1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows XP or XPx64 using more than 2 CPU's???

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Sasqui, May 9, 2007.

  1. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    So... according to MS, this is the lowdown on #CPUs supported by OS:

    Operating system Number of processors Physical RAM
    Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Standard Edition 4 4 gigabytes (GB)
    Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Standard x64 Edition 4 32 GB
    Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Enterprise Edition 8 64 GB
    Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Enterprise x64 Edition 8 1 terabyte
    Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Datacenter Edition 32 128 GB
    Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Datacenter x64 Edition 64 1 terabyte
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional 2 4 GB
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional x64 Edition 2 128 GB

    Question regarding XP and XPx64... are there any other flavors or upgrades of XP that will use more than 2 physical processors? Yes, I know going to Server 2003 is one answer.

    I assume this means having a quad core and XP will do you not a shit bit of good...?
  2. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,302 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    i think microsoft differentiate between cores and physical cpu's, so you could use 2 quad cores with xp
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Yeah Grings is right. Microsoft basically goes by the number of cpu sockets. XP Pro will support systems with 2 cpu sockets filled, the number of cores doesn't matter. If they existed, you could run 2 1,000 core cpus on XP Pro.
  4. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    It looks that way. I got this from a Microsoft “fact sheet”:

    " Multiprocessing and multicore support. The platform is designed to support up to two single-core or multicore x64 processors for maximum performance and scalability with no additional licensing cost to customers. "

    Now… the way I read that, if you have two quad core processors, it will indeed use all eight physical cores. There isn’t much more detail that I could find other than that statement. If anyone has any concrete links, please do share.
  5. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Support isn't a problem, it is licensing. And Microsoft indeed counts on a per socket basis. The discussion started way back with HTT.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page