1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Winter is coming, time to overclock your computer.

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by D1RTYD1Z619, Oct 17, 2012.

  1. D1RTYD1Z619

    D1RTYD1Z619

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    31 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Every Winter I always overclock my Pc because it runs cooler and the extra heat it produces keeps my living room nice and warm. Anyone else do this?
     
  2. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,470 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,516
    I used to, but now I use winter to do WCG 24/7 as the temps are much cooler :D
     
    dude12564 and Sadasius say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,055
    I bring my OC higher in the winter and I run WCG 24/7/365
     
    nt300, Sadasius, Binge and 1 other person say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    My house is set for 70 year round, air con kicks in if it goes above that, and heater on if goes below that so the seasons are irrelevant to me.
     
  5. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,470 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,516
    having an i5 2400, I dont bother with the limited o/c'ing. It games well and crunches just fine :D However my GFX is overclocked 24/7/365 and HCC ati units appreciate it as well :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,827 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Yes I will be OCing my Q6600 as it gets hot and usually start back up with WCG.
     
  7. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,055
    Oh, I definently know about the HCC ati units(got my first peice of pie the other day), and my 7970 is OC'ed to 1100mhz on the core and 1400mhz memory.
     
    Norton and AlienIsGOD say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Nope I do however dabble in tossing the PC outside to hit a couple of higher benchmarks now and then.

    [​IMG]

    24/7 clocks on mine.
     
  9. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,936 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,538
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    same clocks all year for me. I also run WCG 24/7/365
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,621 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,143
    I have an anual ritual where I open the windows in the room and spend a night with beers on the window sill all bundled up. Got some new kit on its way, and I will likely repeat again this year with it. Nothing like -5*F ambients!
     
    ThE_MaD_ShOt, erixx and AlienIsGOD say thanks.
  11. Slizzo

    Slizzo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    379 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Just run 4.5GHz all the time. Haven't tried pushing it further than that as I don't see a need for my PC currently.
     
  12. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,470 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,516
    ^ This. i plan to o/c the A10 5800K once I get the system built :p Just for shitz and giggles i want to see how high i can go with the lowest temps possible. It gets up to -30c here in Ontario, Canada :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. punisher186

    punisher186

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    97 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Indiana
    I opened my window last winter and got my Phenom 955 down to 19C on the stock heat sink. TMPIN0 and TMPIN1 got down to 17C. Hopefully in the coming months I can beat my record.

    [​IMG]

    Don't mind the Chrome logo.
     
  14. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,832 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,486
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    That sounds like the geekiest reason ever to overclock. :cool:
     
  15. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.
    i did that this passed winter, although winters in socal really arent winters -_-, so now that i have a good pc to oc, I REAALLY hope we have cold days this year.
     
  16. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,118 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,943
    Winter in south Florida is nothing to be overly excited about, save a few cold days when a cold blast comes down. Air is always on as its too hot without it, so my temps don't change all that much. But if a nice cold front comes, I'll open my windows since my PC is close to one and see if it can do me good :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    I used to do it and did have some perks but not anymore
     
  18. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,929 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,204
    I'm kind of sad, I never got to spend a winter with my 955 and see what it could do in the below freezing area. Oh well, let's see what intel can do! :3
     
  19. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    584
    before I got my window A/C unit I used to overclock in winter... well i still do but only now it stays overclocked even in summer. Before I had A/C i was even limited to what days I could game at stock clocks. During the winter i'd o/c... if I wanted to get real crazy i'd throw in the window fan and turn it on low/med.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  20. tacosRcool

    tacosRcool

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    860 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Yep. Definitely overclock my pc in the winter. Nice and toasty!
     
  21. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Damn, wish I had the seasonal temps to do that. If I did that in the summer, I'd have a broken a/c and $300+ electric bills.

    To the OP, YEP. "Winter" in Tucson isn't exactly, Winter though. But, there are some cold nights. I usually crack open the window and put the tech station nearby. 18-20c ambient's make for some nice overclocking results. I'll be playing with 5ghz on the 3570k once it gets colder here. Right now, I've been running 4.8GHz and its been solid since day 1. :rockout:
     
  22. SoF

    SoF New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    c:\windows
    Sure winter is the best time of the year - I miss my balcony but still have a room I can freeze down to get the last out of the compressor or GPU :D

    [​IMG]
     
    nt300, Aquinus and Capitan Harlock say thanks.
  23. Capitan Harlock

    Capitan Harlock

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    481 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Arcadia
    but systems specs? 50c is good but what cpu?
     
  24. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,468 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    That's -50*C unless I'm reading it wrong. 50*C is extremely high for phase change and could be an indication of a problem. Phase change should be keeping it under 0*C or at least under room temp, but that either means that you're running the compressor at lower power or there is a problem. :slap:
    That's also very good for phase change if it is -50. You would be hard pressed to get it lower than that without paying out the nose for the hardware and refrigerant to do it.
    [​IMG]

    I suspect that is the temperature right after the compressor or is that at the CPU?
     

    Attached Files:

    • neg.PNG
      neg.PNG
      File size:
      107.3 KB
      Views:
      255
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2012
    Capitan Harlock says thanks.
  25. SoF

    SoF New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    c:\windows
    That picture is a bit older. Must be one of the first 2600K together with 480 GTX or something like that.
    What you see there is evap temp - directly from the copper that cools the CPU.

    Usually you have 20K higher temp on the CPU in idle - so something around -30°C idle and -25°C load.

    Here is some real frost :D

    [​IMG]
     
    nt300, Aquinus and Capitan Harlock say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page