1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

windows xp booting prob. really need help

Discussion in 'General Software' started by oinkypig, Jan 13, 2006.

  1. oinkypig

    oinkypig

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    262 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    ok i have anew rig i mad
    amd 3800 x2 dual core
    ati x1800 xt 512mb
    asus A8r-mvp mobo
    seagate 300 gb barracuda
    so i installed windows xp service pack 1(came with old dell) and everything got installed. so now when i reboot windows xp will not load at all. what i get is

    copyrights materials
    broadcom.exe

    broadcome.exe- failed to load media files

    exitting boradcome

    ntldr missing
    ctr-alt-del to restart
    wtf is ntldr? ive tried switching boot setups, trying to reinstall windows xp but always freezes at screen where it asks you to puch enter to start xp or click r to repair screen. i did get windows xp to load once but after i rebooted it did nothing. excpet for what i already told you. i need some help. ive been waiting since dec 24 to get my computer up and running like normal. replies appreciated!
  2. nyioo7@hotmail.com New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    55 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ntldr usually has to do with boot disk missing or boot.ini file got screw up. but i don't know about frozing up at the setup repair screen. it could happen if u did not set up ur hardware proparly. such as heat sink on processor is not set properly so tht it over heat and froze. or some other things like tht. sorry i can't help u much.
  3. oinkypig

    oinkypig

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    262 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    its not the heat of the cpu freezong the screen. the temp for the cpu is around 90 - 104 degrees farenheit. but how could i fix this?
  4. nyioo7@hotmail.com New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    55 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    does urs goes over 113 F? than computer become unstable. check ur temp in bios and test the temp of the heat sink by touching it. if it is too hot than u have a problem. it might be fans. if it's not tht hot, well tht's other thing
  5. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    It may be that the "dell" version of windows will only work on dell computers. I had an "Acer" copy of windows 98 that would only work on my acer computer. Maybe it's the same problem?
  6. oinkypig

    oinkypig

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    262 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    no the temp doesnt go over 113 farenheit but i the thing is the cd said use only for dell computer BUT i got windows xp to work once and then when i rebooted i coudnt get to it
  7. nyioo7@hotmail.com New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    55 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    it'll work with ur computer for only limited time and lock up. but not like this. my first windows xp came from my brother's dell laptop. i could only use for 30 days and ask me to activate. so. try reformating ur hard drive. if possible, write zero to it. it'll take some time. but it'll be all fresh. than try to reinstall it again. it's possible tht ur hard drive has an error and it's not remove from sector yet. by writing zero or low level formatting it, it'll remove it.
  8. oinkypig

    oinkypig

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    262 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    writing it to zero? how exactly do you do that?
  9. nyioo7@hotmail.com New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    55 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    as i said it's a low level formatting. but maxtor call it writing zero. it takes pretty long time depend on size of hard drive
  10. oinkypig

    oinkypig

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    262 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    hey got it working and oh when they said to activate it you need the activation code. i had to call microsoft and tel the my old code form my dell and they gave me a new one to activate it with
  11. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio

    Ntlrd is something between the bios and actual windows loading... this error i have found commonly occurs from overclocks, or a pooched windows install.. if you cannot resolve it using general methods, try a repair install from the windows xp cd at a prompt trying like chkdsk /r or fixmbr and it may help.. :)
  12. nyioo7@hotmail.com New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    55 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    tht's cool tht u got it working. how did u solve it?
  13. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,065 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,501
    Location:
    Florida
    cool how did u fix it?
  14. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    Your Cpu Temp never goes over 113~F? Even when it is under maximum load? :confused:
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2006
  15. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    I suppose that was informative.....
  16. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    Please refrain from argunig things without reasoning. Although I may be an AMD fan, useless crap like this just fills forums with junk and lowers the overall forum quality.
  17. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,065 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,501
    Location:
    Florida
    mine doesnt either thermo 113*F max
  18. nyioo7@hotmail.com New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    55 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    nobody actually asked u to read it. anyway hey oinkypink how did u fix it? please share.
  19. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    No, but being staff and trying to help moderate this forum is one reason I posted that.

    ;)
  20. nyioo7@hotmail.com New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    55 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    there satisfied? :D
  21. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    So, I was playing world of warcraft suddenly the screen goes all garbled (artifacts) groaning I hard boot my computer because I can't see anything. Everything is normal, I reach the windows boot screen and the little blue bar crawls across the screen....... and keeps crawling. The computer never fully boots to windows. Any Ideas? Don't say "switch to linux" I'm using my live CD as I type this.
  22. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    Nevermind it magically started wroking again.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page