1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

wiring home security cameras

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Decaf, May 12, 2013.

  1. Decaf New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    new york
    Hi all, this is my first post, still new to this forum, anyways straight to the point i recently bought 4 security cameras off Craigslist in hopes of setting them up around my house, now before i go any further my goals are not to hook them up to a DVR system right away, at the time being i just want them so i can monitor my front/back door, and driveway from my room. i originally thought wiring these would be simple but it has proved to be a bit more then i can handle

    [​IMG]

    the big guy has 4 wires, red, green, clear, and uncoated
    the gold guy has 4 wires, red, black, yellow, white
    the smaller one, under the big guy has 4 wire, red, black, yellow, and uncoated
    and the last guy on the right has 3 wires, yellow, red, and uncoated.

    any help getting these guys wired up would be very grateful .
     
  2. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,062 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,342
    Location:
    Rochester area
    uhhh
    need model numbers at the very least else nobody here is gonna beable to help you
     
  3. bencrutz

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    176 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    red red -> (+) power
    not sure for the rest

    red -> (+) power
    black -> ground, usually for power
    yellow -> video
    white -> ground, probably for video


    red -> (+) power
    black -> ground, usually for power
    yellow -> video
    uncoated -> ground, probably for video

    red -> (+) power
    yellow -> video
    uncoated -> ground (for power+video)

    ---
    you need to do some testing, those are based on my very limited experience - not guaranteed to be correct ;)
     
  4. rockit00

    rockit00

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    224 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Easy way would be to use 9-12 volt ac/dc adapter for each camera. Red=positive, Black=negative. Then use the red, white, and yellow AV input to your TV set. You may have to cut the jacks from the AC adapters and RCA cables to splice into your camera wires. Test the yellow white and red AV inputs on your TV for video and audio. You should be able to monitor AV1 and AV2 , depending on your TV set.
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2013
  5. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,062 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,342
    Location:
    Rochester area
    uh no lets not make assumptions
     
  6. rockit00

    rockit00

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    224 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    So Right, more details necessary. Just a general idea of how 12v DC CCTV cams can be set up without a DVR.
     
  7. Decaf New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    new york
    thank you everyone for your replies, so im not planning on setting them up to a dvr just yet, at the time being id like to just use them to a monitor, i.e CCTV.
    below are the model numbers and other info listed on each camera

    USAG- model: US-BC-103 (varifocal DC lens)
    power- dc12v NTSC
    Ser No- M0603450

    DSP- CM25WNVB-SH20/3.6
    Power- DC12v 350mA

    Unknown- Model- 627b
    tv Type- NTSC
    serial number- 758280600621

    Digimerge- Model number- DCBHR1032b
    Power- dc12v/ac 24v 200mA
     
  8. Decaf New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    new york
    so ive pretty much figured out how to wire everything, now anyone have any suggestions on what to use as a power supply? ive looked at RG59 Coaxial CCTV-Cam Cable, but thats a bit pricey. i think for my budget setup im going to setup power close to the camera and just run the video camera to my room. so i know i cant just wire them to a plug and stick it into a wall, so what should i be looking for? they are all dc 12v, does the mA difference matter? any particular adapters i should be looking for or can i just hack an old 12v dc plug and use that?
     
  9. 1freedude

    1freedude

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    557 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Milliamps must be same or greater
     
  10. Decaf New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    new york
    so if i wer to find a plug that converts to 12v dc with a 500 mA that would work for both the camera with the 350mA and 200mA?
     
  11. 1freedude

    1freedude

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    557 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Would stress it a bit methinks. An old external hard drive brick is usually good for a couple amps.
     
  12. Decaf New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    new york

    okay so the closer i can get to the mA's the better, over is okay but under wont work. makes sense.
     
  13. Decaf New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    new york
    update

    UPDATE- got one camera up and running, thanks for everyones help, think i got the hang of it, going to start installing the other three in the next couple days
     
  14. Morkel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    If you have a model than try to see some review on that camera security system.Hope you get some help there.That how exactly you install that cameras.And also you can find many pictures there that how you can connect and create a network with that cameras.
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2014

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page