1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Would it be worth updating my video cards

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by kenkickr, Dec 30, 2007.

  1. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,877 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,529
    I have seriously been thinking about putting my X1950XT's on ebay and getting either 2 3850 512mb models or 3870's (hopefully sapphire does release the single slot solution). Performance wise though would it be a worthy update or am I only going to be gaining 10-20 more FPS going from what I have now to the 3870's ?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Imo those cards are gonna be bottlenecked by your cpu.
    If i were you and i was planning to upgrade. Sell your system and go for Intel and a single 8800GTS 512.;)
     
  3. allen337

    allen337

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    965 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Danville IL
    Well I would say since the highest 3dmark06 I can find with 1900 crossfires is 14000 with a quad it would be pretty easy guess that the 3850s or 3870s would be a good upgrade. Im not really an amd guy so I couldnt say if the cpu would bottleneck them. However I am a motherboard guy. Why the ECS mobo?
     
  4. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    if u want to play games at gaming resolutions and gaming frame rates your amd cpu will not bottleneck your cards.. repeat.. will not bottleneck your cards..

    if u want to score super high in 3Dmarks in none gaming resolutions and frame rates your cpu will bottleneck your cards.. in fact any cpu will bottleneck your cards..

    futuremark has a lot to answer for in the demise of amd.. they want bloody shooting..

    trog
     
    WhiteLotus, zOaib and AsRock say thanks.
  5. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    If youve got the extra cash, then you should upgrade ;) If your mobo is one that comes with 1* 16x PCI-E slot and 1* 4x PCI-E slot (which is probably right) why not just get a single 3870?
     
  6. Judas

    Judas

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,035 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    I would second that one which technicks said
     
  7. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,621 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    You might get lucky on ebay, I was able to sell my overclocked XFX 7950GT XXX' for 270

    but it was agp
     
  8. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    tell u guys one thing.. i was running am amd system.. 6000+ at 3.350 gig.. four gigs of memory.. one and two 3870 cards..

    i am now running an intel system. E6750 at 3.8 gigs.. four gigs of memory.. same grafix card/cards..

    is my world brighter.. does my dog smell better.. do my games play better.. nope

    do my 3dmarks score higher.. yep

    does crysis run better.. nope

    is there less money in my bank account yep

    ling live amd..

    trog

    ps.. for the record.. one 3870 card

    2006 up from 11000-sh to 12000-ish

    2005 up from 18000-ish to 21000-ish

    crysis bench runs up.. zilch.. general gaming fps up.. zilch..

    fur bench up zilch..

    super pi.. up 25-ish to 12-ish.. intel likes super pi.. he he
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2007
  9. allen337

    allen337

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    965 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Danville IL


    If all I done was play games and run 3dmarks I would buy AMD in a heartbeat. I hate to say this but long live amd where we can get the intel prices down:D
     
  10. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,444 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    California, U.S.A.
    I am not starting a flame here, but I find this kind of talk funny. A user asks a question about upgrading his video card(s) on his high end AMD system. Then comes along a Intel user and it seems the usual comment is "your AMD cpu will bottleneck the card(s)". Then thankfully we get a educated user like Trog who has used both brands and can set the record strait.

    I would be happy as a hungry baby in a topless bar to own a high end crossfire rig. :toast:
     
    zOaib says thanks.
  11. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,621 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    theres nothing wrong with his cpu at all, he actually has a pretty good cpu for gaming
     
  12. allen337

    allen337

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    965 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Danville IL


    Ive been around these forums and many others for many years and my money is on TROG being a AMD FANBOY:)Take it with a grain of salt Your needs are your needs if amd is better by all means buy it but the 3do6 tests he is telling you he needs to RMA that intel processor or throw it in the garbage if all he is getting is 12000 ish I get 12000ish stock with a 2900.
     
  13. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    I can't tell you if you'll be gaining a bunch of frames or not. But, take a look at the charts at toms hardware, if they don't have multiple cards, take the score and multiple it by 1.5 which should be approximately what you would get with xfire (yeah yeah probably off).
     
