1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Would you call this safe?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Greenmousa, Nov 26, 2009.

  1. Greenmousa

    Greenmousa

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Argentina, Latin America
    Hi! I Recently upgraded from a Phenom 9600+ AGENA to a Phenom 2 X3 720 BE, i'll put it together tomorrow and i need to know a few things.

    I bought a motherboard that can unlock the 4th core with no issues whatsoever, it has been tested in several reviews and it works. But here's my question, asuming that my Phenom 2 X3 is one of the unlockables (fingers crossed) how safe is to keep it running with the unlocked core? Is this any bad for the processor? Will it shorten the life of the cpu?

    Assuming that it's safe with 4 cores up and running: The cpu comes with a 2.8ghz base clock, what do you think about pushing it to 3.0?? I really will need your help guys with the volts and stuff since i don't want to mess around with the volts :S it's an unlocked multiplier version so i want to stick to the default volts as much as i possibly can.

    Thank you guys a lot in advance and if you want to guide me trough this process ill be so so gratetfull :)!
     
  2. Charper2013

    Charper2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,388 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Macon, Georgia
    Well the safeness of the unlock depends on the CPU itself. You would have to check stability. As far as the overclock the same goes. It all depends. And if all you want is 2.8 to 3.0.. You wont have to work up volts any just change the multi. Im sure you could go alot higher.
     
    Greenmousa says thanks.
  3. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    Try to unlock it, if it unlocks run prime95 test stability then if it passes turn up the multiplier rinse and repeat with prime95 till you cant go any higher.
     
  4. Charper2013

    Charper2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,388 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Macon, Georgia
    +1 My idea exactly. :toast:
     
  5. Greenmousa

    Greenmousa

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Argentina, Latin America
    First of all thanks, second yeah, i kinda figured that...but you know, i want to run it on stock cooler and stock volts, im not looking for a ground breaking Overclock so im playing it safe BUT on the overclock side XD!

    What do you recommend to test if the 4th core it's stable?

    Thanks in advance!

    EDIT AFTER DIR_D RESPONSE:

    How long should i leave Prime Running??
     
  6. Charper2013

    Charper2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,388 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Macon, Georgia
    Well for a 100% check.. 24 hours. But 4-8 hours is fine.
     
  7. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,873 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,692
    For such a small overclock I would just bump your FSB. This keeps Cool & Quiet active so your chip will run cooler, and benifits the RAM and Hypertransport as well.

    You may even want to just stick with overclocking for now, and unlock your core later, if you feel it is necessary. I have a x4 940 BE, and for normal gaming, surfing, music, whatever, I really don't use all the cores to their full potential.
     
  8. Greenmousa

    Greenmousa

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Argentina, Latin America
    I have a 9600BE i know what is like to have 4 cores XD! Only GTAIV used them and by that i mean KINDA USED THEM, so yeah i know it's not really necessary, i just like to know i have the chance to unlock it, i think the 720 it's a good processor with only 3 cores also :) Its a comparative between the 720 with 3 and 4 cores?? That would be so coool!! :)

    Thank you guys for the great feedback i love it in here ;A
     
  9. Charper2013

    Charper2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,388 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Macon, Georgia
    Well. HE could do that but im sure now that we have informed him that 3.0ghz is not too high for that chip then im sure he wants higher. My 7750 is from 2.7Ghz to 3.2Ghz on stock volts with a small Multi jump. Take advantage of the black edition and use the unlocked multi to its advantage.
     
  10. Charper2013

    Charper2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,388 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Macon, Georgia
    Well you will really only notice a difference in apps that support it. But it wont harm you to have it unlocked 24/7.
     
  11. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,873 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,692
    720 and 940s run hotter than your 7750. He said he wants to keep his stock cooler, so he probably won't be going nuts on the overclock.

    I'm sure you could get your little 500 Mhz OC jump with out messing with your mulit as well. FSB is really the way to go if your only looking for 500 or less on your overclock. Bumping the multi doesn't speed up your RAM.
     
  12. Greenmousa

    Greenmousa

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Argentina, Latin America
    This will sound noobish i know :) but im not an overclocker elder and im full of questions XD! however im wondering, How's AMD Overdrive for doing this stuff? Or i should i stick with the bios??

