1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Would AMD Athlon Dual Core Processors Work With XFX Nvidia 680i?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by TricksterMatt, Mar 29, 2009.

  1. TricksterMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    259 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I was wandering would AMD athlon dual core processors work with the XFX Nvidia 680i? Im looking for a good cheap motherboard that would work really well with the 8800 GT Alpha Dog XXX edition... I was gonna get the XFX nForce 8200 motherboard, but I think its crap... What do you guys recommend?

    Edit

    Is this a good motherboard would you guys think? http://www.eclipsecomputers.com/product.aspx?code=MBM-K9A2CFF
  2. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    680i is an intel board, so no.
  3. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
  4. TricksterMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    259 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Never mind, I found a good board i want :p... Tell me what you guys think of the XFX 750a Sli Motherboard... Is that good for clocking and stuff?
  5. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
  6. TricksterMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    259 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Yeah, is it any good for the 8800 gt alpha dog?
  7. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    Should be no problem running your alpha dog. It supports up to 95w cpu's, so make sure yours is such.
  8. TricksterMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    259 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    it doesnt say, its the AMD Athlon 64 6000+ 3.0 GHz one... Will it support that?
  9. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
  10. TricksterMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    259 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    So will it be able to run it? :S
  11. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    No support for 125 or 140w.
  12. TricksterMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    259 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Noooooooooooooooooo :(... That means I have to buy a crappier processor then "sigh"
  13. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
  14. TricksterMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    259 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
  15. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    There might be a BIOS update out there somewhere.
  16. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
  17. TricksterMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    259 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
  18. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
  19. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
  20. TricksterMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    259 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
  21. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
  22. TricksterMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    259 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Is it better for gaming and stuff then?
  23. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    yes the faster bus speed and L3 cache give it an advantage over the older Brisbane and Windsor chips
  24. TricksterMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    259 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
  25. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page