1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Wondering a good fit ps for a 900

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Juntao, Apr 26, 2008.

  1. Juntao New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I am getting ready for a new build. Probably gonna go for an AMD setup. I do not really overclock all that much, but have done a few minor ones. Anyway I have an Antec 900. It was purchased with a rebate so it was only 50 bucks after. I know this case is common here so was wondering what would be a good power supply to fit well. I was leaning to a Corsair 750 tx or maybe a pc p&c 750. As far as otherstuff I am undecided on a mobo. I figure within the range of $140-170 for it. I was gonna get the 64 bit vista for it. I have a shiny new unused vista bus. 32 bit but I was hoping to add the 4 or 8 gigs of ram. And i was planning on two of the 500 gb seagates with the 32mb cache in raid0. Video card was debatable, I thought I might pick up a little one for now and wait for the shiny new ones of the 4800 series. Well any thoughts let me know. Oh and the processor was gonna be a phenom i suppose. I was hoping to wait till the buggers get at 3ghz stock but might be an eternity. Well thanks.
     
  2. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,415 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    In my Antec 900 I've had a Antec TruPower Trio 650W and a Silverstone ST1000 1000W, like most cases, the PSU rarely fits perfectly, but I do believe that all cases are made to fit just about any PSU so either will probably fit just fine.
     
  3. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    PC POWER & COOLING are the best psu's ever. If your gonna do extreme overclocking get 1K Watts or 750 Watts Silencer. If you are just using a normal gaming system get PC P&C 610 Watts.
     
  4. Smartbomb

    Smartbomb New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    133 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    London, On
    Wow those PSU wattages seem really high, check my specs and note the 500watt Seasonic that runs it :)
    EDIT: Remember a Corsair 620HX will run an overclocked quad with 2 8800GTS 512'5 SLI and a bunch of room for HD's and Optical drives, Fans, you name it. I bet if you only had say 2hd's and 1 or 2 opticals you could watercool with this PSU and have power to spare.
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2008
  5. echo75 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    456 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Denmark
    yeah most times people overrate the PSU requirements astronomically. Use any PSU calculator out there and fill in your specs (note that many of them are set to already overrate) 500- 620 watts is fine.

    Actally all the system specs above this post can comfortably run on a good make 550W PSU.

    If you pay your own electricity bill (like i do) you are just wasting money montly with a "boiler" of a PSU.
     
    Smartbomb says thanks.
  6. Smartbomb

    Smartbomb New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    133 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    London, On
    THANK-YOU!!!!! I have been so stressing to people on forums who give advice for 1000watts PSU's that you'll never need that kind of power. Unless maybe you find a way to run a marijuana grow operation off a molex connector:laugh:
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2008

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page