1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Wireless N help please - Ralink adaptor problems

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Mussels, May 23, 2011.

  1. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,264 (10.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,431
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    This is a long story, so read it all before you jump in offering help. no need to cover unrelated/already tested ideas.



    I have a TP link wireless N router - TL-WR941ND V2


    i have four wireless N adaptors - two are 150Mb, two are (supposed to be) 300Mb in both directions.


    The problem is that the 300Mb adaptors are being total dickbags. they run on the Ralink RT2870 chipset.

    List of problems:

    1. No matter what driver i use, they seem to report the upload speed in windows as the connected speed. From the router i can see differently - for example, this.

    [​IMG]

    2. (ties in with 1.) No matter what i do, i cant seem to get a 300Mb upload speed which was why i bought these damn things in the first place. i can get 250-300Mb down, which is fine, but max of 150Mb upload is worthless... i might as well have stayed with my two 150Mb only adaptors if thats all i was going to get.


    3. As soon as i install the ralink software (not just 'driver only') all wireless networking breaks on my machine, even for a realtek wifi adaptor. it seems to screw up windows built in wifi system, which it uses for its core features - so i cant disable the windows service and just run this, fyi.

    This means that if the software had whatever cure i need for 300Mb, i cant use it :(


    microsoft and ralink drivers changed nothing, i already tested a third party 300Mb adaptor and it worked fine, already flashed the router to DD-WRT - no change, the problem lies with the adaptors or their drivers.

    Anyone got any ideas how to fix this?
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2011
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,023 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    911
    Location:
    Ohio
    Call place of purchase and/or manufacturer and complain. Other than that, I can't really think of anything. I know from your posts on GN that you've already tried with it basically right next to the router so it can't be distance or obstacles or interference (I know you already tried changing channels) etc.

    edit: Do you have another machine you can try with to see if the software will work?
     
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,264 (10.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,431
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    i've tested on two win 7 x64 machines, software breaks on both of them.



    place of purchase is not really an option, as they were imported from overseas.


    and yeah i've tried changing channels and just about everything on the router - the fact i get a 300Mb downlink speed means everythings fine on that end, its just getting the 300Mb up thats murdering me
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,264 (10.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,431
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    oh son of a bitch, they just released updated drivers 2-3 days ago that i hadnt noticed. will test them now (previous updates were over a year old, windows update driver was from 2009)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,023 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    911
    Location:
    Ohio
    Let us know how it goes
     
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,264 (10.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,431
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    its amazing how slow 30KB/s is when you want something to download faster... *facepalm*
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,836 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    574
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    In DD-WRT, channel width has to be set to 40Mhz to get full N 300 which you probably already know.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,264 (10.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,431
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    yup, it showed as 150/65Mb when set to 20, so i caught onto that early.


    i get 300/150 now (or near enough to it) but i need 300/300 - any ideas while i wait on these drivers to download would be appreciated.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,023 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    911
    Location:
    Ohio
    Not sure if it'll make much difference, but have you tried without encryption? I know that can affect speed a little bit sometimes, but probably not that much lol. Worth a try though.
     
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,264 (10.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,431
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    yes.

    TKIP locks it to 54MB, AES and off allow me to get the speeds i've gotten so far (300/150 max)

    so i went for WPA2 w/ AES, being secure and giving the high speed.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,023 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    911
    Location:
    Ohio
    Which drivers are you downloading right now? I see a driver on Ralink's site from 5/10/2011 (m/d/y). It's version 3.2.1.0
     
  12. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,836 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    574
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    From Ralink's product brief on the rt 2800 series.
    "Ralink feature-rich chipsets embody 2 transmitter 3 receiver (2T3R) architecture "

    Im taking a shot in the dark but maybe that has something to do with it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,023 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    911
    Location:
    Ohio
    I think that's just talking about MIMO
     
  14. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,836 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    574
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    Unfortuantely no,
    Looking at this diagram i really think that might be why, 3 antennas are available to receive only 2 have transmit capability.

    What was the model of the N adapter that worked at full speed so we can compare
    [​IMG]

    this is why i hate wireless speed ratings are a crap-shoot
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,023 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    911
    Location:
    Ohio
    I probably don't know how to interpret that diagram right, but that looks like MIMO to me.
     
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,264 (10.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,431
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,836 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    574
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,264 (10.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,431
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    nothing on the adapter side, there is on the router side. its set to 2t3r atm, i can try 2t2r
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,836 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    574
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    any luck ?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,264 (10.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,431
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    after more research and finding others with these adaptors, they're just falsely advertised shit.


    they only do 300/150, have poor range/power, and suck at everything except packet injection for cracking WEP security.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,084 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,903
    you will NEVER get 300mbps transfer rates on wireless. 300mbps is theoretical. what is more, 300mbps is on the physical layer, the mac layer reduces that speed to about 150mbps. what is even more, your wireless n router is shared bandwidth like other routers. so in reality with all the overhead and real world speeds you are sharing 100mbps with 4 adaptors. if you transfer files inside the lan you should get between 10-15MBPS (not mbps) if you are within 20 feet of the access point. even if it says it is connected at 300mbps you will never hit that, that is simply the driver telling your operating system its OFDMA connection rate.

    better drivers will help in the long run but if you speeds are slower than 10-15 MBPS (100mbps) i would say you either have a lot of noise or the adaptors/router is crap. hard to tell really.
     
  22. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,625 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    526
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    how much for them? lol
     
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,264 (10.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,431
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    you havent read the thread, the problem is that the adaptors simply dont support 300MB upload/TX, despite the box saying it does.

    You certainly can get 300Mb connections, as i've managed a stable 300/150 connection here with no problems - its the upload i cant get working on these adaptors. downloading from another device connected to the router at 100Mb ethernet lets me get a happy 12.5MB/s steady... but i wanted more than that, which means i need 300Mb upload rates.


    sly: it cost me $75 shipped for the two of them. if you want to make me an offer, do so via PM.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,084 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,903
    yes, some wireless n routers/adaptors will do 600mbps on the PHY so 300mbps on the MAC. if you are getting 300 mbps transfers i would say you are literally getting better than 99% of other wireless n users. you should be happy! if your upload is only 150mbps it could be misreporting the OFDMA rules to your OS causing the slowdown. have you checked for new firmware for your router?
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)