1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows wont boot; stuck at chk disk

Discussion in 'General Software' started by newguy24, Sep 8, 2011.

  1. newguy24 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    382 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan
    I ran a chk disk the morning, its ran through and rebooted was going normal shown windows splash screen then right back too chk disk again i press any key to skip chk disk and it then reboots....same process...tried F8 doesn't boot, tried last known config doesn't boot,unfortunately i don't have a cd to boot from. I really don't know what to do and need information from this drive. currently I'm running a start-up repair. If this doesn't work what ells could i try?? it shows the windows splash screen then goes right to a chk disk i have ran it twice already. why wont it just boot:banghead:

    I have windows 7 ultimate.

    thanks
     
  2. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    I'm assuming by F8 you mean Safe Mode?
    If not, try Safe Mode and then select system restore.

    Or if you have access to a live boot cd, you could try to run that and try to access your files
     
  3. newguy24 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    382 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan
    yes tried safe mode. no cd access
     
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,110 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,172
    Use F8 and select the option to automatically reboot on failure, see if you are getting a bsod during boot.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  5. newguy24 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    382 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan
    ok ill try that....i have a portable flobby or flash drive.....can i put a boot.ini file on it for windows 7 ultimate 64bit and replace the one on my system???

    any help be great!!
     
  6. newguy24 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    382 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan
    i did this and it gave me a blue screen (great!)

    system problem has been detected windows has shut down to prevent damage

    BAD_SYSTEM_CONFIG_INFO


    whats this about?? anyway to fix?
     
  7. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    The easiest way to fix it is to use a Win 7 disc, which you do not have.
    I'll wait for another response with a possible work around.
     
  8. Jack Doph

    Jack Doph

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
  9. newguy24 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    382 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan
    i have a windows disk but says it the wrong kind(of windows 7, i have ultimate cd says ultimate...WEIRD)....eer idk what to do been spending all day wont even let me reinstall just windows

    if i installed a fresh copy of windows onto another hard drive and used that how can i fix my old hard drive?????
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2011
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,732 (9.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,199
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    just use hirens boot disc to recover data?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. newguy24 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    382 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan
    i have heard of this what is it? how does it work?:confused:
     
  12. newguy24 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    382 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan
    if i installed a fresh copy of windows onto another hard drive and used that how can i fix my old hard drive?????could i just replace the boot.ini on old drive??
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page