ur limmited to 3gb.)
     
  21. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    No probs at all with 2 gig mine runs with 2 gig and runs beautifully.
     
  22. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,873 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,503
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    I'd say skip Vista completely and go straight to Windows 7 64-bit. It's much more refined than Vista and has better performance, too.

    Windows 7 RC will be officially released as a free download on May 5th, so just hang on a few more days for it.
     
  23. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Windows 7 is no where near as good as Vista is right now. I tried the 7100 build and Vista was faster, more compatible and played better with almost everything.
     
    HeadlessChicken and Darknova say thanks.
  24. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Thank you. 7 is still BETA, performance-wise is on level with Vista SP2, and the amount of shit in the GUI you can't disable has put me right off Win 7.

    Vista x64 is your best option, don't even consider 32-bit.
     
    HeadlessChicken says thanks.
  25. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,873 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,503
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    I'm really curious about this. Could you please give me a couple of examples?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page