1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Wish list for TPU VGA reviews

Discussion in 'Comments & Feedback' started by W1zzard, Apr 19, 2011.

  1. bbmarley

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    489 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    ye 2 would bench systems would be nice
    A cpu from each side intel/amd
     
  2. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,309 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,473
    still a long time till november
     
  3. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,309 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,473
    only if amd sends me a system and a slave who will run it
     
    Namslas90 says thanks.
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,213 (4.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,494
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    :laugh:

    HA! Send me the cards, I'll buy AMD rigs.


    :laugh:


    Um, wait. Slave? NO THANKS.
     
  5. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,449 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    You have thousands of slaves who will run it for you W1zz all your TPU minions :laugh:

    [​IMG]
     
  6. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,612 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    i dont understand the need for more then 1 type of CPU?????

    this is GPU comparrison.... i very much doubt there will be a difference between running an i7 vs 1090t.... vs some low end yobbo cpu...



    yes the FPS will be lower/higher... but you will have the same order of performance in the lists?????


    i dont understand how it would help at all.
     
  7. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,547 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    this is a big one for me, I love seeing current cards compared against great cards but from older generations for our comparison purposes.

    for example, where possible if 3870, 4870, 5870, 8800/9800GTX, GTX280, GTX480 results can be included i would be STOKED. SLi/CF numbers would be good too, but for most people just comparing against lower cards in the current (perhaps 1 generation previous) gen isnt a good indication of performance to expect given the cards we come from.

    and on another serious note, I love the suite of games you bench now, and you update that every so often thats awesome too, but what I really, REALLY want to see now is another game, or even games used to test the gains from overclocking in that section of your reviews. I fell MW2 used to be great at indicating GPU power but its a bit lacking nowadays. perhaps something like DIRT2, Unigine heaven, Crysis2, Bulletstorm... well you get the picture something newer that really loves GPU power.

    thanks for considering my suggestions :)
     
    Wyverex and mcloughj say thanks.
  8. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,309 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,473
    i'm using cod 4 because it works well to show gpu instability, doesn't run for ages, is automated easily, runs fair for both ati and nvidia.

    i could probably use crysis 2 but i hear if favours nvidia cards.

    bulletstorm has no benchmark unfortunately

    dirt 2 is getting kinda old already and f1 2010 runs too long
     
    wolf says thanks.
  9. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,547 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    thanks for the consideration man :) more what I mean is give it some thought (finding something new to test OC gains), it is you after all benching and rebenching like a madman, if you find something that you think is fair for both camps, and is easily automated/doesnt run too long, go for it :)

    cheers again :toast:
     
  10. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,568 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    958
    I'm guessing over time ati will perform as well in crysis 2. As I recall crysis 1 favored nvidia but ati has totally reversed that with driver optimizations. It doesn't surprise me crysis 2 is power hungry. It actually fully uses a quad core, crysis 1 didn't care. Even setting off a nuke I never saw cpu usage go over 30% in the first game.
     
  11. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,187 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    382
    Sounds good. Keep it up
     
  12. shellofinsanity New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Toledo, OH
    a change in resolutions would be nice.

    1366x768 and 1600x900, instead of 1024x768 and 1280x1024. As these widescreen formats have overtaken the market over the older resolutions and most low end systems sold and LCDs are of these resolutions.

    Also something ive wanted to see for a long time to see older cards 8800GTS 640 or 8800GTX or similar included, as I know plenty of folks who still run these cards as it still does wonders in most games, and they have no idea where it stacks up currently, also would be nice to see just so we can justify our own wallets
     
  13. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    this totally agree, there are far more wide screen monitor although I hate it,

    and please please:respect: wizz benchmark multi monitor config for dual GPU card like HD 6990 and GTX 590, or SLI/CFX setup
     
  14. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,629 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,957
    The Shogun 2 benchmark is a very good idea, yes. According to thread linked, it's bringing pretty powerful systems down on their knees in dx11.

    Oh and while you're at it, perhaps get a 2560x1440? :D jk (I compare using your 2560x1600 just fine)
     
  15. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Whats the chance of an insane resolution? Something like 3 or 6x the 2560x1600 you currently have, so 7680x1600 or 7680x3200.
     
  16. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,970 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    605
    Location:
    UK
    who would need that?
     
  17. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,501 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,108
    Location:
    Kansas City
    I remember hearing of StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty being added to the review list. :)

    I'd love to see this addition as well as the optional settings(aka the latest Ultra setting) instead of AA or AF.
     
  18. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,309 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,473
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/HIS/HD_6790_IceQ_X_Turbo/20.html

    i wrote my own benchmark for shogun 2. next rebench i'll add the dx11 patch

    already added, using ultra settings but it's still very cpu limited:
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/HIS/HD_6790_IceQ_X_Turbo/19.html

    problem seems to be that i bench a big fight with lots of units on screen and not a starting base with just an scv

    send me those monitors
     
    Black Panther says thanks.
  19. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,501 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,108
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Use a scene from SC2 where a Mothership pops out, EVERY video card lags for that animation.
     
    DanishDevil says thanks.
  20. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,231 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,139
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Good point, I was playing a 3v3 and I shot down my ally's mothership because I was sick of the laggyness. Even on my system.
     
  21. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,241 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,893
    Location:
    04578
    hey w1zz if you wrote your own Shogun II bench any chance for a public release? as im sure its more representitive then the built in bench which is kinda usless really. Im grasping at straws but id really appreciate a bench that would run and allow me to edit unit sizes.

    aka in the txt files you can edit units multiplier to increase troop size i run 600-800 men per unit from the default 60- 150. would be nice to have a good benchmark that would allow that and shows DX11 etc.
     
  22. blu3flannel

    blu3flannel

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    898 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    NYU
    You could use Mafia 2, it's actually moderately hard to run. Either that or Metro 2033.
     
  23. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,231 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,139
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    I thought Metro 2033 was already in there. They're both poorly coded, but Mafia 2's Physx acceleration is just purely broken.
     
  24. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,309 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,473
    then it's just badly programmed. the replay i'm using is a pro-gaming match so it's a realistic benchmark
     
  25. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    You didn't buy the one you use for review. Request some more. Surely revenue can cover expenses, if not.

    We're getting to the stage where 1920x1200 is a small resolution. So i'm curious if SLi and Crossfire of the top cards can handle massive resolutions.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page