1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Would a CX 500 power 2x HD 5770 in Crossfire?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by LifeOnMars, Jul 18, 2011.

  1. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Take a look at my system specs and let me know what you think with the possibility of having 2 x HD 5770 in crossfire on the CX 500.

    It has 2xPCI-E 8 pin cables and I'm unsure whether it could take the load. Cheers guys.
  2. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,881 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    UK
    Probably, assuming CPU at 170W and 2x5770 @ 150W (both massive overestimates), you have wattage to spare
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,493 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,908
    Possibly not enough amps.

    I read somewhere that a single 5770 needs 18 amps on the +12v rail.

    It might be doable, but you're cutting it close.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  4. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    911 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    359
    http://www.guru3d.com/article/radeon-hd-5770-review-test/11

    423w under full stress with an i7 965 @ 3.75ghz, that like under furmark..

    your PSU does 408w on the +12v, so for sure under a stress benchmark, you will run your PSU at 100% +..

    if you would had an corsair HX520 with the 480w on the +12v, that would be different. Your PSU should run it, like over 90% load..

    After all, that is a give a try, or change your power... Unload load, maybe it's more like 325w +/-, idk, it would be good...
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,493 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,908
    An AMD quad at 4.1ghz will pull more load than an i7 965 for sure. So keep that in mind. :)
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  6. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    PSU calculator says you need a 468W Psu. Also your X4 at 4.1Ghz eats 211 watts if using 1.55v.

    Just for shits and giggles. Same PSU calculator says my 2500K at 4.4Ghz and 1.26v eats 166 watts. I wonder how accurate that is.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  7. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    I can do 3.8Ghz @ 1.4v, I'm thinking it may be possible with two non-overclocked cards......but no furrmark :)

    What is the worst that could happen if the PSU is overloaded, just cut off or potential damage to other components?
  8. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    PSU will just auto shut down
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  9. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,154 (5.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    And possibly kill the PSU, but anything short of stress test I think you will be fine. Maybe cut the OC down a bit to be safe.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  10. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Yeh I thnk I will downclock if I intend to try out a second card. Thanks for your help and views everyone, I'll let you know how I get on in the next month.
  11. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    On average the 5770 uses 72w. You should be fine

    [​IMG]
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  12. Zyon

    Zyon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    264 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Australia
    Play it safe and get 600-650W, leaves plenty of power to overclock also.
  13. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,154 (5.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    He doesn't want to upgrade the PSU, hence the question.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  14. TC-man

    TC-man

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    344 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    Netherlands

    Well, if the protection mechanism kicks in. It's a Corsair (CWT oem) so the protection should work and automatically shut down (cut the power), but data corruption may occur. So make sure you make backups of important datafiles (e.g. irreplaceable family photos, homevideos and so on). On the other hand, according to Hardwaresecrets' review of the CX430 it can deliver 548.8 W in the overload test. So I guess and can imagine that the CX500 can be pushed even further (although no guarantee that it will!).

    By the way, isn't it possible to sell the HD5770 and add some more money to buy a HD5850 or HD6870 (so you don't have to change the PSU)? I know they (as single card) are probably not as fast as two HD5770 in Crossfire, but a single card works with every game, while Crossfire does not. Besides, you will notice the performance increase with a HD5850/HD6870 quite significantly.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  15. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Thanks for the link to the article that was an intersting read.

    I have actually come from a system with an i5 2500k and an HD 5870, so I can certainly feel the difference in gaming performance at the moment :laugh:

    That said, everything is playing very smoothly just at lower framerates. The games I am looking to get an increase in are all crossfire compatible and I'm really happy with how quiet this current card is so I thought it would be nice to have two of these little puppies pulling the sleigh, so to speak :)

  16. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,476 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    math says you can do it. but have atleast 650W of power to be sure. as if your PSU gets old it looses its wattage. so you'll be cutting it loose.

    around 7 amps each for the 5770 is okay since it requires 75Watts. which means you need atleast a total of min 15amps to be close and 20 amps on the 12v rail alone for the gfx cards.
    now if your CPU is clocking at max 200Watts, that means around 17amps more for the CPU.

    always remember power = Current X Voltage
    so since voltage is fixed at 12V or 5v.

    Current in 12v rail = Power/12
    current in 5v rail = Power/5
  17. Hotobu

    Hotobu New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    278 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    The problem with power output benchmarks is that those systems are usually pretty bare. You may see them with just an SSD, possibly an optical drive, no other HDDs, and of course you wont know the fan configuration. Then there's other things you may have on your computer that draw power such as fan controller, card readers, and USB devices.
  18. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    try it put, if the psu get more than hot to the touch under load its not too good, if its not too hot then it will be fine
    LifeOnMars says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page