1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Working AMD RV670, Phenom System Pictured

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Oct 7, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Sapphire has not only showcased its Radeon HD 2600 X2 DUAL at this year's World Cyber Games (WCG) Grand Final in Seattle but it has also shown off some soon to be released products including a AMD Phenom X4 Engineering Sample CPU, Sapphire RD790 (790 FX) motherboard and Crossfire setup consisting of two RV670 cards. AMD is calling its CPU+GPU+Chipset package "Spider".

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: theINQ
     
    OnBoard says thanks.
  2. ChaoticBlankness

    ChaoticBlankness New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    492 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    A small crate floating in the Pacific..
    Pictures are nice and all.. but I want to buy one "DAAMIT"! :banghead:
     
  3. Matsu New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I wonder if they will show some benchmarks.
     
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,631 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,848
    i guess the dieshrink didnt help any cause both are using Dual Slot cooling.
     
  5. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    and? so what..

    id take dual slot over single on stock coolers anyday. even if the temperatures are down on the RV670 cards the bigger stock cooler will allow a better overclock.
     
  6. crow1001

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    366 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Power consumption on these cards is way down compared to the R600 as clearly demonstrated by the use of a single six PCIE cable.:toast:
     
  7. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,631 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,848
    so they are putting the dual slot for overclocking now?
     
  8. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,749 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Norway
    cant wait, will jump on the AMD Phenom X4 + AMD RD790 wagon as soon it comes in stock in the cheapest netshop here ^^
     
  9. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,631 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,848
    i may just pickup a BE2350 and 2x 2950 Pros.
     
  10. slysy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    nice
    this puppy going in my system on release day :)

    do you think the cooler will be quieter? as i heard the original R600 was noisy
     
  11. sam0t New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    99 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Didint some early RV670 pictures sport single slot cooler? Guess these babies come in different varieties of default heatsinks.
     
  12. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Theres 2 versions of the 2950 Pro, one which would indeed need a dual slot cooler due to much higher clocks, and the other uses the single slot as its clocked lower.
     
  13. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,631 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,848
    ya and im sure pricing is much higher on the higherclocked part, honestly id rather do my own overclocking with aftermarket cooler.
     
  14. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Wait, am I reading that screen wrong? Does that mean the CPU is 128-bit?
     
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,631 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,848
    no its the memory
     
  16. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Oh, I see.
     
  17. von kain New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    782 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    athens/greece
    the phenom will delay for a while.wait until the November-December although it might be the very low speeds in mid november the agena fx gonna be more late as 2008
     
  18. EviLZeD

    EviLZeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    818 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    ill say both are fine ideas its just that nvidia barely supported the 7950gx2 thats why it sucked and thats why i sold mine
     
  19. djisas

    djisas

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,714 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Darkness
    I run it silently and i really mean silently on idle at 25% under 68ºc over that it kicks at 31% to quickly cool it down, at full load its quite audible, but u wont notice if u focus on the game...
     
  20. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    are these cards just as long as a 7900gs or longer?
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2007
  21. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    That baby looks nice (RV670 and Gladiator obviosly). Wonder how much the cooler adds to the price, as Revival with VF900 would be sweet and changing a good stock cooler to an after market one, is not so fun. Although I'm sure my x1900xt thanked me, when I took the 400g+ cooler off and popped in a 185g one :)
     
  22. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    They are ½cm longer than a x1900xt, at least when I did an image comparison. So if 7900gs is 19cm, it's longer. Same as 7800gt, seems it's 21,5cm. Motherboard is 24cm, based on that picture, seems to confirm it.
     
  23. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    It'll be nice when they give us some benchmarks....
     
  24. Lyrrad85z New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    waterville
    i cant wait to see the comarisons to intel

    what if i had a quad-father? could i put two phenoms in it for an 8 or 16 core machine...does it work like that?
     
  25. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    As I recall the quad father is just a dual Opteron system, ie you'd need dual processor capable Opterons. Though they are the same core, so yes you can do that.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page