1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Wow it's been awhile.

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Lazzer408, Dec 13, 2007.

  1. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,534 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    How's Ketx doing? still around? I did that "write-up" a year (or more) ago with all the motherboards and heatsinks for the 775 boards. Scthe Infinity, Big-typhoon, etc.

    Anyways... I had a question for some of you that may have some of the HD series ATI cards. Is the HD3870 worth a shit? Is it worth selling my 1950s for a single HD3870? I would plan to buy another HD3870 later and run crossfire with 2 of them. I'm after DX-10 as soon as the XP port is finished.

    I currently have 2 x1950pro in crossfire an an intel 975xbx2 mobo and 390fsb on a e6600.

    Hows the progress on the x1950pro bios's comming along anyways? I've seen some fan mods and whatnot. Any mods for pipelines or was that a gpu change for the 1950xt/xtx? I've been out of the circle for to long. :toast:
  2. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,200 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Long time no chat.

    Just wanted to say yo.
  3. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Bottom line...YES. You might want to upgrade your mobo though to a 790i or x38.

    :toast:
  4. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,681 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,608
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Sup man! Long time no see!

    Ket's still around, as fiesty as ever!

    The HD3870's are pretty decent from what I've seen, good bang for the buck, they OC pretty well and have very good performance for a die shrinked hd2900.

    I would think one of those would be faster than your 1950's in xfire, but am not sure. As far as bioses, I think Ket's been mostly doing bioses for 512 cards...I am storing my 256mb 1950pro as a "just in case" card now...it's been good, and I haven't decided if I wanna sell it or not.

    No mods for pipelines, and it's a different GPU completely from the xt/xtx, so no dice there either. I have an xtx now, good for what I need, and will get me by till I can get some cash for an 8800gt/3870...whichever is better priced and available when I have the cash that is...

    Welcome back! :toast:
  5. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,518 (7.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,042
    Random Murderer would be the guy to talk to as he has done exactly what you are asking. He seems happy with his purchase, and judging by the 3D06 score he sent me for both setups, the 3870 outscores his old 1950's. Plus he gets SM4 and DX10 as well!
  6. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,534 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    Hey thanks man. I was just kicking around google looking at card reviews and mods and 'forgot' about tpu! (slaps own forehead) I've had alot going on in life distracting me lately. Like Kids ...and a Turbo Miata! booyah! Mustang eating rice burner! As far as the PC goes? It's fun but I'm 34 and getting to old for this. lol I'll probably just keep the XBX2. It's been running an e6600 at 3500 24/7 for, well, since I built it. I'd have to check the forum archives to find out when I actually put it together. hahaha I figure I could sell the crossfire setup for $200 easy and throw in $30 and I'd have a 3870. Then maybe later look into another and team up. I do forget how much fun this is. =)

    For those who didn't catch this HD3870 for $229.00 (after rebate) Here it is.
    http://shop2.outpost.com/product/54...MTEBSjYPA**.node3?site=sr:SEARCH:MAIN_RSLT_PG
  7. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,534 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    What was his score? please tell. :D
  8. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,534 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    I seen you in there SK. Hows things? I forget, your south of me a ways arnt you? I guess everybody is I'm at the WI border. heh
  9. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,518 (7.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,042
    I belive in 06 he score high 9000's with the 1950PRO's and with the install of his HD3870 he ran low to mid 11,000's not to specific on results I know, but I dont have the PM's any longer.

    Personally I run low 11K as well with my rig in specs. He is on a Quad tho!
  10. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    It's worth it to change to the 3870 for sure.
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    Welcome back! Yeah, find the cheapest 3870 or 3850 512mb you can! The rest of your system is still good to go.:D
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    I'm 80 miles north of the border! Snow everywhere.
  13. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,680 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    I have a hd2900 and Im getting around 8500 in 06 (but my cpu is a bottleneck). At least in games the 3870s/3850s are neck and neck with the hd2900 tell the ultra high resolutions then the 3's pull ahead a bit.
  14. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    Bah, flash that to XT flavor and up your CPu to 3.4GHZ. I get 12k with my setup.
  15. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,534 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    Oh don't tell me the new cards have pro/xl/xt/xtx and all that nonsense again... :rolleyes:

    Anyone want to buy a matched set of 1950 pros? :D
  16. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,680 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    My motherboard can not push my E6300 any higher, its a matx system. Can I flash it to XT? Its the one gig GDDR4 version, Although it is clock (I think) quite high at. 770 core/2030 ram Riva Tuner yells at me for setting the ram that high but I dont get artifacts so... (Core temp is 70c @ load)


    Nope, they dont (yet) :D

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page