    And by the way i really apreciate your arguing XD but i don't really know the difference between bumping my fsb or touching my multis :S!!! And once again how would you recommend me to do this :) Thanks and sorry for the lamezor questions XD!
     
  13. Charper2013

    Charper2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,388 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Macon, Georgia
    Ever heard of a FSB wall? How fast do you think his ram is gonna go?

    EDIT: Im not trying to argue but maybe you could teach me a thing or two :D
     
  14. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,873 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,692
    Not arguing at all, Charper offers some good points as well:)

    This guide will tell you everything you need to know and more:
    http://www.techreaction.net/forums/showthread.php?t=367

    I use Overdrive more for checking core temps and cpu usage. Some people find it to be fantastic and easy, it usually just crashes my computer when I try to apply changes. It does have a fairly decent stability test, which I also use from time to time.
     
  15. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    Use OCCT Linpack if it passes atleast an hour then go on to overclocking. Then run it for 4-8hours :toast:
     
  16. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,343 (7.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,829
    Well from a someone who unlocked a 720, overclocked it, burned up a mobo I would suggest against it. Mine was stable in OCCT, Prime you name it but the mobo couldn't take it after a while. That ACC is a bitch that cannot be trusted.

    Dude the 720 is just fine on 3 cores. Remember they locked that third core for a reason.
     
  17. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    what board did you have? What clocks and at what voltage?did you fold or crunch on it?
     
  18. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,343 (7.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,829
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  19. Greenmousa

    Greenmousa

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Argentina, Latin America
    Ok here it's the thing.

    I live in argentina a recent tech tax just came in, every computer part suffered a 35% raise, yeap you are not missreading, 35% fucking percent, so bassically i just bought the phenom 2 like 2 days before the tax applied, now, a phenom 2 x3 720 it's Us$280, That's right...cool to live here right?

    So you see here's the thing, i will not go by any means above the 3.2ghz limit, as i stated at first im running stock cooler and stock volts so i wont try anything crazy cause it's simple if i mess up the cpu chances of getting another one are really and i mean really slim.

    Well, now that you guys know this, these are the specs that are going with the processor.

    Motherboard: GA-MA785GPMT-UD2H
    RAM: 4gb OCZ gold @ 1600
    VIDEO: ati 4850
    PSU: Ocz Stealth X Stream 600w

    I read some great things about that mother and remember budget is the key here, and more important, i allready bought it so, no complaining now XD I know that it can unlock phenoms and that it's a good value board with decent gaming capabilities :)

    As usual waiting for the great feedback :)
     
  20. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,343 (7.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,829
    Simple do not unlock it. Do not overclock it on a stock cooler and you'll have a good PC for years to come.
     
  21. Greenmousa

    Greenmousa

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Argentina, Latin America
    not even 200mhz on 3 cores??
     
  22. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,343 (7.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,829
    You can but why bother? 200mhz will bring you no real benefit in gaming.
     
  23. Greenmousa

    Greenmousa

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Argentina, Latin America
    You see now that's some usefull feedback XD keep it real

    Ive been benching my Phenom 9600BE all week, when i get my Phenom 2 tomorrow im so going to bench all over and compare.

    If i can see a big improvement i will be so happy that 200 or 500 mhz will make no difference to me :)

    Do you guys think ill feel the change??
     
  24. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,343 (7.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,829
    Listen if this is going to be a gaming rig you have to understand a few things.

    1. Most games are not multi-threaded. That means most games will never take advantage of more than two cores. There are some exceptions to the rule but for most a good tri-core is more than enough to push the most demanding games out there coupled with a good GPU.

    2. When you OC a processor you have to watch a few things.
    A) Heat
    B) Volts
    Both of these kill a CPU lifespan but if managed correctly can reap benefits in other areas like folding or crunching. Gaming however you will see no real benefit until the 720 becomes a minimum to medium spec requirement for games. Basically your wasting your time overclocking a 720 for gaming.

    3. GPU, GPU, GPU. I cannot stress this enough. The better the GPU the better your gaming experience will be. No GPU on the market today will be bottlenecked by a 720. Until that happens keep upgrading the GPU. When the 720 bottlenecks THEN you OC the bastard.

    Oh yeah. So much you'll realize there is no need to OC.
     
  25. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    in everyday task no.In gaming maybe alittle. in benches yes
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page