1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Would a 2.0 ghz E4400 Core 2 Duo bottleneck a 8800 GTS?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by CDdude55, Dec 3, 2007.

  1. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Will it? Or should i upgrade my CPU?(to scared to OC)
  2. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Yes it will. Just overclock it dude. Mine does 3Ghz easy.
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,528 (13.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,925
    Even @ 2.8ghz the bottleneck should go away.
  4. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,890 (6.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Overclock NOW!!
    :nutkick:

    The first time I raised my FSB (by one step--mine goes in 2s, so I booted at 202) from 200 to 202, from 2600MHz to 2626MHz, I was scared too. But now I found some good settings to run and I'm happy with it. 2.7GHz, DDR2 540 4-4-4-12 :pimp:
    wanna try 4-4-4-11 :D
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    How do i OC? I know i have to some how raise the FSB but what else?
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,890 (6.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    There's a plethera of information in the overclocking and cooling section. Read the stickies.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Seriously man... just clock it. I can get 3.42GHz (10x342) @ 1.45v out my E4400 without trying. Putting a little effort in, 401x8 (3.2GHz) gives some quads a run for their money nevermind a Duo. Just watch CPU temps and chipset temps. Dont go above 1.6v on your CPU either, even then only go to that if you got good cooling. If your on stock.. I doubt you will be able to safely break 3GHz.
  8. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
  9. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    E6400 @ 3 hz bottlenecks a 3870 so i think your proc will dish out teh same treatment to a 8800GT
  10. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    linky?
  11. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,302 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    BS
    The fastest chip intel make is only 3ghz, which is significantly faster than amd's fastest chip, so amd's graphics card is doubly bottlenecked by their own best chip?
  12. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    twas in one of teh 3870 threads, belongs to a member here.
  13. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    you want me to look through 1000 pgs of nothing to try and find something.

    LOL!

    you could prolly even get away with using an e2180 :twitch: :laugh:

    :toast:
  14. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Thanks a whole lot everone!:)
  15. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I have a good OC board and HSF!. 680i SE(C2D Overclocking board) and Artic Cooler Freezer 7 Pro cooling the CPU.
  16. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    People have got too obsessed with bottlenecking. Yes the GPU does better if you got a faster processor, but that's not saying there wouldn't be a huge jump from going 8600GTS to 8800GTS. If you don't get near any improvement with GPU OC, then you can start to worry about bottlenecking.

    But I'd OC that CPU too ;) Stay with stock voltage and go as far (stable) as you can with that if you want to be safe. It should do 2333 at least with stock volts, maybe even 2666 if it's a real good chip.
  17. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Mine does 3Ghz on stock :p
  18. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,302 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    you're a swine, mine needs 1.41v (and 1.45 for 3.4)
  19. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    unfair :( 1.3625v here, but lower multiplier too. Least I beat Grings :p
  20. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Heh, I know mine is going to need a voltage jump to go past 3Ghz, it won't post at anythng higher than 3Ghz. I just don't see any point, or have the time to spend stress testing it properley, so at the moment I'm leaving it at 3Ghz.
  21. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    What are yall griping about? I have to use 1.6V to get 3.5GHZ benchamrk stable with my E4300.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page