1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Wireless networking

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Snake05, Nov 30, 2006.

  1. Snake05

    Snake05 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    531 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    I currently have a wireless router set up at home. The main living area is all the way across the house, and recieves a rather weak signal. I am wanting to set up a wireless access point in this room. Will any wireless router work, and if so, how would I go about programming this? If this is not possible, please let me know what I can do. Thanks!
     
  2. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    The easiest thing to do would be to relocate the wireless router to the center of the house. This would give you the best coverage overall. Other than that you can get 'High Gain' antennas for your wiresless cards to improve reception. I don't think you can link wireless router to wireless router, and why, it would probably be a realy slow connection.
     
  3. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,330 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    976
    You can link wireless router to "network bridge" like the Netgear WG302 and WAG302. Excellent products, but quite expensive. Can find them on ebay.

    Also consider changing your "free" router with a FWG114P or FVG318 both of which have nice "prosumer" features, incl. VPN, firewall, logging, remote access. etc.
     
  4. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,809 (4.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,624
    get a network bridge if you cant relocate it to the middle of the house. you could always build your own if you have a bunch of old spare parts laying around.
     
  5. p-jack New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    334 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Arheilgen
    yea, a bridge/repeater would be the easiest way... it kind of "forwards" the wireless network created by your router. building your own is also possible of course...
     
  6. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,809 (4.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,624
    yea its a fun little project if you have time and spare parts. cause the parts can be complete crap and it will still run well! my old 233mhz cpu runs like a peach! 2 wireless nics with 1 ethernet and all things set in freebsd = good stuff!
     
  7. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,977 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,670
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    What model router? There are all sort of hack available for certain routers to boost the signal... the WRT54G has perhaps the most off-market support going, but you need to have certain revs of the unit.
     
  8. Kr4nG New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    92 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    if you had a long copper wire and attach it to the wireless antenna. will it be like a huge antenna. im saying will the anntenna work like a long copper wire?
     
  9. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,812 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    or you could get a wireless range extender (netgear and linksys and others have them). That might be an option. Surprised no one else mentioned it, or rather Im extremely tired and didnt notice it.
     
  10. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,330 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    976
    If you want to do a little home project work, then rather than buy/build a bridge or repeater, you could always install a wired network in the house. It's actually more work than you imagine, but once done, very satisfying.

    Its much faster. And much more secure. And if you are gaming... keeps the lag down.
     
  11. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Running network wires is not all that hard if you have the right tools and background. I do this almost everyday 6 days a week. There are also other ways to solve the problem, but its all very time consuming to type. I can also teach you how to optimize your Dsl connection and increase your connection speed(unless it's allready maxed out). It helps if you have some wiring expierence or mechanical aptitude. You can contact me on Skype almost anytime I'm logged onto TPU.
     
  12. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtXâ„¢

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,297 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,747
    i would trust namslas he is the smartest person i know with networking
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page