1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Working AMD Phenom/RD790 System with Quad Crossfire Radeon HD 3850 Pictured

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Nov 13, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Sorry, only pictures available, no details listed.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: VR-Forums
     
  2. sam0t New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    99 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    One word: Sick!

    And I was foolish enough to think that SLI/Crossfire was the peak of idiocrazy in 3D card world, but now this!
     
  3. paul06660

    paul06660 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    84 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    They finally did!!!!!!:D
    Prices are about right on AMD and ATI stuff too!!!!!:D
    Somewhere in the world right now, there is an Nvidia Video card Getting upset and 86'ing itself like a true Samauri would after defeat in battle!!!!!:nutkick:
    Now show us some benchmarks please!!!!!
     
  4. DaJMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    479 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Silver Spring, MD
    Four of everything......



    Insane, and expensive, but neat that it works. I wonder if quad crossfire is anything close to even 3x the performance of one card, I think it counts as a win if they can hit 3x or above with good drivers and such.
     
  5. tvdang7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    318 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    man 4 cards for only 3x performance? sounds kinda dumb but its probably gonna be like that :(
     
  6. ccleorina

    ccleorina New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    195 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Overclocking Hell
    Man..... Should i go Intel or AMD.... damm..... then i have to change to AMD and run quad x-fire...:banghead: But.... Damm..... Nice one from AMD and ATI....:rockout:

    Insane, and expensive:banghead:
     
  7. Nyte New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    185 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    Toronto ON
    You guys ever heard of Octa-fire?

    4x 3870x2
     
  8. JoJoe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    108 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    California
    The heatsink on the CPU looks interesting...
     
  9. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Surround image ?) 8 widescreen displays should be enough for that, no idea if there is a working software or game though :p

    Looks cool, but silly too :)
     
  10. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    If they can get a 200% increase in performance it would be pretty good. ie an improvement of 66% per extra card. Few things scale that well.
     
  11. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    Are you going to be able to run quad xfire with an intel platform??? There are not to many amd boards out there that support crossfire funny enough. I wonder if amd are keeping the quad crossfire to their own chipsets???

    Any one know????
     
  12. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,749 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Norway
    amd ftw
     
  13. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    187
    Location:
    Blighty
    i think msi's x38 has an extra pci-e controller chip for that exact purpose
    [​IMG]
    note the second chip by southbridge
     
  14. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,275 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    968
    This is how I read this:

    The AMD CPUs are not performing competitively enough against Intel. The Intel's are pwning them in the benchmarks. The ONLY SOLUTION FOR AMD is to stick 4 GPUs into the PC to win the benchmark crown. Aint going to help Super-pi though. :roll:
     
  15. Xaser04

    Xaser04

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    743 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    The only problem with that is horrific cpu limitation.
     
  16. von kain New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    782 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    athens/greece
    i really can use it they will ban me from the electric company :wtf:
     
  17. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    ATi chipsets (and quadfire) is coming to intel next year.
     
  18. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Wow that is really cool... I want one... I mean 4.
     
  19. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,931 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,730
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    X38's next generation?
     
  20. manson_ze

    manson_ze New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    73 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
  21. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Wow, that's a... that's a lot of video cards.

    I wonder -- do you just hook them up with 3 regular Xfire connections, or do you need a special longer one (like it looks like they have in the picture)?
     
  22. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,215 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    984
    Location:
    Miami
    WOAH... i really want this, then i can use onboard sound(or AMD's crappy gfx card onboard sound) :wtf:. MAYBE with the 2xR670s this would be an awesome platform, but you wouldnt have that, since 2xR670s come with dual slot coolers. This is a nice idea for a folding machine or a workstation tho... :laugh: @ no spiders or ghouls on the box - awesome.
     
  23. DaJMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    479 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Silver Spring, MD

    But nVidia is doing the exact same thing (it's even a news item farther down the page....)
     
  24. newbielives New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    164 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    And yet not a single benchmark to show for

    Does that setup even beat a QX6850 with 2 x 8800Ultra SLI ?
     
  25. Ser-J

    Ser-J New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    211 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, USA
    man.........can't imagine popping my case and seeing freakin' 4 GPUs in there.....and they are all red in color too.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page