  14. reverze

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,368 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Some people are just clueless..

    the AMD 6000+ will not bottleneck those cards one bit, except you might get lower scores when comparing to an optimized for higher scores in 3DMark processor.

    *cough* Intel

    Oh, and Amen trogg.
     
  15. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    rubbish.. he he he.. not a lot of difference between an 2900 and a 3780 card now is there.. they perform pretty much the same.. in fact the record futuremark scores are held by 2900 cards and way overclocked intel systems..

    but i hate amd getting put down for no valid reason as a game playing platform.. as a benchmarking platform intel pisses all over amd but as a game playing platform amd has no problems at all..

    someone has to correct the all too prevalent nonsense.. sadly when the consensus opinion is mostly bullsh-t it aint the best way to make friends thow.. :)

    trog
     
  16. Exavier

    Exavier New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    982 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    Both systems are good, and it's about your function as you've covered previously - gaming, not an iota of difference, but 3DMark sure looks nicer with Intel.
    That's as may be, but to be fair, AMD and Intel are equally nice, just matters what you're using it for.

    Also, chang, I personally don't trust tom's hardware since their completely BS review of the 8800GTX. Your call, but I personally just don't.

    Trust TPU and Guru3D, lol :toast:
     
  17. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,156 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    i hate intel prices so musch and listen why would we need good scores in 3d mark i mean if your system actually performs good i real world situations like multitasking or encoding a video or playing a game but you get a crappy score in 3d mark then whats the point

    i also hate why people say a card will get bottlenecked by a cpu i mean how yeah the cpu might not be able to handle a high spec game but thats for like friggin sempron processors a amd black edition is more than enough for games
     
  18. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    With Trog on it all... It will be able to play your games and work good... Benching is another statement, and To me its really nothing special... I was playing games with just polygons as the people and loved every min. of it...
     
  19. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    benching is a big part of the TPU world.. we are "overclockers".. we just need to know how it works..

    overclocking the sh-t out of your grafix card will give better gaming performance.. the vast majority of games are still single threaded and are grafix card limited..

    overclocking the sh-t out of your new intel quad core cpu will give better benching performance.. it wont help your gaming thow..

    an amd 6000+ with two ati 3870 cards in crossfire will piss all over the fastest intel quad with lesser grafix cards in a gaming environment..

    trog
     
  20. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    The truth! and you want to know why?!?? I can beat my friends quad at a few benches... I have A C2d, just not the AMD version... I know he probably fixed it to where I don't anymore, but I did do it, and loved every min of it! :roll:
     
  21. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,877 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,529
    I don't play benchmarks, I play games and I feel my 6000+ does me just fine but I feel the X1950's limit me in Gears of War and really can't tell if it is NFS Pro Street or my cards causing the choppiness. I am not upgrading my CPU. In reguards to why I have an ECS board well it was the only Crossfire board I could find in stock at the time and it was receiving RAVE reviews has being a stable board. Well it doesn't overclock worth a SH!T but yes it does run stable so I am pleased so to say. This is a 3200 chipset so it is suppose to be 2x x16 PCI-E. I'm surprise no one has asked why I run Vista x64!!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Go here... www.yougamers.com and they will suggest things to upgarde your PC with or to... Then that will work stright with you...
    Why should we ask about Vista? I'm running Vista Ultimate x86 and I have no problems... so let me know why we need to ask?
     
  23. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,877 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,529
    Just seems people knock Vista right off the bat when they see somebody uses it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    oh no... they use to for the simple fact that vista was BSODing everyone and so forth... but if you look around at peoples system specs, the new rigs mainly have Vista Ultimate running in them.
     
  25. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Vista: I wouldn't mind using it, but with my current specs, forget about it! It would hog my resources bad!

    ken, maybe 2900 pro's flashed to xt's? I heard in crossfire they are in between the hd3850's and 70's.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page