1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Would replacing my GTX260's TIM with MX2 help temps on stock cooler?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by alexp999, Sep 8, 2008.

  1. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    UPDATE:

    Okay, I've just come to doing this, but There is one screw I cant get out. :cry: have tried loads of different screwdrivers, it wont budge. :(
    And the more i try the worse the bore is getting.

    Any ideas. :ohwell:

    __________________

    As title says. i want to see if I can get my temps even lower without buying an aftermarket cooler.

    Only thing I'm worried about is the ram chips. Am I right in thinking they use pads?
    I take it I cant replace that with tim cus it wont make contact?
    Are they reusable? Or should/can I pickup replacements? or maybe better ones?

    :toast:
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2008
  2. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,869 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well I've seen horror stories of how the video card manufacturers use enough TIM on the core of one card that would be enough to go around for like 100 cards... cleaning up all that TIM and doing a good application on the core would lower the core temp which would benefit the whole card overall really. The memory probably does use some kind of sticky pad... I dunno if they would make contact or not if you used TIM.
    alexp999 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Found some pics of the board and cooler:

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Anyone replaced the TIM on their GTX 260 or GTX 280?

    Can you get decent ( :roll: ) thermal pads?
    Are these thermal pads? Not sure, it has (outdents?) for the ram, but I dont know whether MX2 could be used to make contact for Core/ram/VRM.

    :toast:
  4. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
  5. Selene

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    231 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Not sure if their is alot of difrence in them vs 8800/9800 cards, but I just redid both my cards made 6-9c difrence in temps.
    I just left the pads as they were, they dont stick to the memery chips so you should be fine.
    I used probly 1/4th the TIM as EVGA did.
    alexp999 says thanks.
  6. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    Arctic Silver 5 will drop it 5-7C just on the core. you can reuse the pads on the rams etc.. Thermal pads comes in rolls and can be quiet expensive.
    alexp999 says thanks.
  7. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Okay cool. I'll give it a go tomorrow. Have read that its quite difficult to get the cooler off a GTX260 cus of tabs or something. Will clean it up and put some MX2 on the core, try to keep pads intact.
    Whats the best method for applying? I use Pea method for CPU, but I beleive the gfx card doesnt have the same clamping pressure so wont spread as well. is it best to go back to the old blade technique?

    Cheers.
  8. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    well for those huge nvidia chip i put 2 small lines to make an X in the middle if you clean it well enough it will spread out through the whole chip.
    alexp999 says thanks.
  9. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    So have you done this yourself on a GTX2x0?
  10. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    yah on the GTX280 OC'd the hell out of it after i put the AS5 on ofcourse ^___~
    don't forget the 2 screws by the air exhaust on top of the DVI connectors.


    The nvidia chip are huge compared to the ATI ones which I replace the compounds on everyone of them. With ATI chips i just put a lil dot in the middle and that does it.
    alexp999 says thanks.
  11. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Well only reason I'm looking at doing it is cus its the first time I have a card from an MF that doesnt void your warranty by taking off the stock cooler. :D
    Will have to see how temps drop. Got a 5*C drop by getting my new case, hopefully get another 5 by changing the tim! :)
  12. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    what kind of ambient temperature you have there in the UK right now ? It's 94 F during the day here in Texas.
  13. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Its about 15- 20*C here atm. My CPU temp is apparently 17*C tho, lol. Pretty sure its 10*C out. Stupid asus bios :shadedshu

    Once PC has been on an hour or so, GPU temp never goes above 50*C, whether OC'd or on stock. just stays at 50*C all the time on idle. Dunno if that is something to do with the Automatic Fan speed.
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2008
  14. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Okay, I've just come to doing this, but There is one screw I cant get out. :cry: have tried loads of different screwdrivers, it wont budge. :(
    And the more i try the worse the bore is getting.

    Any ideas. :ohwell:
  15. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    which one is it take a picture.
  16. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    One in from top left. :( (bore looks really bad in picture :eek: )

    [​IMG]

    :toast:
  17. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    man that looks pretty bad. put the 2 screws on either side of it back in and try to turn that one slowly. What kind of screw drivers are you using anyways > p
  18. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    The really little ones that you use for clocks/glasses etc.

    Will try what you said now.
  19. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Nope wont budge! :cry:

    Man this sucks. :(

    I may as well just give up and put it back together, its like its been screwed in with a pneumatic screwdriver! :mad:
  20. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    when i did mine it was easy to come off like i didn't have to put any pressure on it. Sorry it didn't work out for you there buddy.
  21. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    I had a brain fart...

    What if you were to cut a slot in the top of the screw and then just use a regular slot head screwdriver to get it out? See the red line I added to your pic below.

    What I had in mind was:

    1) Get a dremel tool with a mini cutting disc and some safety glasses.

    2) Using the dremel tool parallel to the board cut a slot in the middle of the screwhead. (did I mention the safety glasses? )

    3) Use an approprate slot head screwdriver with a snug fit in the slot to back out the pesky screw.

    4) Throw said "pesky screw" into waste basket.

    Just a thought.

    I have a GTX 260 on its way to me so I will probably end up changing it over to my watercooling block and will need to be really careful with these screws. Are they Philips head (i.e. cross shaped)?

    Attached Files:

  22. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    its the next screw to the right of that, lol.
    Dont have a dremmel or anything :ohwell:
    Probably not bother now, heard it can be quite difficult to undo clips without breaking them.

    kinda sucks though, by looking through the gap where the PCI-E mobo connector comes out I can see the gloop has been piled on and has niagara'd over the edges.

    Dman screw! :mad:
  23. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,177 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,397
    Looks like a little allen key screw to me.
  24. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    it didnt before I tried to make it come out :roll:
  25. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,177 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,397
    If its a bit round now,try using a small allen key and supergluing it into the hole,if it comes out,you can use heat to release the screw from the allen key.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page