1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

World of Warcraft 30FPS on a new Xfire PC

Discussion in 'Games' started by Paladone, Jan 20, 2013.

  1. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    421 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    I tried Fullscreen mode, no success :(
     
  2. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    421 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    I Noticed here http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ASUS/HD_7970_CrossFire/19.html that The benchmark at 1080P with 7970 crossfire is 160FPS. I'm not too worried about the FPS, if it sat at 100 constantly i'd be happy. What's annoying me is that it's spiking a lot, especially when i load into a new zone.
    EDIT: And ever here http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/radeon-hd-7970-benchmark-tahiti-gcn,3104-11.html with one 7970, 104FPS and 84FPS min, The benchmark results don't seem to show the same lag spikes that mine produce. According to quite a few sites and forums, WoW does not work properly with Xfire and the gains can be slim to none, but the TPU benchmarks say otherwise. What do you think?
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2013
  3. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    I think the TPU bench-marker knew what he was doing and could make crossfire work with Frogger if he wanted to. Remove one card from your system and see what happens.
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,220 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,520
    have you got any other programs running, like antivirus? they could cause the lag.

    so could a fragmented hard drive, or an SSD screwing up (my vertex II was terrible for stuttering)
     
  5. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    421 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    How can i tell if that's the case? I'll try disabling my anti-virus when i next can access my PC. I've been told that another possibility is that my CPU is bottlenecking my WoW, which i don't think is a realistic idea. What do you think?

    I'll try using one card next time i have acess to my PC.
     
  6. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,001 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    Fill out your system specs please, just so we dont have to keep jumping around to see them.
     
  7. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    421 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Yeah sorry, Done. @ Mussels, I don't think it's my hdd or SSD, i tried installing the game on both as well as running off of an external hard drive. I will keep trying!!! :D Do you think it could be to do with my video cards having different core clocks?
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2013
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,220 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,520
    i suppose something worht checking: what are your CPU temps while you're gaming?

    it could be overheating and throttling, if somethings wrong with its cooling.
     
  9. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    421 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    I'm not sure, i'll check when i can, but at 100% load when i ran a 12 hour torture test they sat around 65 and maxxed out at about 73
     
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,220 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,520
    the problem with those tests, is they dont account for the heat of everything else (video cards, namely) when gaming.

    all that heat combined *could* cause throttling, and erratic performance.
     
  11. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    421 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Oh good point, i'll check on that next time i have access to my pc.
     
  12. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,706 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    449
    Location:
    East TN
    I'm aware of that, I just didn't see good enough improvements to actually run the game in crossfire. Not worth the heat
     
  13. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    WoW must have changed, back when I played for a short stint, I was getting over 120 FPS on a single 4870. Maybe this wasnt the populated areas, but I never remember having any performance issues. My buddy would play this on his IGP intel HD3000.
     
  14. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    It could be your internet connection. If you're running a 56k in some online games your FPS could take a hit. In these circumstances, no amount of hardware can make up for it. What kind of latency are you getting? Make sure to stop torrents and what-not as uploading hits your bandwidth quite hard.

    Also, open Task manager and visit the CPU tab make sure there is no process called "System Interrupts" popping up above 5% of CPU load. That's caused by bad drivers somewhere and your CPU having to pull double duty to make up for them.
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2013
  15. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,604 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,226
    The graphics have been updated over time. I used to play it on a Radeon 9000 Pro, now it's unplayable in some areas with a Radeon 2400 Pro.
     
  16. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    That would make sense.
     
  17. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,706 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    449
    Location:
    East TN
    WoW supports DirectX 11
     
  18. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,876 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,614
    my latest rebench on Catalyst 13.1, WOW DX11, with an unreleased dual-GPU card seems to support that.

    check if turning off dx11 helps
     
  19. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,274 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,083
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Are the GPUs fully utilized though? I wouldn't be surprised if it was a CPU bottleneck rather than a GPU bottleneck even with the fastest of modern hardware. Blizzard games have always bottlenecked my CPU. Both SC2 and D3 can bottleneck my 3820 with my 6870s in crossfire in some scenes. It has been some time since I played WoW and maybe that has changed. Maybe I will renew for a month just to give it a try.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page