1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Would like opinions on my future gaming PC.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Conall, Dec 22, 2007.

  1. Conall New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    116 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Within the next few months I will be buying a new pre-built gaming PC, and would like everyones opinions on the one I've chosen.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16883227041

    What I really want this PC to do is run older games perfectly, and it certainly looks like it could.

    I've been stuck with a HP Pavilion 512w for years, and obviously I'm not able to play many games nor install very many new parts, and as such I don't know much about current video cards, processors and such.

    So I'd like to ask if I could run the following games;
    Black & White 2
    Battlefield 2
    Civilization 4
    Empire Earth 2
    Farcry
    The Sims 2
    Age of Empires 3

    With all graphics settings at their maximum, at a constant 60fps+ on this computer.

    Thanks in advance.
  2. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    For those games, that PC will run them perfectly on max.
    Conall says thanks.
  3. Conall New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    116 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Excellent.

    Ah, that sounds great.
    Thanks for the reply.

    One more quick question, how easy would it be to install Windows XP after reformating that PC?
    I have no interest in Vista..
  4. nguyenpeter76 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    312 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    if looking for prebuild, you should look at the dell xps 420 because for $1149, you get a q6600 processor, 3gb 667mhz ram, 320gb harddrive, 8800gt, dual burner optical drive, and a quiet system. i myself have a xps420 but with a hd 2400 pro graphics card because ill upgrade it later. if you do choose to get the xps 420, go find a dell place to buy it from cause i went to a kiosk at a mall and got $100 off.
  5. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Well, the Dell is NOT a good idea since the crappy motherboard has a locked bios, which means no ability to tweak the system if you want to. If you have to buy something prebuilt, the ibuypower looks decent for what it is, as you can play with the bios and you can run SLI later if you want to.
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,888 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    byopc
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    the voice of reason...
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Conall, hate to say this but most of those I can run medium @ 1024x768. Farcry I can max @ 1280x1024 averages ~50fps. That just gives you a little insight on how much more powerful it is than mine.
    Conall says thanks.
  9. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,888 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    what do you mean?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    LMAO, I think he means not everybody may want to build their own.
  11. Conall New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    116 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I know it'd be cheaper to build it myself, but I've never done that before and I am terrified I'd screw something up.
    I don't want to take that chance.

    Yes yes, I've heard all the "It's like legos!", "Even a baby could do it!", etc.
  12. Dia01

    Dia01 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    498 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    What exactly are you terrified about, I find the hardest part is getting the software and drivers just right. Hardware is pretty easy.
  13. Conall New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    116 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    The fear comes from the fact that this is something totally unknown to me.
    I'd have absolutely no idea what I was doing.
    What if I installed something wrong? What if I damaged a part/parts with static?

    With this pre-built, the most I could screw up is the XP installation.
    But it comes with a recovery DVD, so even that isn't a problem.
  14. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    yeah i hear ya i was the same when i got back into puting this year if it wasnt for a couple of my mates who are wizzes with puters id of been stuffed. As long as your happy paying a bit more you can get yourself an excellent gaming rig and over time youll get confidence to have a go at upgrades.
  15. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,888 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Just use an old table and put all your parts on that. It's impossible to install anything wrong. If something ins't going in, check the line-ups, you're doing it wrong! It's very straightforward.
    Conall says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    Conall, I have to agree w/ hat.

    byopc is very simple. Just look for guides, they're all over the web. They'll show you everything.

    If you don't want to DIY, I think that rig you linked to would be a good choice.
    Conall says thanks.
  17. Conall New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    116 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Hmm.. If it really isn't as risky as I thought, maybe I will build my own..
    I'll look into it.
  18. Conall New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    116 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Wow, it really would be cheaper!
    I can build a PC with similar specs to the machine in the link I posted, but with a E6850 processor for about $100 less.
    You know, I think I will build this myself after all.

    Take a look at these parts, and tell me what you think.
    http://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion/wishlist/PublicWishDetail.asp?WishListNumber=5234685

    Would all of those parts fit in that case?
    And could someone also recommend a good cheap sound card?
  19. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,888 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    500 watts seems fair enough for that setup
  21. Conall New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    116 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I don't think I need 650watts, and I'm not paying $160 for a power supply.
  22. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    I'd stick with the PSU you originally chose, Connall
  23. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    500W may be enough, but IMO you also are getting a better motherboard.

    EDIT: Also I don't know about that RAM, you may be able to find better for cheaper.
  24. Conall New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    116 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
  25. Conall New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    116 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    What RAM would you recommend, then?
    I was recommended this particular type by someone on another board.
    This is what he said about it;
    "D9 chips are the best. Fast RAM, and great timings, with tons of room to overclock."

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page