1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Would you buy either of these boards?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Gilletter, Dec 19, 2008.

  1. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
  2. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,631 (12.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,461
    I would buy the Gigabyte for a HTPC or something like that.
     
  4. mrw1986

    mrw1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,117 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    I'd go with the Foxconn...they have really been stepping it up lately.
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,631 (12.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,461
    The Gigabyte has better capacitors for the CPU area and most likely has a better bios to work with. From the Foxconns I've seen... Blech...
     
  6. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    Would you pair it with this combo deal?
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboDealDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.150035

    all 3 before rebates are a hair under $450 ... 9850be, sapphire 4870 1 gb, and the gigabyte mobo...
    after shipping and rebates $433.94 ( I think it's a damn good deal for the setup... just might be a little tight -close together) going to be using for gaming, and just general use

    *edit* looking at the reviews someone says that the memory is set to 1.95v and can't see a way to lower it... I have 3 sticks of this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820134045 rated @ 1.8v would that be a problem???
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2008
  7. kysg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,255 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Pacoima, CA
    shouldn't see any issues there. i believe the gigabyte board shouldn't have a problem with that voltage.
     
  8. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,691 (6.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    get the GB its a good mobo and they have better BIOS updates/support
     
  9. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    the board isn't what I'm worried about, I'm worried that the memory I currently have wont be able to be used in that board... would the kingston memory run @1.95 safely?
     
  10. kysg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,255 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Pacoima, CA
    what p/n number is that ram just checked there compatibility list

    KVR667D2N5/1G

    thats for 667,

    and pulled this from the specs on the site.
    1. 4 x 1.8V DDR2 DIMM sockets supporting up to 16 GB of system memory (Note 1)
    2. Dual channel memory architecture
    3. Support for DDR2 1066 (Note 2)/800/667 MHz memory modules

    anything beyond that you would have to talk to gigabyte about.
     
  11. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    this is what I saw on a review on newegg... just made me worry a little :confused:

    *goes to replay booth* Upon further review, and visiting product website finding memory compatability, noticing mine is supported, I end the memory discussion -Board discussion still open
     
  12. kysg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,255 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Pacoima, CA
    EDIT my bad didn't read the bottom of the post.
     
  13. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    I'm really liking that board... as much as I was against going mATX... I think it's the best solution for me now :rockout:
     
  14. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
  15. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    That would be a good board. Biostar are known for being a good boards and decent overclockers.
     
    Gilletter says thanks.
  16. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    Yeah I like my other biostar, and the reviews on it are good... think that I'm going with that one :rockout:
     
  17. lollerskater69 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    395 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Looks nice.
     
  18. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    From the first two I would get gigabyte. I don`t like the Biostar but the mobo looks ok it has all solid caps and shielded chokes it has nice build quality and price.
     
  19. boredgunner

    boredgunner

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    142 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Лиманск
    I wouldn't buy any of those simply because they are AM2. If you're stuck with your AMD processor, I'd recommend the GIGABYTE motherboard. They're cheap motherboards generally function well.
     
  20. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    Simply because they are am2? meaning what?
     
  21. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Personally I would never buy another Gigabyte board. I stick with DFI and ASUS mostly tho I am gonna try Biostar soon. If I were you I would spend a little more.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131325
    -->Best bang for the buck AMD board right now http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813138129
     
  22. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    I had that biostar one listed after I found out I could probably afford it. And I like the looks of that biostar over the asus. So I was ahead of you on that one shadowfold :p

    this is more than likely going to be my combo unless they drop it are out of stock or raise the prices

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813138129
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboDealDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.150035

    free shipping on all of them, and a $15 mail in rebate $464.97 before rebate $449.97 after :toast:
     
  23. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    Of course... mobo I want is out of stock, no longer free shipping on the video card either, lol... I swear they see what I write and change it just to piss me off! :cry: :roll:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page